This home was built for Annie W. and Francis Deaton, a civil engineer who surveyed and laid out the lots and streets in the East Sanford neighborhood in December 1899.
Originally called Arlington Heights, the neighborhood consisted of grand houses for area mill owners and successful merchants along Third Street, with more modest, finely crafted housing located around the edges. The Deaton House was among the first, and finest, built in this new neighborhood and was constructed by local builder Robert T. Walker in the Queen Anne Classic style.
A rambling one-story porch dominates the facade. The interior features a beautiful stairway, three period mantels, and plaster and tongue-and-groove ceilings and walls.
The house requires all new systems and structural repairs to the interior and exterior. The home is in the proposed East Sanford Historic District and may be eligible for historic preservation tax credits.
Situated along the railroad, the proposed district is located near downtown with its vibrant business district and lively arts scene.