NC Preservation Awards

The 2023 NC Preservation Awards Presentation and Reception will be held in Durham on October 4.
Click here for Sponsorship Opportunities

The awards recognize outstanding people, projects, businesses, and organizations in the field of historic preservation. The strength of our awards program comes from the work of people who take the time to nominate deserving individuals, organizations, and projects that have made a difference in historic preservation.

The deadline to submit a 2023 nomination has closed.

The categories for the awards are:

Gertrude S. Carraway Awards of Merit

The Gertrude S. Carraway Awards of Merit are named in honor of the late Dr. Gertrude S. Carraway, a noted New Bern historian and preservationist. Presented since 1974, a maximum of twelve awards are given each year. The Awards of Merit give deserved recognition to individuals or organizations that have demonstrated a genuine commitment to historic preservation through extraordinary leadership, research, philanthropy, promotion, and/or significant participation in preservation.

DeWayne H. Anderson Sr. Award for Housing

(NEW award category for 2023!)

The DeWayne H. Anderson Sr. Award for Housing is the highest honor given by Preservation North Carolina for the creation or preservation of housing in historic buildings. This award recognizes the innovative use of historic buildings to create new or updated housing. Creative affordable or downtown housing solutions through historic preservation are of special interest. First presented in 2023, the award is made possible by the family of the late DeWayne H. Anderson, Sr., of Winston-Salem, whose career and leadership resulted in thousands of units of new housing in historic schools, mills and hospitals across the South. His adaptive use of Piedmont Leaf Lofts into housing was instrumental in the remarkable revitalization of downtown Winston-Salem.

Minnette C. Duffy Landscape Preservation Award

The Minnette C. Duffy Landscape Preservation Award is the highest honor given for the preservation, restoration or maintenance of landscapes, gardens, streetscapes, or grounds related to historic structures. This award recognizes the importance of the landscape in the preservation of historic structures. First presented in 1987, the award is made possible by the family of the late Minnette Chapman Duffy of New Bern, whose leadership contributed to the reconstruction of Tryon Palace. Landscape architects, preservation organizations, garden clubs, local governments, property owners or volunteers who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, research or work in landscape preservation are eligible. The recipient receives a $500 stipend.

L. Vincent Lowe Jr. Business Award

The L. Vincent Lowe Jr. Business Award is the highest honor presented to a business that assists or promotes historic preservation in North Carolina. Established in 1983 as the North Carolina Business Award, the name was changed in memory of Vince Lowe of Wilson, a longtime supporter of historic causes in North Carolina, who was serving as chairman of Preservation NC’s 50th Anniversary Campaign at the time of his unexpected death in 1989. The Lowe Business Award acknowledges the involvement of the business community in preservation and recognizes businesses that have shown vision, leadership and creativity in promoting the protection of the state’s architectural resources.

Stedman Incentive Grant

The Stedman Incentive Grant is awarded to recognize and assist non-profit organizations in their efforts to preserve the state’s architectural heritage. Originating in 1976, the $15,000 award is funded each year by the Marion Stedman Covington Foundation of Greensboro in memory of Mrs. Covington’s father. The grant encourages and facilitates the rescue of endangered historic and architecturally significant properties in North Carolina. Only one Stedman Grant is awarded annually.

Robert E. Stipe Professional Award

The Robert E Stipe Professional Award is the highest honor presented to working professionals who demonstrate an outstanding commitment to preservation as part of their job responsibilities. The award was established in 1983 to memorialize the many contributions of Robert E. Stipe of Chapel Hill, an educator in the field of historic preservation and a mentor to a generation of preservation professionals. The award recognizes career men and women who show exceptional leadership and/or dedication to the cause of preservation. Individuals working in the field of historic preservation are eligible, including staff of non-profit preservation organizations, architects, landscape architects, planners, teachers, contractors, craftspeople, consultants, and North Carolina State Historic Preservation Office staff. The recipient receives a $500 stipend.

Ruth Coltrane Cannon Award

The Ruth Coltrane Cannon Award, North Carolina’s most prestigious preservation award, is presented to an individual or organization that has made contributions of statewide significance to historic preservation in North Carolina. Originating in 1948, the award is named for Ruth Coltrane Cannon of Concord — president of the North Carolina Society for the Preservation of Antiquities, 1945-1956 — in recognition of her outstanding contributions to preservation. The recipient receives an engraved pewter cup. The winner’s name is also added to a master Cannon Cup, which now includes a long list of North Carolina notables. Only one Cannon Award is presented each year.


2022 Preservation North Carolina Honor Award Winners

The Ruth Coltrane Cannon Award 

Eugene Brown, Durham 

The Robert E. Stipe Professional Award 

Michelle McCullough, Winston-Salem 

The Stedman Incentive Grant 

Historic Baltimore School, Cramerton 

The L. Vincent Lowe, Jr., Business Award 

GBX Group LLC, Cleveland, OH 

The Minnette C. Duffy Landscape Preservation Award 

Friends of Odd Fellows Cemetery, Winston-Salem 


The Gertrude S. Carraway Awards of Merit 

Blue Bell (Lenoir Cotton) Mill, Lenoir 

Brandon Bunn and Doug Halterman for the Norfleet House, Tarboro 

Capitola Mills, Marshall 

End of Days Distillery, Wilmington 

Jacob and Nancy Keeler for the Jones House, Milton 

Larry Atkins, Charlotte 

Mt. Hope Cemetery, Raleigh 

Natalie Pass-Miller for the Historic Magnolia House, Greensboro 

Reynolda House Roof & Gardens Restoration, Winston-Salem 

Seven Sounds Brewing Company for the Hurdle Building, Elizabeth City 

Sunnicrest House, Asheville 

Union Station, Winston-Salem 

Click here to watch the 2022 NC Preservation Awards Presentations!

Click here for a complete list of past Preservation North Carolina Honor Award Winners.