Cullen and Elizabeth Jones House
This Edenton beauty, known as the Cullen and Elizabeth Jones House, ca 1810, is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and is Chowan County’s only known antebellum log house still standing. It served as Rocky Hock’s Post Office from 1894 through 1906, and transformation into the coastal cottage it is today happened around 1900. Major updates in 2003-2004 include new architectural roof, HVAC (gas pack/natural gas), kitchen, and baths. 1st floor Owner Suite. Two beautiful covered porches welcome you and guests. Described in the book Between the River and the Sound** written by Thomas R Butchko and Bradley A Barker. Located just minutes from Historic Edenton, “The South’s Prettiest Little Town”, established in 1712, featuring nearly three centuries of outstanding architecture along scenic Edenton Bay and the Albemarle Sound. Boasting numerous listings on the National Register of Historic Places. Discover more about Edenton at www.visitedenton.com. Come join us! Learn more about the house at www.cindysmall.com.
Every so often the opportunity comes along to purchase of historic gem. The Liberty Point building in Downtown Fayetteville is a 4,500+ SF brick structure built circa 1791 and was the location of the signing of the Liberty Point Resolves, a predecessor to the Declaration of Independence. The building has been restored to its former glory and is currently used as office space. Its downtown location and proximity to the courthouse make it ideal for many professional uses particularly law firms. The first floor has entrances on both Person St and Bow St. Each floor has numerous private offices, conference rooms, and restrooms. There is also a finished (unheated) attic above. The property and Liberty Row were added to the National Register of Historic Places in August 1973 (Reference #73001331).
The Liberty Point building is located in historic Downtown Fayetteville where Person St and Bow St meet. It is adjacent to the Cumberland County Courthouse and surrounded by many restaurants and retail. There is on-street parking on both sides of the building as well as pay per house surface lots nearby.
More information at www.GrantMurrayRE.com
Raleigh Estate Properties
Choice. That’s really the best word to describe this Raleigh Estate property. Pine Hall is a choice. It is incomparable. To say that it is unique is obvious – to describe it as one of a kind is to de-emphasize the special opportunity that is this property. Pine Hall is not the sort of property one sets out to search for, nor is it the home one might envision when considering a move to the Raleigh area. Pine Hall is a lifestyle choice that upon discovery, could establish a generational opportunity. It’s that great of a choice.
As the arguable Capital of the New South, Raleigh receives consistent accolades for it’s awesome lifestyle opportunities. It is routinely ranked in national business magazines as one of the best places to start a tech company, one of the best areas to relocate a company headquarters, and one of the best cities to consider a relocation. Raleigh and the greater Triangle Area is chock full of exciting technological, medical, and educational advancements, and it continues to produce top talent for ventures with worldwide connections. There are also numerous recreational amenities scattered throughout the area as well – things like over 100 miles of City-maintained greenway trails, the Neuse River system and it’s parks, professional hockey and soccer teams, and an abundance of colleges and universities (NCSU, Meredith, Shaw, Peace, Campbell, etc), and that’s just in Raleigh!
Great, but a fantastic lifestyle is more than a good job and things to do – What about Raleigh would make me want to live there?
The residential options in Raleigh are widely varied, and include everything from newer planned subdivisions with standard floorplans and walkable amenities, to rural ranch homes and historic tobacco plantations, to the more urban grid neighborhoods of Raleigh and the surrounding bedroom communities. There are great size options in each of these categories as well, with even many estate properties right downtown. Raleigh is blessed with a rich history of iconic architecture and high quality home builders – there are over 200 Raleigh properties listed on the National Register of Historic Places. To overly simplify, you’ve got lots of options.
Every now and then, an opportunity arises that is unexpected and outside the scope of your current search. For only the 5th time since it was built in 1838, Pine Hall has come to the open market…
5300 Castlebrook Drive
Click this link to see all of the photos and videos of the property:
Although this was undoubtedly the original home in the area, the surrounding acreage was subdivided into numerous horse properties some time in the 1960’s by the Weaver family. The Foxcroft neighborhood is now a very desirable estate community that complements the historical nature of Pine Hall. Castlebrook Drive is a gorgeous canopied drive off of Buffaloe Road, just inside of the Interstate 540 loop, and about ½ mile to the west of the Neuse River. Foxcroft consists of a mix of large estates and horse properties. There is direct access to the Neuse River and the Mountains to the Sea Trail that crosses the river to the south of the community.
Too many times, the valuable context of an historic property falls victim to encroachment and neglect. For the past 150 years or so, Pine Hall has been carefully curated and maintained, and even upgraded, all within its original context. While the area has gentrified from its original farming roots, and the suburbs have crept out from the city center, this property retains everything grand and stately of its plantation days. Misty mornings on the back porch, tending the garden plot, the crunch of gravel as guests arrive, the patina of the wide plank wood floors, can you feel it? And all within a few minutes of downtown Raleigh…
The feel of this home is evident as soon as you pull through the gated circular drive – the home rests under the protection and shade of huge white oak trees at the edge of an expansive lawn. Though the grandeur of the property is palpable, the home itself is stately and simple. There is no need for excessive landscaping or extravagant detailing – the home is welcoming and impressive on the merits of its own patina. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2006, and proclaimed a Raleigh Historic Landmark in 2010.
As notable as it is, Pine Hall is simply a fantastic place to live. The double doors open from the entry porch to a wide foyer. The historical detailing is evident immediately and your guests will pause to absorb the impact of the space. There is a gorgeous mural of the original property flanking a set of leaded glass doors depicting a pair of the past beloved family members. Through these french doors, and located at the rear of the home are a wide open sunroom, that leads to a wrap-around porch. The sunroom is also connected to the open kitchen and breakfast room. The kitchen is completely modern and there is more than enough counter and cabinet space. There is a screened porch directly off of the kitchen that leads to the garden and backyard.
Still in the original main part of the home, there is a grand staircase in the entry foyer that leads upstairs to two very large bedrooms and a full bath – it is amazing how large these bedrooms are for a home this age. Each of these bedrooms have fantastic views to the front and rear of the property, and the closet space is more than adequate. Downstairs from the foyer, there is a fully finished basement. This basement has a family room with fireplace, as well as a large game room. There is also an amazing unfinished workshop space and bathroom. Directly off of the lower family room is a real treat – a complete underground model city and miles of scale train track, completely powered and animated.
Back on the main living level, the massive living room to the left of the foyer is both comfortable and formal at the same time. The exquisite moldings and fireplace will provide the backdrop for entertaining and family celebrations, no matter the season. At the end of the east wing is a complete guest suite. This full apartment includes a large bedroom and full bath, as well as a private living area. There is also a full kitchen in the private walk-out basement, as well as a separate deck.
The west wing (to the right of the foyer) leads through the formal dining room, which has a large fireplace and a gorgeous period chandelier. The wood-panelled study is just beyond, and includes another fireplace and built-in bookshelves, as well as a beautiful ceiling inlay detail. The master suite is then located at the end of this wing, and is another huge space to pamper the new owners. The master bath is a unique two-level space, and combines the best of old world touches and modern design. There is an additional basement off of the master suite that serves as a large mudroom and laundry facility.
The grounds on this estate are equally impressive. From the brick monuments, cast iron gates and lanterns at the driveway, the cast iron fence that runs along the west side of the estate, to the mature landscaping that surrounds the lawns, the lush pedigree of this estate is evident. Aside from the grand entry and expansive front lawn, there is a very private terraced rear lawn. There is a raised circular deck with a brick firepit to enjoy the cool fall evenings, looking out over the mature Crapemyrtles along the split rail fence. There is a gorgeous brick path, lined with roses that leads to the large fenced garden. There are currently four raised garden plots, perfect for vegetables or an imaginative English Garden. Near the garden, there is a large garage building, certainly adequate for a potting shed or workshop to service the property. There is also a fenced pasture that runs along the eastern side of the property that is almost two acres – this is a horse property after all.
As you might expect, every corner of this home has a story – it is inadequate to describe it with mere words and pictures. The lifestyle that this home allows is the real gem – the home is really best experienced in person. Give us a call for a private showing!
The following is a list of all of the most recent improvements to this home (since 1994)
Pine Hall was built 1838, and later added to in 1940, in the highest quality building of each period. For example, wood floors are a full 1” thick, and most walls are lath and plaster. All previous and current owners have added/done work to similarly high standards. Under current owners all walls except kitchen, powder room and master bath (wallpapered) have been repainted with latex paint.
Planted screening holly, magnolias, Bartlett pears and crepe myrtles long the length of the southern property in first 5 years. These plantings are mature now.
Moved iron fence to western side of property line. Stripped and re-painted it.
Gravelled driveway (it was dirt)
Exterior of House
Repaired copper gutters
Installed top of the line gutter guard around the perimeter of the house
Exterior has been fully repainted twice
35-year roof was installed in 1995
Interior – General
All chimneys were cleaned, inspected and custom fireplace doors installed
Stripped sunroom floor to wood and sealed
Guest Apartment (East Wing)
Installed HVAC unit in 2009
New appliances & oak flooring – 2009
Re-porcelained tub – 2009
Removed in-wall AC units
Removed baseboard hot water heating (it was installed in portions of the house)
Converted whole house to forced air – installed 4 HVAC systems. Dates can be found; latest two within last 2 years.
Upgraded all 3 electrical panels to bring them up to code.
Installed overhead lighting throughout house, also wall sconces in living room and overhead fans
Replaced well pump 2014
Replaced all 3 water heaters
New refrigerator – 2008
New floor – 2008
New stove – 2013
Upgraded bathroom – all new sinks, tub, toilet, shower, lighting
Custom milled woodwork
Connected gas line to fireplace
Installed sump pump in section with trains – 2014
The Ballard-Potter Bellamy House Circa 1844 is your chance to own a piece of Historic Wilmington! Completely remodeled in 2007; this home features 12 ft ceilings, elaborate molding, granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances & original hardwood floors. It has 8 decorative fireplaces, 2 with gas logs. The master suite is extravagant with a huge master bath including a beautifully tiled shower, jacuzzi tub, double vanity sinks and large walk in closet. With large rooms & windows, this home has lots of natural light & room to move as well as plenty of wall space for hanging art. A great setting on large lot with beautiful gardens & gorgeous metal fountain. The exterior features decorative brick fencing, wrought iron gates & gated off street parking. There is an upstairs balcony as well as a magnificent true Southern front porch perfect for watching the sunset and 4th of July fireworks! Downtown restaurants, shops & riverfront are a just short stroll from your doorstep!
The Conrad Long homestead is part of Alamance County’s earliest history, with the original part of the home built in 1760 and the rest of the home added in 1870. Located on almost 5 peaceful acres with beautiful old trees, one can relax on the covered porches or enjoy lots of room to run and play. Easy access to Chapel Hill, Carrboro, Durham, Greensboro and Saxapahaw. Located within 2 miles of I-40.
Minutes from Downtown Raleigh, but located in the charming bedroom community of Wendell. This home has been lovingly restored and is in mint condition. It features the ambiance of a character home with modern luxuries such as an updated kitchen and master bathroom; extraordinary sunroom features a ceramic Swedish stove. The sunroom opens to a large wrap-around deck with pergola; an oversized carport holds 2 cars, potting shed, two out buildings, mini orchard with fruit trees and the prettiest garden! 3 bedrooms and 2 baths. Perfection!
More information at www.MakingAHomeInRaleigh.com
20 Minutes from Downtown Raleigh! Utterly Charming! Built in 1909 with modern addition. Gorgeously landscaped .45 acre lot, 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, 2 – Car Garage, Wrap-around Deck in Back. Rocking-Chair Front Porch, No HOA, One level living. Very well loved and maintained!
More information at www.MakingAHomeInRaleigh.com
Move in and finish the grand interior of this home, updating at your own pace as you get to know this lovely Victorian! Located in a small, welcoming community in eastern North Carolina. Whether fishing or paddling on the Tar River, playing nine holes of golf or enjoying a great meal downtown, Tarboro offers a lot for a small town!
Tarboro is the county seat of Edgecombe County and home of Edgecombe Community College. The town was founded in 1760, is the ninth oldest city in NC and is located in a bend of the Tar River. Tarboro’s unique culture is a fusion of past heritage and modern lifestyle, with a renowned Historic District, access to world-class health care, a thriving arts and cultural scene, distinctive local gourmet and casual dining, plentiful recreational opportunities, and shopping for all budgets from collectibles to fine antiques. With convenient access to nearby metro areas like Raleigh and Greenville, a low cost of living, affordable housing, and a diverse local community that welcomes new ideas and enthusiasm, Tarboro makes a bold but subtle statement that characterizes its relaxed outlook on life. A satisfying choice for relocation and home to one of the region’s foremost retirement communities, Tarboro is a center of family-friendly activities and active adult living. (From the town’s official website, learn more here: http://www.tarboro-nc.com/)
This grand, two-story Italianate mansion house has magnificent detailing from top to bottom, starting with the prominent multi-patterned, polychrome original slate roof featuring designs/patterns in varying colors of slate to the fine details of the four porches. Built by William M. Pippen and believed to have been designed by G.S.H. Appleget, one of North Carolina’s leading architects after the Civil War, it is the finest example of the style in Tarboro and the region. The exterior was carefully and thoroughly restored in 2014, including: repaired slate roof, replaced standing seam roof, replaced built-in gutters and downspouts, repaired or replaced soffit, modillions, arched windows, and all trimwork on house and porches, repaired and reglazed all windows, removed all lead-based paint, documented original paint colors and stripped, sanded, primed and painted the exterior.
Inside, and ready to be rehabbed, the house features a gracefully curving staircase, plaster cornices and plaster ceiling medallion, three bay windows, several original early chandeliers, carved marble mantels, extensive storage closets and cupboards, hardwood floors, three vintage full baths, and half-bath with fabulous period sink.
Constructed in 1930, this former hotel building offers three floors of space in the heart of Manteo on North Carolina’s beautiful Outer Banks. The Hotel Fort Raleigh could once again become a busy hotel, with possibilities for a spa on the first floor and rooms above, or a special events venue with condos or hotel rooms on the upper floors.
Manteo is a quaint fishing village on Roanoke Island in the famed Outer Banks of NC. The town wraps around Shallowbag Bay on the eastern side of the island, and visitors are welcome in this walkable town with unique shopping and laid-back restaurants serving fresh, local seafood along downtown’s busy but beautiful waterfront. Roanoke Island is the origin of the English colonization of America, and features many attractions that explore one of the world’s greatest mysteries. Probably the most famous of these is the nation’s oldest outdoor symphonic drama, The Lost Colony. Other local attractions include the Roanoke Island Festival Park, the Island Farm and the Elizabethan Gardens.
Architectural and Historical Information
The Hotel Fort Raleigh is a plain, three-story, eight-bay brick building (strecher bond) with low hip roof and 1/1 windows. It originally featured a one-story projecting Mission Revival entrance with a distinctive parapet that was expanded on both sides with one-story additions. Excepting the the original center façade and parapet the brick has been covered with a thin stucco application. It was conceived by Carson Creef and Claude Duvall and constructed by contractors Harry Lawrence and Robert E. L. Scarborough for $50,000 with money from mainland Dare County’s moonshine industry. At the time of its construction, it was a modern marvel and landmark to East Lake Prohibition rye whiskey. Shortly after the hotel opened Creef was arrested for bootlegging and the building was purchased in 1941 by Malcome K. Fearing who ran it for many years. The building most recently served as the Dare County Administrative Building, as Manteo is the county seat.
This beautiful Queen Anne-style home is located just three blocks from City Hall and within walking distance of numerous downtown restaurants, retails shops, and entertainment venues along Center Street. Center Street is benefiting from a significant transformation from a multi-million dollar investment the city is making in its downtown area.
Many original details remain including much of the original trim, mantels, an attractive stained-glass window and five-panel doors. Original wood floors are under the carpet. The house was added on to over the years; an addition comprises most of the rear portion of the house.
Built between 1880 and 1910 for Asher and Flora Edwards, the home has since been divided into three rental units. One of the three units is currently occupied, but converting the property back to a single-family home upon expiration of the tenant’s lease term would be preferred. The gas heating system needs to be replaced and central AC needs to be installed. The plumbing and electrical systems may require updating but appear to be in working order. At a minimum, significant cosmetic and carpentry work are required on both the exterior and interior of the house.
The lively town of Goldsboro (pop. 39,000), the seat of Wayne County, is the home of the active Seymour Johnson Air Force Base. Conveniently located on US 70, Goldsboro is within 30 minutes of the I-40 and I-95 corridors, one hour from Raleigh, and within easy access of North Carolina beaches. The Union Station renovation is underway with plans for the station to become a multi-modal transportation hub. The station plans are scheduled to include light rail service from Goldsboro to Raleigh.
Close to Kinston and only 30 miles to Greenville, this beautiful, historic home is ideally located in a small, friendly town, rooted in agriculture and rich in history with many fine homes in the NR district. The large, level yard offers numerous possibilities for gardening, a playhouse and backyard sports, or workshop space. Although the house will require a complete rehabilitation, it exudes style and the craftsmanship is apparent in its inlaid wood floors, carved walnut stairs, stained glass windows and more!
La Grange is a small eastern North Carolina town with rural surroundings and beautiful historical homes nestled among modern influences. Today, it has a population of about 2,800 and is also known as the “Garden Spot” because of the beautiful vegetation in the area. Modern day La Grange is still a quaint and pretty town. Supported by Highway 70 and the railroad and with a charming personality and historic roots, La Grange is experiencing residential growth and is poised for prosperity. It is less than 15 miles to Kinston and Goldsboro, 36 miles to Greenville and a little over an hour to Raleigh and Morehead City.
Heavily ornamented outside and inside, the large two-story Hadley-Mayes House has a gable-and-wing form. It reflects the Italianate-style with its narrow, paired windows, double-doors and decorative brackets while also exhibiting textbook Queen Anne features including irregular massing, two-story bay window, wraparound porch with turned posts, stained glass windows and wonderful German siding. From its wide entrance hall with massive stairs and colonnade to its seven fireplaces, it bespeaks elegance. The palatial rooms with high ceilings and large, multiple windows of yesterday will appeal to today’s design sensibilities for light and space in this special home. It could be large family home, home/office combination or possibly a B&B. The rehabilitation of this home was started but must be finished–to include all new systems, updated kitchen and bathrooms.
It is surrounded by well-kept buildings (the LaGrange Arts Center is two doors down) in a small town with lovely historic residential, commercial and religious buildings. The Hadley-Mayes House is a contributing structure in the LaGrange National Register District and is distinguished by its deep, slightly elevated lot.
This historic twin-door cottage was built in 1900 and was completely updated in 2009-2011. The kitchen has a soaring cathedral ceiling, custom cabinetry with lots of storage, custom fixtures, built-ins, and stainless appliances. Beautiful marble counter tops in the kitchen, baths, and dining room. Period wainscoting, moldings, wide-plank, and bead-board walls. Original heart-pine flooring. Living room has closet and could be used as a second bedroom. Metal roof. Private porch overlooks wooded backyard. Storage galore in sealed crawl space.
For more details visit: http://search.markthomasproperties.com/1-2004780/2464-Glencoe-Street-Burlington
All historic homes in the Glencoe Mill Village are under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at email@example.com or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
Completely renovated in 2013-14, the Milton State Bank is a Greek Revival/Italianate building, c.a. 1860. It served a dual purpose as a bank and private residence during the Civil War. Exquisite moldings believed to have been done by Thomas Day. Potential for commercial use, private residence, or combination of both. Building has the original banking rooms and vault, a street-side entrance, and an elaborate porch at the residential-side entrance. New metal roof, new HVAC, and upgraded electrical and plumbing. Guest house, barn, and outbuildings.
For more details and photos visit: http://www.searchallproperties.com/listings/2024573/169-Broad-Street-Milton-NC/auto?_=1423175104
BREATHTAKING PLANTATION HOME IN OXFORD! Built in circa 1800, the Oak Lawn Plantation is one of Granville County’s few former plantations that offers the largest and earliest surviving collection of structures in the county. This stunning plantation setting located near the Oxford Park development and just minutes from the town of Oxford offers the peace and tranquility you are looking for and resides on the National Register of Historic Places.
The grounds are magnificent as towering oaks and hardwoods line the drive coming in. The most widely used adjective to describe the Oak Lawn Plantation by most visitors remains to be BREATHTAKING! Situated on over 14 acres, the grounds are well maintained and would be an ideal wedding facility site. Outdoor gardens frame the back of the home and there are multiple outbuildings including the old smokehouse, barn, pack-house, former dwelling, former kitchen and so much more!
The interiors resound with many of the original Federal and Georgian style features and the beautiful hardwoods, 12 foot ceilings, 8 fireplaces and so much more make this a classic you’ve got to see! Some of the furniture can be purchased as well!
There is a nice sized screened in porch on the back of the house and wildlife abounds on the land. The 9 stall horse barn could be restored to create the ideal horse farm and plantation setting!
To see more photos, video and maps please visit the Legacy Farms and Ranches of North Carolina website at http://www.legacyfarmsandranchesnc.com .
The original 1811 home owned by free black, Lewis Freeman, still exists inside the Queen Anne style home on the old road to Salisbury in Pittsboro. The PNC easement protects the house and land with the 1980 addition resulted in contemporary plumbing, wiring, a modern kitchen and an open living space. Lovely gardens, year-round creek and huge trees grace this 1 acre lot just a block from the courthouse circle. The front porch welcomes you to enter the central foyer or a separate entry into a lovely room with tall windows, oak floor, bead board ceiling; a room that would make a fine home office. Residential use currently.
For more information, visit www.WeaverStreetRealty.com/salisbury
Charming Historic Home in the heart of Old Salem. Lovingly maintained and updated by current owner with 10 foot ceilings on main level, large formal living room (false fireplace), den/parlor with working fireplace, dining room, new custom made walnut kitchen with Wolf Range, Miele Dishwasher, steam oven & working fireplace-Gorgeous! Sunny breakfast room opens to enchanting walled courtyard garden. Upstairs are three bedrooms, large master suite with double walk-in closets. Carriage House. Under OSI Deed & Covenant!
Relax and enjoy the serenity of the western North Carolina mountains from the porch swing of this fully restored historic log house. Located only 15 minutes from Western Carolina University this warm and inviting well maintained log house is a perfect vacation getaway location or rental cabin for university events or an outdoorsman’s base of operations. Nearby mountain streams, rivers and lakes provide excellent opportunities for trout fishing, swimming and whitewater canoeing. The Great Smoky National Park and Cherokee are only 45 minutes away.
Features include a spacious great room with full height cathedral ceilings and skylights, peeled sapling loft supports, twisted dogwood trunks serving as banisters for the steps leading to the cozy bedroom loft. The fireplace is fully functioning with a wood burning buck stove insert. The modern open plan kitchen exhibits warm, exposed pine cabinetry. The bathroom features a novel “sunken” claw foot tub. There is a small attached workshop that could be used for additional living space or possibly a small additional bedroom.
Other features of the property include a well-constructed detached wooden shed that has been used as a guest cottage , and an open boat shed.
Tom’s cabin was built prior to 1840 near Newport, Tennessee on the old Buncombe turnpike that opened in 1827 to provide access for farmers of Tennessee and western NC to the market towns of Columbia, Greenville and Augusta. When built it was typical of the well crafted log homes which the early setters of the area constructed for their first homes and reminiscent of building techniques brought to the area by the Scotch-Irish settlers who had traveled the Shenandoah valley route to the south, bringing with them building techniques inherited from the Germans and the Swedes. Over 176 years old , this log house with half dovetailed notches and almost unheard of by today’s standards 22’” wide, 5” deep poplar logs. It was moved to its current location in the mid 1970’s where it was faithfully and meticulously restored and updated specifically to be low maintenance.
Close by are the towns of Cullowhee, home of Western Carolina University, Sylva (the county seat and a North Carolina Main Street community), Bryson City and the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad, Dillsboro and the popular historic Jarrett House Inn and restaurant.
Step back in time. Historic hand hewn log cabin built in 1917 and fully restored in 2014 is waiting for you. The Doc Sain Cabin comes furnished with original century-old antiques and has been upgraded with modern conveniences. Nestled next to a babbling brook on 16 of the most gorgeous acres in Polk County. The land has a network of trails, multiple creeks, and mountain views and adjoins NC Game Lands. Truly mountain living at its finest and simplest.
Exquisitely restored, the Carter Swain House in Weaverville has been lovingly renovated, melding the charm of this original character w/the amenities of today. Enjoy spacious rooms, exposed beam-work, reclaimed wood accents & more, tastefully blended w/ the granite kitchen, SS appliances & renovated bathrooms Nestled on a peaceful 8 acres w/large meadow/pasture, meandering stream, rustic barn, & ample garden space.
More information is available here: www.carolinamountainsales.com
The Thompson-Urquhart House is located in a special place, the tiny village of Woodville dating from the late 18th Century. The home is one of fourteen principal buildings in the Woodville Rural Historic District located in the Roanoke River Valley in sparsely populated Bertie County. It is part of a private family compound with seven intact historic buildings including a guest cottage surrounded by mature trees and lush landscaping.
The Thompson-Urquhart House is a vernacular Greek Revival plantation house believed to have been constructed about 1840 for Lewis Thompson. While the two-story, three-bay, hopped roof frame house appears to be of that period, a pair of projecting 1 ½ story wings on the rear of the house with Federal elements suggests that Thompson may have overbuilt an earlier house—a possibility because the family had owned the land for some time. The manor house with its mother-in-law suite includes: parlor, dining room, informal TV area, den, five bedrooms, three baths, two kitchens, laundry room, screened porch, and one-story wrap-around porch. The transitional Federal-Greek Revival interior features six mantels, raised paneled doors, wainscot, central stairway with turned newel post and balustrade, and pine flooring.
The guest cottage provides an additional 441 square feet and includes: one bedroom, galley kitchen with washer/dryer hook-up, bath, living/dining area with fireplace, and 32’ screened porch.
The property has been lovingly maintained through the years to include
- Installed new roof on house (1998); updated electrical service to house (2000);
- Updated kitchen/pantry in house and installed separate HVAC, kitchenette and separate entrance to mother-in-law/caretaker’s suite (2002);
- Rehabilitation of the afore-mentioned 1840 office into guest cottage (1993);
- Painted exterior of buildings (2005);
- Installed new HVAC unit 1st floor of house (2006);
- Installed new HVAC unit for the 2nd floor of house (2008).
The estate is located 20 miles from the county seat of Windsor, 37 miles from Greenville, home of ECU and Vidant Medical Center, 100 miles to the famed Outer Banks and 100 miles to Raleigh. The Thompson-Urquhart estate is the perfect family home or retreat with a variety of potential business uses such as B&B, hunting lodge, cottage industry and event venue.
The area is an sport/nature paradise with hunting, fishing, boating-kayaking on the Roanoke, Chowan and Cashie Rivers, birding at the Sylvan Waterfowl Center in near-by Scotland Neck and canoeing at near-by Merchant’s Mill Pond. Near-by historical sites include: Hope Plantation, Port o’Plymouth Museum, Somerset Plantation, Edenton Historical Site, Newbold-White House, Tarboro, Murfreesboro and Historic Halifax.
The DT Ward house was constructed circa 1901 on farmland in Tyner, NC. The Ward family lived in the house for approximately sixty years. They built a small brick house next to the farmhouse; costs of heating & maintaining the big house had become more than they could handle. The 2300 square foot farmhouse sat unoccupied for forty years. DT Ward’s daughter in law kept a watch on the place and was said to have chased away looters with a shotgun more than once. The original house was completely intact when Preservation North Carolina obtained the house in the late 1990’s. It was moved & restored by contractors Alex Klausmann & Delouis Wilson. The house retains its original framing, windows, doors, flooring, ceilings, stairs, and trim, but has new up to date mechanicals and electrical systems. The DT Ward house has been featured twice in This Old House magazine.
The two-story Victorian house was built in 1887 and is the only known surviving and intact building of the former 1880s Davis Military Academy, a military preparatory school.
A domed tower dominates over the front entrance. The wrap-around porch is trimmed in decorative gingerbread molding. The double front doors with etched glass lead into a center foyer and hall which features a ships stern style screen and a 15-step staircase is anchored by a one piece carved walnut Newell Post.
Windows with stained glass surrounds are common to all the first floor rooms. Twin front parlors exhibit one with 4 large 10’ windows with pegged sashes and the other a bay window.
Two interior brick chimneys accommodate seven fireplaces, two with marble mantles. The house is zoned for heating/cooling (gas pack; gas logs; wood stove). Other features include heart pine floors throughout, decorative woodwork and raised panel doors. 12’ ceilings are common to most of the 3800 sq. ft. house. There are two full baths on the first floor and one full bath on the 2nd floor. The updated kitchen includes stainless steel appliances with soapstone kitchen countertops. All renovations and updates have been sensitive to the original personality of the house.
This very solid house retains its original slate roof along with a new (2010) terne tin porch roof. The property includes a two-car garage and a Smoke House. The spacious backyard is fenced and there is a large vegetable garden area.
The A.C. Davis house is listed on the National Historical Register. LaGrange is located 75 miles to Raleigh and 75 miles to the coast.
A 1925 Lake View Park original! This stately Lake View Park home boasts scenic views of Beaver Lake from countless vantage points throughout the home. With period features and custom built-ins, this historic home has evolved and expanded over time to reflect the graceful blend of old and new.
With views of the Beaver Lake from breakfast area/butlers pantry, formal dining room, living room with fireplace, enclosed sun porch, and front bedrooms. The custom built kitchen features Black Walnut cabinets, 5 Star gas stove, and stainless steel appliances. Beautiful hardwood floor and molding throughout. Detached garage with separate upstairs studio space. Meticulously landscaped corner lot just steps to the lake.
READY FOR OCCUPANCY!
Renovation is complete for this two-story Italianate house designed by noted New Jersey architect G. S. H. Appleget. Built in 1885 it is located on a prime downtown corner lot surrounded by lush, historic landscaping. An older cabin already on the property and dating from the early 1800’s was used as the kitchen connected by a breezeway and is still part of the house today and is itself possibly the oldest structure in Mount Olive. During most of the 20th century, the house was owned by Mr. and Mrs. Robert Peele Holmes. Mr. Holmes founded the North Carolina Camellia Society and created new varieties still growing on the grounds today.
The house features fine details including a bracketed cornice with double drops, original 2-over-2 windows, paneled wainscot, 4 original mantels with metal surrounds, original molded handrails, balustrade with turned balusters, a turned newel post and decorative scroll work. The center hall floor plan features a living room with fireplace, dining room with fireplace, master bedroom with fireplace and private bath, laundry room, half bath, a large kitchen/den/breakfast room and a mud room on the first floor. The upstairs has a spacious hall and three large bedrooms, each with a fireplace. There are two full baths and two half baths, one each upstairs and downstairs. Most of the flooring in the two-story Italianate is original heart pine except for main hallway and master bedroom, which are 1920-era tongue-in-grove oak. The back part of the house is floored with 1880’s era recovered tongue-in-grove oak from the old Northeast FW Baptist church. Work includes:
– Exterior painting complete.
– All interior painting complete
– All floors sanded and refinished
– Completely new electrical wiring though out
– New upstairs and downstairs heating and a/c units and ducting
– 95% new plumbing (original fixtures retained where possible)
– Original: wood paneling and molding, staircase, newel post, balustrade with balusters, fireplaces, mantels, wood floors, doors, windows, etc. have been retained everywhere possible and refinished. Missing or broken elements replaced in kind
– Rotted or damaged structural members and siding have been replaced.
– New roofing (replaced shingles with shingles)
– The fireplaces are not safe for use and are NOT being repaired in the current rehab effort.
Mount Olive is the second largest town in Wayne County and located just south of Goldsboro. At the last census Mount Olive boasted 4,756 residents, but the population within a 10- mile radius is approximately 35,000. Beaches, museums, historic sites, state parks, the Civil War corridor, and the capital city of Raleigh are within easy driving distance. Each year on the last full weekend in April, Mount Olive celebrates its agribusiness heritage with the NC Pickle Festival – one of the best-known festivals in the state. For more information on the area, visit www.townofmountolivenc.org or www.waynegov.com.
The historic Flowers-Wooten-Holmes House is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at firstname.lastname@example.org or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
Constructed approximately 1800, just before the bridge to Harkers Island. Neighborhood boat ramp easily accesses Bogue sound, with a short boat ride to Shackleford Island national park island and Beaufort Inlet. Income-producing property through VRBO, see listing #413888. Renovation essentially complete. 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, full width front porches on first and second floors, screened back porch. Nice opportunity to have a beach house with proven income.
Beautiful historic home on large lot! Located on approx. 1.32 acres.3 Large barns. Originally built in the 1890s, this home was renovated in 1935. Recent upgrades include new paint; granite countertops; re-finished hardwood floors; newly renovated master bath including new plumbing & tiled shower. Surround sound system in living room. 3 Barnes-1 wired with hot tub! Exterior lighting!Hand carved molding around door frames. New septic system. A real country jewel!! Don’t miss this one!
1938 Craftsman Home in NC Coast fishing village….recent minor renovations including central air and heat, wiring, new roof, and paint highlight the features of this rustic gem. Some water views are possible, it is located in Davis,NC, right on the Core Sound shore….fig, pecan and apple trees are on property along with an old fish shack that can be used for storage……Downstairs bedroom with one bath, and two upstairs bedrooms, along with back porch addition set up for washer and dryer….Water treatment shed also on property…Boat ramp two minutes away…..
Webbley, more commonly known today as the Governor O. Max Gardner House, was the home of one of North Carolina’s most prominent 20th century public leaders. Governor Gardner was a key figure of one of North Carolina’s most celebrated political dynasties, “the Shelby Dynasty,” which controlled NC politics from 1929 until the early 1950’s. He enjoyed a distinguished career that included service as State Senator, Lieutenant Governor and Governor from 1929-33. The house has hosted visits from both Presidents Roosevelt and Truman and every Governor of North Carolina but one since 1880.
Originally built in 1852 in the Italianate style, it was thoroughly oversized in the early 20th century into the grand Colonial Revival structure with monumental Neoclassical detailing including a massive full-height colonnaded portico supported by fluted Ionic columns that perfectly captures the grandeur and grace of the Old South’s architecture.
The 11,000 plus square foot home was completely restored in 1989 by the current owner, and was operated as a successful 4-star bed and breakfast, “The Inn at Webbley.” It currently serves as law offices for O. Max Gardner, III, the grandson of Governor Gardner. With an update of the now 25 year old improvements, the house would make a resplendent residence, office or bed and breakfast.
Webbley is a pivotal structure in the Central Shelby National Register District and is individually listed in the National Register of Historic Places and thus eligible for federal rehabilitation tax credits. It is well situated on 2.44 acres with an oversized garage and guest cottage and is a short and easy walk to Shelby’s thriving tree-lined uptown historic district, the Don Gibson Theatre, the Earl Scruggs Center, the Arts Council, a new Farmers market pavilion, fine restaurants and shops, government offices, banks and churches.
Inviting home in walkable Kenwood neighborhood.Feels like home with spacious-oversized rooms,large rocking chair front porch, rear deck and off-street alley parking. Walk to Wallace Park and drive 5 minutes to historic downtown. Original oak and heart pine floors, fireplace, double-block windows with custom blinds, deep closets, large pantry and other historic details. Remodeled bathroom features a glass-block shower wall, new fixtures, custom tile-work and built-in cabinets. Updated electric, plumbing, heat and air condoning deliver modern comfort to this authentic Craftsman. New windows in enclosed back porch give a wonderful view of the expansive, secluded backyard, which features a large privacy fence, 16×12 storage shed and mature hardwoods including pecan,dogwood and Japanese tulip tree. Convenience of the city with the space you would expect in the county. Property covered in well-established azaleas and camellias. Recently repainted inside and out. Move in ready, offered by Intracoastal Realty!
2100 sf 1880s mill house completely renovated from foundations up in 2001. Original wood floors, interior wood paneling and exterior wood siding. Modern 2 bed 2 bath addition. Re-painted inside & out, floors re-finished, and new kitchen appliances in 2015.
Ground floor master suite with porch access, en-suite bathroom and working fireplace. Second ground floor bedroom also with porch access. Adjoining full bathroom. Laundry area with hook up for gas and electric appliances.
Ground floor living room with working fireplace. Spacious office, library or family room with built in bookshelves and windows three sides. All original wood paneling and floors.
Comfortable kitchen with eat-in area and hook up for wood stove. Adjoining sun room with southern aspect.
Upstairs secluded bedroom suite with large bedroom, dressing area and full bathroom. Original wood paneled walls.
In historic Glencoe Mill Village. Historic preservation site. Textile mill with available commercial space. Intact historic mill village with covenants developed by Preservation North Carolina. Active HOA and friendly neighborhood. On a safe, quiet street with custom street lighting and buried utilities. On the Haw River Trail with canoe/kayak river access and walking trails. Part of the Mountains-to-Sea, NC Birding and Haw River Trails. 6 miles to I-85/40. 5 miles to Elon University. 3 miles to historic downtown Burlington, Company Shops Food Co-op and Amtrack Station. Commuting distance to Raleigh/Durham, RTP, High Point and Greensboro/Winston-Salem. 45 mins to RDU and GSO airports.
For more information, visit https://www.facebook.com/2441HodgesRoad or http://www.zillow.com/homedetails/2441-Hodges-Rd-Burlington-NC-27217/67325679_zpid/
The late 18th Century Martin-Bazemore House is the oldest structure in the Woodville “Rural” Historic District, and is one of the oldest extant houses in Bertie County. While the builder is unknown, the first known occupant was Peter Boyd Martin (1777-1838) who lived in the home during the early 19th Century. Purchased in 1912 from the heirs of Kenneth Bazemore by T.W. Griffin and C.B. Griffin, Sr., it was used as a rental house for most of the 20th Century. In 2001, the Griffin family deeded the overgrown, deteriorated house to Historic Woodville, Inc.
The Martin-Bazemore House is a 1 ½ story, side-gable, five-bay frame house with engaged front porch and gable-end chimney. Vacant since the 1970s, the house retains a great deal of original fabric including some original beaded siding, one surviving double-shouldered chimney in random common bond, molded cornice on the porch, heart-of-pine flooring, flat paneled wainscot, paneled doors, three-part molded surrounds, and four 9/6 windows. Originally a hall-and-parlor plan, the west parlor was moved and attached very early creating a center hall plan. During the early 20th century, a shed and breezeway was constructed connecting the detached (circa 1820) kitchen.
Thanks to Historic Woodville, Inc., a great deal of work has been done to the house and to the site including new plantings and a privacy fence. The exterior of the house has been painted and completely rehabilitated with a new roof and foundation, repairs made to the extant chimney, porch and siding, and restoration of the front porch balustrade. In addition, there is new wiring and a new half bath in place. Most importantly, the entrance hall and two front rooms of the house have been meticulously restored. The remaining house is a blank canvas—with multiple possibilities.
Located about 16 miles from the county seat of Windsor in rural Bertie County, the Martin-Bazemore House is convenient to Tarboro and Greenville (approximately 35 minute drive) and Raleigh, the NC Outer Banks, and Tidewater Virginia (approximately 1.5 hours away).
Primed by the introduction of a new crop, tobacco, and a disastrous fire in 1895, Kinston entered the modern era. With many of the old wooden stores along Queen Street destroyed this two-story brick commercial building, and others, were constructed in the heart of Kinston’s central business district around the turn of the twentieth century when the town experienced explosive growth as the prime tobacco and cotton market for eastern North Carolina. Remarkably many of those early buildings survive today as the town is poised for another period of growth and revitalization. Located diagonally across the street from the Arts Center of Kinston the West Building has served the community in a variety of ways over the years including a boarding house/hotel complete with claw foot tubs and bead board on the second level. Now the heirs are working with Preservation North Carolina to find a new owner and use. The building will require a complete rehabilitation including a new roof.
Home to the restaurant featured on PBS’s “A Chef’s Life,” Kinston is a charming small town in eastern NC. In addition to the afore-mentioned restaurant, Chef & the Farmer, and beloved microbrewery Mother Earth, Kinston area businesses and residents enjoy an unparalleled quality of life. Southern hospitality, a rich history, natural beauty and lots of outdoor recreational activities, warm weather, and year-round vents are just a few of the reasons many are happy to call the area home. Kinston is less than 30 minutes from Greenville and Jacksonville, and about 1 hour 30 minutes from Raleigh and Wilmington. Learn more about what’s happening in Kinston here: www.motherearthspirits.com/visit/, here: www.visitkinston.com/ , here: http://www.downtownkinston.com/, and here: http://kinstonchamber.com/.
Calling for creativity! This quaint but spacious church situated in the restive sandhills region among native longleaf pines would make a perfect artist retreat or weekend getaway. Located only about ten miles from Pinehurst and Southern Pines, it could offer the best of both worlds for those who enjoy the peace and quiet of a “country” location, with all of the amenities offered by the nearby resort towns. Click here for examples of churches that have been used for renewed purposes.
The quiet location of the church in Addor (now Pinebluff) is located in the Sandhills, an area formed by ancient sand dunes that divide the Piedmont and Coastal regions of North Carolina. It is only about ten miles from Pinehurst and Southern Pines. Pinehurst, known as the “Cradle of American Golf”, is home to the famous Pinehurst Resort, The Country Club of North Carolina, numerous outdoor activities including golf, tennis and equestrian events, boutique shops, excellent restaurants, art and pottery galleries, and much more. Southern Pines also offers many modern conveniences, as well as historic attractions (such as the Shaw House and Weymouth) and a charming main street. Addor is less then an hour from Fayetteville, and just under two hours from Charlotte.
Architectural and Historical Information
This late-19th century church was constructed around the time the new town of Keyser was established on the Raleigh to Augusta Airline Railway around 1880. The name was changed to Addor in 1918.
The church has sustained a few changes during its long history including the addition of shingles and replacement front doors. The interior remains largely open space with wood floors, diagonal tongue and groove wainscot, and an octagonal apse on a raised platform, separated by a railing supported by turned balusters, and topped by a tongue and groove ceiling covered in brilliant blue paint. This rear section may have been added in the early 20th century.
Decorative features are simple yet attractive including variations of tongue and groove wainscot, ceilings, and a striking towers featuring pointed arch vents, metal shingle roof covering and an octagonal spire.
The Free Liberty Church will require a compete rehabilitation including all new systems and some restoration carpentry.
The David A. Barnes House sits on over 8 acres in the historic river town of Murfreesboro, NC. The home was built by master carpenter Jacob Holt in 1875 and has likely inspired other homes of the area with its Italianate design. The property has recently undergone a complete renovation and has been added to the National Register of Historic Places. The home boasts over 4,600 square feet, 4 bedrooms, 2 full baths, elaborate formal rooms and foyer with intricate plaster crown moldings, 2 staircases, heart pine flooring, beautiful original woodwork throughout the home and many recent updates.
Updates include a new tin shingle roof with lifetime warranty, top of the line storm windows (Velvalume), and built-in bookcases in the guest bedroom and den. A fully insulated cabin/outbuilding used as an office or guest quarters with split system heating and air conditioning, a new wood burning stove, restored wide plank floors and custom built vintage heart pine shelving. The kitchen boasts high-end appliances including Electrolux dishwasher and fridge, BlueStar professional grade gas range/oven, garbage disposal and reproduction enamel farmhouse sink. There is a built-in china hutch in the dining room and the home has 8 working fireplaces. Recent additions include fencing around the entire property as well as an outdoor wood furnace that pumps heat directly into the home’s ductwork.
Taken from the Local Historic Designation Report is the following additional information:
“The home is a large two-story, three-bay, hip roof dwelling. Its traditional rectangular footprint is enlivened by elaborate central gables on the north, east, and west elevations. The building is clad in plain weatherboard siding. Molded corner boards support a paneled frieze and decorative brackets with pendants carry the overhang of the roof. Horseshoe trusses having jig-sawn trim embellish the central gables. Quatrefoil windows pierce the gable peaks. Two chimneys emerge at the hip break in the roof.
“A one-story, hip roof porch supported by four square-paneled posts with sawn brackets covers the façade, and paired, narrow one-over-one sash windows flank the double-glazed entry doors. Elongated cutbacks within the door and window surrounds create “ears” at the top and bottom of the surrounds. Additional porches are located against the side elevations. The east porch shelters two bays and the west porch shelters a single bay. Large glazed sliding pocket doors open onto each porch. On the rear elevation, one-story shed-roof wings flank a double-leaf door with three-light transom and support a second-floor shed-roof bay. A one-story hyphen connects the west wing to a small gable-roof kitchen placed perpendicular to the hyphen.
“The Barnes House uses a center-passage double-pile plan. A partition wall separates the front two-thirds of the center passage, containing the primary stair, from the rear third and secondary stair. Four large, roughly square, heated rooms arranged around the center passage compose the first-floor plan. An excellent collection of Holt-designed outbuildings remains at the Barnes House, including” a four-seat privy, an original dwelling built to house the builders who built the main house, a hay barn, a stable and a garden shed. One outbuilding has been through a complete renovation to create a wonderful home office, complete with wood heater, built-in bookshelves and exposed ceiling beams. There is also a chicken house, patio, gardens and more. Horses are allowed.
This property offers everything the historic home lover is looking for and it is priced to move. As seen in Garden & Gun Magazine http://gardenandgun.com/article/heritage-homestead. The home is protected by historic covenants and receives a property tax discount. Serious inquires only, appointment and preapproval required. Please contact Elicia Revelle at email@example.com or 252-396-1244 for more information or to see this property.
The 4 bedroom 2 bath Williamson house is a lovely example of the Colonial Revival style. Notable exterior elements include the front one-story entrance porch with balustrade, a port corchere on the driveway side and a matching large side covered porch on the other, and a beautiful slate roof. The interior boast paired french entry doors, a large parlor with two pairs of french doors opening to porch.
Built in 1948, the George T. McAulay house is full of surprising details and stately elegance.
G. T. McAulay was owner of Jacobs Creek quarry specializing in “Carolina Blue Stone” and the house he built reflects that. A striking stone fireplace is the centerpiece of the den. Round stone trimmed gable windows, curbs and walks of blue slate are featured throughout the house and grounds.
Situated on a knoll set back from West Allenton Street, the house is two blocks from Mt. Gilead’s remarkably intact National Register District.
Beautiful pin oak hardwood floors warm the first floor living spaces, including the unique kitchen, with its original Art Deco inspired curved wall cabinets, emulated by the new base cabinets with granite countertops and new appliances.
The house when first built had two large bedrooms and two full baths on the first floor and a maid’s room and small bath in the attic area. The attic area has been expanded to create an “artists loft” feeling with a large studio space with northern exposure, sitting area, and a paneled bedroom with a large bathroom–an ideal space for extra guests or visiting grandchildren. A separate heating/cooling system serves each floor.
The house sits on three acres, and is almost completely fenced in with a five- foot chain link fence. There is a 16’x16’ workshop with a 220 service and an open tractor shed. The property could be easily secured for horses, which are permitted within the city limits.
Mt. Gilead is located in Montgomery County, with close access to recreational lakes and hiking trails and is about 60 miles from Charlotte.
Rehab the only remaining Rosenwald School in Cleveland County! The former school would make excellent apartments or mixed use development. Its location offers close walking proximity to Shelby’s nationally recognized historic Uptown, hospital, governmental and other medical offices, a variety of other shopping and dining venues, and churches.
With an oversized lot, there is plenty of room for parking or outdoor recreational amenities, or even additional sympathetic new construction. Part of the current facility has been renovated for use as a church, but a large portion is in need of extensive rehabilitation. The school is being considered for the Study List for the National Register which would open the door for the use of the historic tax credits.
Shelby is a premiere emerging town, strategically placed between metropolitan Charlotte (45 miles) and the gateway to the mountains surrounding Asheville (80 miles). In addition to its burgeoning , tree-lined uptown business district Shelby is home to the Earl Scruggs Center, the Don Gibson Theatre, Shelby City Park with an authentic 1919 Herschell–Spillman Carousel, the home of the American Legion World Series, the International Lineman’s Museum, the Cleveland County Arts Council; a brand new Farmers market. Cleveland County is a leader in economic development and recruitment.
Historical and Architectural Information
Beginning in 1912, Julius Rosenwald, president of Sears, Roebuck and Company felt compelled to bring high quality education to blacks in the integrated south. Rosenwald established a Rosenwald Fund which contributed more than $4.3 million toward local matches to construct over 5000 schools and related structures from Texas to Maryland through 1932. In 1927, this fund assisted with construction of the Cleveland County Training School #2 . In 1935, a major addition either subsumed or replaced that school building. Significant additions were made in 1955 (a three story Modernist Classroom) and 1960 (a gymnasium).
This is the only known remaining Rosenwald School in Cleveland County.
The later additions reflected the state of the art school design as espoused by NCSC professor Edward W. Waugh who designed standards for the Office of School House planning. Waugh’s “organic” approach to school design recommended centrally locating communal spaces such as administrative offices, libraries, cafeterias, and combination auditoriums and gymnasiums, and arranging classrooms in outlying wings. This design concept suggested that each classroom should have an exterior door to facilitate connectivity with the” outside classroom.” Buildings were designed to be well integrated into their sites and allow for flexible use and future expansion. This school is one of three remaining mid twentieth century African-American schools remaining in Cleveland county that reflect Waugh’s principles.
Be a part of the Preservation Grand Slam in Gastonia!
With the home-run successes of the Loray Mill, Gaston Memorial Hospital and Armstrong Apartments, PNC is now seeking developers to score the next major project at the Arlington School. Uses for this 50,000+ square foot building could include apartments, mixed use commercial, an agricultural center, institutional, college satellite space, arts and crafts related studios and businesses.
The school is only 1.5 miles from downtown Gastonia; less than a mile from the Loray Mill project and Loray Mill Village; 18 miles from the Charlotte Douglas International Airport; and 27 miles to downtown Charlotte.
Gastonia has been named an All American City and is experiencing a positive influx of growth and attention associated with Charlotte’s burgeoning economy.
Architectural and Historical Information
Erected in 1922 and expanded in 1944 and 1949, the Arlington School is a substantial, two story red brick Neo-Classical building housing a gymnasium, cafeteria, kitchen, auditorium and classrooms. It was originally built to serve several mill villages of the Arlington, Gray, Parkdale, and Mutual cotton mills in west Gastonia. There were thirteen schools in the Gastonia system in 1930 and now only Central School, Gastonia High School (both restored and used) and Arlington School survive.
Of these survivors only the Arlington School was associated with the cotton mills and villages that were instrumental to the development of Gastonia. The building will need a new roof immediately and a full rehabilitation.
The school is currently on the Study List for the National Register of Historic Places which would make it eligible for federal tax credits. The school is priced far below the $890,000 tax value.
The Old Gibsonville School is an excellent opportunity for redevelopment as condos, positioned perfectly within Alamance County’s booming housing market and only 17 miles from downtown Greensboro and 40 miles from Durham. Constructed in 1924 in the Colonial Revival-style, the Old Gibsonville School is a stately two-story building situated in a park-like setting on the edge of Gibsonville’s quaint downtown and a mile away from Elon University. Designed by Burlington architect Gustav Larsen, the school initially consisted of the front five bays with a stair tower at either end. Two-story wings were added in the 1930s creating a U-shape plan and an inner courtyard. The school was remodeled in the 1960s with metal windows and a more streamlined façade while retaining the classical front entrance with broken portico and urn finial. Another two-story wing was added to the rear north wing. There is a partial basement under the south side of the main building.
Several original features remain on the interior including wood floors, transom windows over several of the classroom doors, closets with doors that open vertically, plaster walls, and bathroom and water fountain fixtures on the second floor.
The school originally served children in first through eleventh grades. Kindergarten and 12th grade was added later. From 1973 until it closed in 2006, only the first floor was used for elementary school grades.
The building will require a complete rehabilitation including structural repairs, new roof, all new mechanical systems. The roof of the rear south wing has collapsed. The school is listed in the National Register of Historic Places and is ideal for market-rate residential or other uses compatible with the adjacent new elementary school.
Gibsonville, known as the “City of Roses”, is a friendly, family-oriented community located in the Piedmont Triad area of North Carolina, between Greensboro and Burlington and within close proximity to Elon University. With an estimated population of 6,706, Gibsonville offers a small town atmosphere to live, work, play, and raise a family while providing quick access to larger neighboring cities. The Town provides a variety of services such as police, fire protection, garbage collection, recyclables collection, water, sewer, streets, sidewalks, planning, parks and recreation, senior citizens programs, library, and cemetery. [Taken from http://www.gibsonville.net/ ]
Maus, Warwick, Matthews & Company is proud to offer the Graystone Inn for sale. This unique 17,000 square foot meeting space, event center and inn offers an opportunity unlike anything else in the southeast. Lovingly cared for with major renovations completed in the last ten years, the Graystone Inn offers modern elegance with proper southern charm that Wilmington is known for. Nestled in North Carolina’s largest and oldest historic district, the Graystone Inn boasts nine elegant guest suites, a two bedroom owner’s quarters and an additional one bedroom apartment for long term rental revenue or use as an office. The first floor is large enough to host groups of 100 or more for special functions. Call Listing Agent for a flyer or to complete a CA for more details.
Own a piece of Glencoe Mill Village history. This is a rare opportunity to purchase Preservation North Carolina’s model house, the first home to be restored in the 1880’s cotton mill village.
Welcome home to Glencoe, where neighbors wave from open porches, and breezes off the Haw River carry the sounds of rushing water as you relax in the inviting porch swing. Enjoy the view of the 1880 cotton mill complex and imagine life as it used to be, full of Southern industry and screen-door charm.
2416 Glencoe Street received a Minetree Pyne Preservation Award and has been featured widely in both state and national media, including Country Living Magazine and the National Historic Trust Conference. The ground-up restoration highlights the home’s all-original materials, including wavy glass in the windows and original-patina yellow heart pine floors. Walls throughout the home are a charming mix of bead board, wide plank, and plaster. The unique exposed brick nogging in the living room is the only example of the original construction in the Village! All surfaces are fully encapsulated for safety.
The generously-proportioned 2027 square foot home features spacious rooms with 9’ ceilings. (An addition up to 634 square feet is allowed if extra space is needed.) The home is in excellent condition. Flexible living spaces both upstairs and down allow for your own creative vision to shine through. The rear of the house currently used for an artist’s studio and gallery space can be easily converted into a huge master suite with fireplace. (Speaking of fireplaces – don’t miss the artist-made mosaic fireplace surround in the living room, crafted from ceramic pieces found throughout the village!)
More Village history can be found outdoors in the fenced patio constructed from bricks taken from the summer kitchen chimney. The property’s original outbuildings were not forgotten in the exhaustive restoration, including an 1880 spring house used for storage, and the outhouse, now used as a tool shed! A huge 2-story wired workshop/barn/potential garage was added in 2002.
Hikers will enjoy the outdoors on miles of walking trails, and for canoers and kayakers, there’s a put-in just steps away on the picturesque Haw River. Take a picnic lunch to Great Bend Park at the river’s dam or walk to the adjoining Indian Valley Golf Course.
All new systems – HVAC, electrical, and plumbing – were installed in 2000 and the furnace was replaced in 2014. The home has a whole-house automatic stand-by generator which runs everything during emergencies.
This award-winning restored home is on the market for the very first time – it won’t last long!
$68 sq ft, 25 minutes from Chapel Hill or Durham!
The Parker-Essen House at 601 N Main Street, Graham is a magnificent, clipped side-gable, Craftsman “bungalow” with many unique features rarely seen in this time period including walk-in closets, and 3 bedrooms with private bathrooms. This well-maintained house has 16 rooms and retains its original elegance with wainscoting, plaster walls and gorgeous oak floors throughout.
A grand home built by Captain E.S. Parker, one of the wealthiest and most prominent leaders of early Alamance County, the house features 8 1/2′ sliding pocket doors leading from the foyer to the living room and 8 1’2 foot multi-light, double glass doors leading from the foyer to the stairway and downstairs hall. The master bedroom features a private look-out room which overlooks Main Street. The two upstairs bathrooms have clawfoot bathtubs. One of the three walk-in closets is lined with aromatic cedar. A recent top-end kitchen remodel includes a granite counter top island, a Bosch dishwasher and three custom-made pecan counter tops milled from a tree in the backyard.
Over 75 different plant varieties provide a year-round visual and olfactory feast on all four sides of the house. The mature, low maintenance landscaping was designed by a professional landscape architect with an emphasis on native, rare and drought resistant species. The covered front porch is 9′ x 40′ with 8 stucco columns and built in benches. A giant 24′ x 40′ private deck connects the back porch with the back yard.
Priced at $230,000, the Parker-Essen house includes 3,383 square feet of heated space (less than $68 sq./ft.)and over 2,500 square feet of additional space including a garage, attic, basement and numerous storage alcoves. An easy walk from downtown Graham restaurants, shops and movie theatre, the home offers both elegance and small-town charm. (Located an easy 25 minute drive from the university towns of Chapel Hill or Greensboro, this house offers significant cost savings; a similar house in those cities, if one could be found, would likely cost twice as much with annual property taxes at least three times as high.)
One of the finest, remaining historic homes in Alamance County, the Parker-Essen House lies in the heart of the North Main Street Historic District, listed in the National Register of Historic Places. (This honor does not add any regulations to what property owners may do to their properties, but may make them eligible to receive State and Federal tax credits for additional renovations.) For more information, photographs and a video, see www.Parker-EssenHouse.com. For additional information or to receive an invitation to an upcoming open house, please email firstname.lastname@example.org or call (919) 548-6824.
This is truly a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to own a western NC treasure!
With a total of 24 rooms, the Glen Choga Lodge is tucked into the Nantahala National Forest and only a stone’s throw from Nantahala Lake. This rambling inn constructed of chestnut is just 25 miles from the Nantahala Outdoor Center and the best whitewater rafting on the East Coast. It is the ultimate retreat that will take you back to nature and to a time in Western NC’s history where buildings emphasized the glorious use of native building materials. The uses of the Lodge and its two cabins and outbuildings are plentiful! Here are just a few: inn and spa, a place for an eco-tourist vacation, wedding and special event rental venue, religious retreat, non-profits retreat, youth camp, private family gatherings, sporting related activities, and of course a stunningly magnificent private permanent or seasonal residence. It has been lovingly and continuously cared for by the present owner since 1979, and has operated on a limited commercial basis.
Nearby attractions include the Nantahala outdoor whitewater rafting center (25 miles), Great Smoky Mountain National Park, Nantahala Lake, Nantahala National Forest, Cherohala Skyway (a scenic byway), Fontana and Cheoah Lakes, Lake Hiwassee, Lake Chatuge, Cherokee Indian Reservation, Harrah’s Casino, Little Tennessee River, Santeetlah Lake, and the Appalachian Trail.
The serene setting of Topton is only about 25 minutes from the charming town of Andrews, with shops, restaurants and galleries. Glen Choga Lodge is truly designed to be a retreat, but when you’re craving city lights, there’s Franklin and Cherokee (both about 1 hour), Asheville, NC and Greenville, SC (both about 2 hours), Chattanooga and Knoxville (both about 2.5 hours), Athens, GA (just under 3 hours) and Atlanta, GA (just over 3 hours).
Architectural and Historical Information
Described as one of North Carolina’s premiere examples of the ideal Adirondack rustic style, the Glen Choga (Scottish for “Valley Creek”) Lodge is a two story, 9400+ square foot, saddle notched (mostly chestnut) log inn, replete with original interior chestnut and other species of hardwood finishes throughout. Built in 1934-35 along “The Great Western Turnpike” by a young couple, A.B. and Margaret Steuart, natives of Scotland, it opened for business in 1935 and is one of the few remaining architecturally significant hotels and lodgings dating from the interwar period in western NC. It is reflective of the increased tourism which sought out the vast unspoiled mountainous landscapes, scenery, and climate of the region as well as a growing regard for the native materials.
It is listed individually in the National Register of Historic Places as it is the only known surviving twentieth century example of a two story log inn or hotel in the state built in that era. It is certainly the only known example which survives in the state to the present. The lodge includes a library, common areas including a main lobby with stone oversized native stone fireplace, and an outdoor courtyard. Connected to the original lodge is a workshop.
The interior finishes are in virtual untouched and unaltered condition exhibiting saplings, limbs, and branches for the porch and stair railing. The interior of the lodge is finished with flooring and board sheathing sawn from the varied species of hardwood trees growing on the property. Unpainted and unvarnished, the walls and ceilings have mellowed to pleasing warm tones and it is easy to envision the rustic character that these interiors afforded guests over the years.
The mountain setting of the lodge is largely unspoiled with lush manicured grounds surrounding the lodge, a large trout pond with ducks fed by 2000’ feet of the Little Choga Creek. A short walk away from the main Lodge are two free standing, more modern cabins: a two bedroom, one bath A-frame and a two bedroom, one bath one story cottage. There are trails to mountain vistas, a mountain stream, a waterfall and gardens and some views of nearby Lake Nantahala. The lodge and cabins combined can accommodate approximately 30-40 people comfortably and offer the rare opportunity of enjoying, in a private and peaceful setting, fishing, hiking, boating, bird and animal watching.
The lodge will need some extensive but sympathetic upgrades to suit today’s modern tastes; however, there are those who will also find in its current rustic simplicity just the peaceful retreat that they are looking for. In fact, in 1935 as it opened the Glen Choga Lodge was hailed as an inn that would provide a “journey’s end for discriminating people seeking a summer retreat far from the maddening crowd!”
Hillman Barnes built this fine Greek Revival house around 1860 to replace a c.1830 house lost to fire. In 1919 Barnes’ grandaughter Nellie and her husband moved the house on logs to adjacent land carved out for them. They added the present two-story rear wing and updated a few of the fireplaces to more fashionable Craftsman mantels. The right front parlor remains the most original.
The house displays a variety of interesting achitectural features including mortise and tenon construction, wide overhanging eaves, corner fluted pilasters and molded caps, six over six windows with wide beaded architrave and molded backbands, and a fine six-paneled door with transom and sidelights. The entire house is covered in a well-maintained standing seam metal roof.
The house sits on land very near I-85 that is being developed into a corporate park and must be moved within the next few months.
Developed by the Holt family on a picturesque site along the Haw River, Glencoe is one of the state’s most significant early textile mills and mill villages. James and William Holt, sons of textile pioneer E.M. Holt, built Glencoe Mills, Inc. in 1880, and it would become one of the last waterpowered
mills developed by the Holts. The mill closed in 1954, and over time residents vacated the village homes. In 1979, Glencoe was listed on the National Register of Historic Places; it was described by the National Park Service as “a nationally significant site representative of the Southern textile mill village and its role in the industrialization of the American South.” The NPS has also considered listing Glencoe as a National Historic Landmark, the highest historical designation in the United States.
And then, a new beginning…
In 1997, when Preservation NC purchased the long-idle 105-acre property in a bargain sale, Glencoe consisted of thirty-two vacant houses in varying conditions of decay and a complex of mill buildings along the river. PNC installed water/sewer lines and built necessary roads to provide modern access throughout the village. One by one, buyers began to purchase and restore the historic homes and rebuild the Glencoe community.
Now, only one historic house and one building lot remain available for renovation. The last historic house available on Hodges Road is across the street from land that has been set aside for conservation. The one-story (“Plan C”) house has a rear ell, central chimney and rear porch. The house will require a complete rehabilitation including windows, roof repair, all mechanicals and plumbing, a new front porch, and new decking on rear porch.
Area Information: Alamance County is located on Interstates 85 and 40 within commuting distance of much of the Triad and Triangle areas. Burlington, whose current population is approximately 45,000, was established as a railroad town and is known for its textile history. For further information, contact the Alamance County Convention and Visitors Bureau at 336-570-1444 or visit www.burlington-area-nc.org.
One of the county’s most imposing examples of Greek Revival and Italianate style, this massive residence started as a hall-parlor-plan house in the first quarter of the nineteenth century. By 1880, the house had been expanded to its current size to accommodate the family of prosperous cotton farmer Robert A.L. Carr and his wife, Sarah Hooker Carr. Resting on a brick foundation rebuilt in the 1990s, the double-pile-plan, center-hall dwelling’s exterior is distinguished by the roof’s prominently pedimented and bracketed cornice and eaves. There is a full-facade one-story hip-roofed front porch, sheltering a large center entrance with an Italianate-style multipaned transom and sidelights. On either side is a window extending to the porch floor. The grand, wide foyer extends the depth of the house.
Some highlights of the interior include formal living and dining rooms, eat-in kitchen, family room, laundry area, mud room, bathroom with claw-foot tub all on the first floor. The second floor has 3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, and an extra room that could serve as a nursery, office, bathroom, or laundry room. There are two closets in each bedroom, which have been discreetly and tastefully added. Attic space has been made comfortably habitable, with bedroom, storage space, and large family area that could also serve as a bedroom. There are 8 fireplaces in the house, as well as original heart pine floors, and 9 foot ceilings on the first and second floors.
The home sits on 2 landscaped acres, surrounded by open farmland. The original kitchen house rests behind the house and would make a fabulous guest house or studio. The original smokehouse is currently used as a potting shed. A large, 3 story packhouse provides more storage, workspace than you will ever need!
The property has easy access to Greenville and only 15 minutes to Vidant hospital and East Carolina University. It is also located 10 minutes to Farmville or Ayden.
Go to https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q8IVX3GvXqI for pictures and video.
The Templeton House exudes a beauty and reflects the railroad era with a conservative Queen Anne style. Asymmetrical architecture combine with a large welcoming, wraparound porch for a striking facade and street presence.
The home is a 4 bedroom / 3 bath, built in 1909 and features; beautiful wood floors, 11′ ceilings, beadboard wainscoting & chair rail, oversized baseboards, built-in china cabinet, seven decorative fireplaces with ornate hand carved custom mantels, slate roof, fish scale shingles and professionally landscaped yard.
Zoned for Residential and Bed & Breakfast. Home was built in 1909 and designated as a Local Historic Landmark.
Home is located blocks from Downtown Mooresville which offers; dining, shopping, art, music, festivals and fun!
The Brown-Watkins House is on a beautiful, broadly shaded avenue in the charming small town of Oxford. Oxford is conveniently located only 30 minutes from Durham and less than 40 minutes to Research Triangle Park and this house would make a fine home with an easy commute, once the extensive rehab is complete. College Street exemplifies the grand residences that were built for successful industrialists, tobacconists, merchants and professionals in turn-of-the-century Oxford. Proudly proclaiming itself as the “most beautiful village in the state” as early as 1830, Oxford grew into a bustling town that served as the center of education, culture and industry for the area. Today, the area north of downtown along College Street where the Brown-Watkins House is located continues to draw praise as an area where stylish homes and fine institutional buildings have been preserved.
The Town of Oxford was described a century ago as one of the prettiest towns in the state, and will celebrate its 200th anniversary in 2016. Today it remains an attractive example of small-town living with historic buildings situated on broad, beautifully shaded streets and a vibrant downtown. There are several locally-owned businesses, museums and cultural centers, and festivals and events year-round, including movie nights, Alive After Five events and a Farmer’s Market. Several parks and recreational amenities are located in or around Oxford with sports fields and leagues for adults and children, tennis and basketball courts, playgrounds, a skateboard park, and horseback riding. Access to five different lakes including Kerr Lake (20 minutes) and Lake Gaston (50 minutes) offer fishing and boating. Located only 30 minutes from Durham, Oxford is also convenient to Research Triangle Park (35 minutes), Brier Creek (35 minutes) and Raleigh (50 minutes), several colleges and universities, major medical centers, and Raleigh-Durham International Airport (45 minutes).
Architectural and Historical Information
The Brown-Watkins House was built c.1911 during a building boom in Oxford. It is a stately two-story Colonial Revival house with some Queen Anne characteristics including the prominent two-story front entrance portico that is slightly off-center. The broad full-width front porch supported by simple Doric columns unifies the façade giving the house a more symmetrical appearance. Most striking is the modified Federal style front entrance with a fanlight above the door and sidelights comprised of engaged fluted pilasters, dentil molding, and beveled glass. The heavy paneled door and entrance was crafted by Robert Morgan, Sr., a talented local builder. A simplified version is repeated at the side entrance. Other exterior features include an oval window with keystones next to the second floor balcony door, a lunette window in the pedimented portico of the two-story porch, a hipped roof covered with pressed metal shingles supported by a wide cornice band, and wide overhanging eaves with built-in gutters.
The front door opens into a large gracious south parlor with tall ceilings, wide cornice molding, a corner fireplace with a classical mantel enhanced by brilliant tile in the surround with cast iron coal insert. Large fluted pilasters and Ionic column lead into the stair hall further enhanced by an open string staircase with molded rail terminating in a curve into the Ionic column. Two sets of pocket doors lead into the north parlor. Additional interior features include simple yet classical mantels, period light fixtures, push-button light switches, period bathroom fixtures, wood floors, and plaster walls. Some doors have transom windows. An interesting curved rear addition was added mid-century providing the family with a pleasant sunroom finished with pine paneling.
The Brown-Watkins House is situated on a rise along College Street under mature trees with remnants of an elegant garden including cast iron fence with gate, stone walls, sculptural birdbaths, concrete garden furniture and a mill stone. Among the outbuildings is a charming playhouse with Colonial Revival and Craftsman detail built by Robert Morgan, Sr. A substantial brick and wood 1.5 story garage with apartment is also finely detailed with 3-over-1 windows, carriage doors, and curved gable returns.
The Brown-Watkins House has remained vacant for several years and has suffered from neglect. However, it would be possible to rehab the garage and live in the apartment while working on the house. Once the rehab on the house is complete, the apartment over the garage could become an income-producing rental. Flashing around the chimneys has failed, causing leaks that have resulted in damaged plaster on some ceilings and walls. The porch and eaves have been damaged by failure of the built-in gutters. The house will require a complete rehabilitation including structural and other repair to interior plaster and ceilings, HVAC, electrical and plumbing updates, new kitchen and bathroom updates, restoration of the eaves and porches, and some flooring repair.
The house is a contributing structure in the Oxford Historic District.
Be a part of the rejuvenation of one of Winston-Salem’s unique in-town National Register Historic districts!
Built ca. 1930, this interesting complex is one of the remaining “Y-plan stair” apartments for which Winston Salem has one of the largest known assembled collections. The “Y –plan stair“ apartment form is a unique African-American building type found in Winston-Salem. This particular building is believed to be the only expanded/modified eight bay version of its kind to exist in the city.
The North Cherry Street area was established in the 1920’s as a haven for Winston-Salem’s middle class black population and was home to a thriving community of teachers, entrepreneurs and business owners. . The “Y-plan stair” property type was developed in the 1930’s as an alternative rental option to the wooden frame shotgun houses of an earlier era. During the 1930’s, 40’s and 50’s this particular apartment’s renters included many working class and domestics including butlers, maids, cooks and chauffeurs who served nearby estates.
This two story brick complex features:
- Six apartments, each about 636 square feet
- Eight bays with a side gable on stepped parapet with “Y”-plan staircase
- Double level porch with double height brick piers
- Some original six over six double hung windows and some newer one over one replacement windows
- Shed roof over central entry
- Standing seam metal roof and exposed rafter tails and arches over stair entrances
A fire earlier this year has left the complex awaiting renewal, so extensive rehabilitation will be required.. As a contributing structure in the North Cherry Street National Register Historic District, it is eligible for the 20% Federal Rehabilitation tax credits for income producing properties.
Almost all of the other “Y –plan stair” apartment buildings on North Cherry Street have been rehabbed. Thanks to a coordinated and sustained effort by the City, Habitat for Humanity and private developers, the neighborhood itself has seen an infusion of rehabbed and new infill homes, new people and new ways to think about revitalizing neighborhoods. These efforts have been recognized both locally and nationally as a model for community revitalization
The apartment is only three miles from downtown Winston Salem, the skyline of which is readily visible from the porches of the apartments. It is strategically situated at the intersection of 14th and Cherry streets, and across the street is a recreational complex featuring tennis courts. Kimberly Park Elementary School is within easy walking distance . Wake Forest University, the Coliseum, Farmers Market and the Fairgrounds are all within close proximity. The neighborhood boasts great pedestrian walkways as well as public transportation.
Beautifully restored 19th century home located in the heart of historic Glencoe Mill Village steps from the Haw River, museum, and the 30 acre Great Bend Park. This home offers a master suite, three more additional bedrooms, three full baths, original heart pine wood floors, chef’s kitchen with stainless steel appliances, concrete countertops, and an open concept living area. A rare opportunity to experience living the historic lifestyle with modern day features and outdoor recreational amenities.
All homes in the Glencoe Mill Village are under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at email@example.com or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
The McCollum Farm is a remarkably intact early 19th century tobacco farm situated in the rolling foothills of Rockingham County between Madison and Wentworth. The property was part of the 18th century holdings of the Yours Family, early settlers on Jacob’s Creek, a tributary of the Dan River comprised of rich bottomland. One of the Yours daughters married James McCollum in 1807 and the land has remained in the family.
The original tall two-story log house is thought to have been built in the 1820s, but could be earlier according to some historians. It is constructed of hand hewn square-notched logs. A one and half story addition of similar construction was built in the 1840s next to the earliest section creating two rooms on the first floor separated by a center hall. A two-room rear ell was added to the back of the 1840s section around 1904 creating even more space. Additional exterior features include fieldstone chimneys with brick stacks, a later front porch, and a generous porch on the rear ell. The back porch behind the earliest section exhibits flush siding in an enclosed work space and remnant early clapboard siding that once protected the entire exterior.
The 1820s interior features an elegantly detailed Federal mantel, a primitive post and lintel mantel on the second floor, a winder staircase enclosed by a finely crafted board and batten door, and an interesting closet under the stairs with a board and batten door secured by an early intact wooden rim lock. Remnants of lime wash remain on the walls. There are two rooms on the second floor. Greek Revival-era details include hand-planed two-panel doors and simple post and lintel mantel in the parlor.
Early outbuildings, including a rare log slave house, a log smokehouse with dovecote and wooden salt trough, a granary, corn crib, curing barn, pack house, and a privy survive. The slave house and smokehouse are thought to be from the early 19th century. In May 2014 the McCollum Farm log slave house was included in The Slave Dwelling Project, an organization committed to identifying and assisting in the preservation of extant slave dwellings. http://slavedwellingproject.org/about-the-slave-dwelling-project/
The log house will require extensive rehabilitation in the 1820s section including foundation work and new flooring, ceiling repair, and the installation of mechanical systems including electrical, plumbing and HVAC. The 1840s side with rear ell is habitable, but will benefit from cosmetic updates and possibly some system upgrades. A fire in 2006, which started on the second floor of the 1840s side and spread to the attic, resulted in the replacement of the roof, and loss of much of the original clapboard siding, the flush gable ends and boxed cornice. The metal roof is new, but the house would benefit from restoration of some of these original elements including the boxed cornice and gables. The fire also damaged the original enclosed winder stair case in the 1840s section which was replaced by a standard straight staircase. The door connecting the two sections has been enclosed by drywall on one side, but can easily be re-opened as the two-panel Greek Revival door remains on the other.
The house and several of the outbuildings are available with ten acres of land. More property is available at an additional cost. The house is currently being rented with the lease ending in March 2015. The house was added to the National Register Study List.
The quiet rural nature and charming small towns belie the dynamic cultural, historic and recreational opportunities in beautiful Rockingham County. From rolling agricultural landscapes, quaint historic villages and museums to music festivals, shopping, and exciting water sports on any one of four rivers, the area has something to offer everyone. The McCollum Farm is located between the towns of Madison to the west (just off US-220) and the county seat of Wentworth to the east. Greensboro is just 30-minutes to the south.
Your chance to own a piece of history! This gracious Queen Ann Victorian will soon celebrate its 100 year birthday and offers the unparalleled craftsmanship and attention to detail of yesteryear. The 5 bedroom 3 bath floor plan includes elegant formals, 3 fireplaces, extensive millwork, pine and maple floors and incredible storage! The estate lot features a wrought iron fenced garden, studio, and 2-car carport..
Eye-catching wood, leaded and beveled glass front door opens to the spacious entrance hall with dentil crown molding, heavy door frames and wainscoting and pendant chandelier. To the right is a lovely parlor with dentil molding, wainscoting, plantation shutters, leaded transom windows and ornate crystal chandelier. The fireplace features marble hearth and surround and mirrored over mantel. Built-in bookshelves flank the fireplace while the access door opens to the library.
Simply elegant dining room is also accent with dentil molding, wainscoting, plantation shutters, leaded transom windows and crystal chandelier. The fireplace has tile hearth and surround framed by a columned wood mantel. Handsome library offers a third fireplace with decorative wood mantel, gorgeous judges paneling, chandelier and designer chandelier. Custom built in cabinets with glass front display case make a wonderful entertainment bar.
One-of-a-kind kitchen features tons unique knotty pine cabinets with storage for every imaginable kitchen need! Center work island has butcher block top and vegetable sink. Charming banquet with pendant light and display shelves is the perfect spot for casual meals. Tucked between the foyer hallway and kitchen is a custom designed kitchen library with built-in desk, bookshelves, overhead cabinets and pegged hardwoods. Walk-in pantry has tile flooring and custom wood storage shelves. Huge laundry room features a folding table and tons of storage cabinets.
The dining room and rear hallway open to an inviting den with dentil molding, lighted ceiling fan and double storage closet. There is also access to the paneled guest bedroom with lighted ceiling fan, breezeway access and a full bath.
Bedroom 2 overlooks the gardens and has a ceiling fan and walk-in closet with glass door. Charming 3rd bedroom has amazing built-in storage, ceiling fan, recessed lighting and pretty window seat. A tiled bath features a cabinet style vanity, tiled shower with glass enclosure and sunny plant window.
Inviting 4th bedroom overlooks the front and has crown molding, decorative chandelier and cedar closet. The 5th bedroom makes a great home office or hobby room with tons of built-in cabinets, book shelves, desk, window seat, ceiling fan and recessed lighting. The study is nestled in the turret and features recessed lighting, ceiling fan and windows overlooking the front. A third full bath has tile flooring, cabinet style vanity, dressing area and tub/shower.
A light filled studio is located off the rear screened in breezeway and offers slate flooring, A/C window unit, built-in cabinets and shelves and sink. Wrought iron fencing encloses the lush gardens accented with fountains while mature shade trees and landscaping afford wonderful privacy. A circular driveway on West street provides access to the 2-car carport and additional parking area. Next door is the charming 2 bedroom, 1 bath cottage.
Built in 1937, this 1-1/Story Neoclassical Cottage is located on a small, secluded lot in the Tarboro, NC Historic District. Tarboro is Located only 1-hour from Raleigh and 1/2 hour from Greenville, NC. Tarboro is well-suited to convenient living in a small, historic community with many cultural, historic and civic amenities.
The Moore House is considered to be a significant and contributing property to the historic district. The neighborhood is very quiet, and although the house has a Main Street address, it is not visible from Main Street.
The house has approximately 2,000 SF. When renovated in 2007, the interior was modified to “open up’ the house, improve interior circulation and make it more suited to modern living for either retirement or for a small family.
The first floor has an enclosed front porch, living room, with working fire place, new side porch, dining room, kitchen/utility closet, mechanical closet and master bedroom/bath suite with two large closets and French door access to the side porch. The bathroom has a large double jacuzzi, large walk-in shower, double vanity and enclosed toilet and has imitation-stone tile floors.
The second floor contains two large bedrooms with walk in closets. The larger of the two bedrooms also has a separate sink/vanity. Each bedroom has generous storage space under the front attic, on each side of the dormer windows, and in the rear attic. The bathroom has a porcelain tub, subway-style tile on floors and walls, vanity and toilet.
The detach storage building is used as a workshop.
The house was completely gutted and renovated in 2007 by the present owner, preservation Architect Richard Andrews, AIA. Exterior work included removal of aluminum siding, repair/repainting of wood clapboard trim and replacement of the roof shingles. Interior work included the replacement of insulation with 1” of closed cell polyurethane and 3-1/2” of fiberglass batt, new gypsum board, period doors, and refinishing of wooden floors. The kitchen has been completely remodeled with new cabinets, granite countertops, appliances and the addition of a large bay window for greater natural illumination. All plumbing, heating/cooling and electrical systems were replaced. The heating/cooling system is a high-efficiency dual-fuel heat pump with gas back up. The air filters are the electrostatic type which require little maintenance. Air handling units are located in closets for easy access and service. Utility bills average less than $200/month.
Find more information at www.tarbororealty.com
Built in 1903, the Jones Hailey House is located near downtown Lenoir. The story and a half farmhouse style dwelling sits on a large lot with a big front yard. A garage and possible garden space is located in the back. The interior includes 4 bedrooms, 2 baths, 2 fireplaces, kitchen and family/dining room, large living room and basement. The house has a front porch and screened back porch.
Lenoir is a lovely small town in Caldwell County not far from Blowing Rock and Boone. The Blue Ridge Parkway. the Pisgah National Forest and the Wilson Creek Wilderness area are nearby and offer many possibilities for lovers of the outdoors.
This unique property will require some rehabilitation and offers many possibilities for anyone interested in period architecture and preservation.
Find more information at: www.pennellproperties.com
Southern belle in need of rehab!
Built in 1918, this solid comfortable home in the historic district of The South’s Prettiest Town offers a two-block stroll to the waterfront and an easy walk to shops and the newly restored movie theater in town. The classic side hall layout features all original windows and moulding, including picture moulding in the front parlor. High ceilings and hardwood floors give a spacious feel, while two working fireplaces keep things cozy.
Upstairs, two bedrooms with large windows let in the light, with painted wide board floors, just begging to be refinished! There is small kitchenette upstairs, and a bathroom with bead board wainscoting and claw-foot tub.
Although currently functional and livable, the kitchen and baths will need to be renovated to suit your tastes, and the porch has seen so many rockers and porch swings that it is a bit too relaxed! This lovely home seeks someone who knows how to honor her past, while making a great investment in the future.
Separate natural gas heating and cooling units for the upstairs and downstairs are in perfect working condition. The large fenced back yard will be just right for your gardens, pets, and/or kids.
Built in 1856 in the Greek Revival style for Allmond Holmes, this house was remodeled in the Neo-Classical style by his son Dr. Frank Holmes. The imposing colossal portico and classical porch dominate the academically detailed exterior. The exceptional interior features paneled wainscot, an intricate staircase, and Greek Revival door and window surrounds. One front parlor mantel is marble, and the mantels in the other parlor and the four bedrooms are vernacular Greek Revival.
This property has been owned by only two families, the Holmes family from 1856 until 1936 and the Joseph Reynolds family since 1936. The main house sits on a one acre lot in the middle of a residential block on Main Street in Clinton, North Carolina. Other buildings on the property include the original smokehouse, a brick guest house (currently rented), and a carriage house that was converted into a three bedroom house in the early 1950’s.
The main house has approximately 3,466 square feet of heated living space, a wrap porch, an upstairs porch, and a small porch off the downstairs bedroom. Downstairs are two front parlors, a wide entrance hall, dining room, butler’s pantry kitchen, sun room, and a bedroom and bath. Upstairs are three bedrooms, one bath, and a storage room that could become another bath. The original kitchen was converted to an attached garage but could be turned into a spacious kitchen.
The Woodlawn Mill is a historic early 1900s North Carolinian former Textile Mill located in Mount Holly. This spacious building with many instances of architectural detail is ready for a new chapter. The Mill has over one hundred thousand square feet of covered space to be utilized. Woodlawn is set on almost seven acres of land and is close to major north/south corridors Highway I-85 and Highway 16. The Mill’s central architectural feature is an attractive brick tower which is an easily recognizable feature adding much character to the property. This Mill has the unique distinction of being the first mill in the county to be served with electricity.
Set in a quiet mostly residential area, Woodlawn is off the beaten path, however it has a dominant street presence which adds to its many attractive qualities. The Building also abuts Dutchman’s Creek giving the property added unique landscaping opportunities. Mount Holly recently invested in a sidewalk and lighting program in order to encourage business to the area. With the Mill’s location in Mount Holly’s growth corridor, this project is set to be a great business or residential opportunity.
There are three buildings which contribute to the significance of the Woodlawn Manufacturing Building. These buildings are the Mill Building (1907) the Transformer House (1907) and the Cotton Warehouse (1950). Some ground work has been completed in the process of getting the Mill to be listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Mount Holly is a small suburban town just outside of Charlotte with a population of about thirteen thousand, as of the 2010 Census. As well as being in Mount Holly’s growth corridor, Woodlawn Manufacturing Company is within close proximity to the downtown district and the National Whitewater center. The National Whitewater center is an outdoor activity facility with a wide range of sports to choose from including kayaking and rock climbing for the whole family.
Taroano is a handsome Greek Revival Home c. 1860. The home has four bedrooms, two baths, a library, living room, parlor, family room and a large central hall. One of the bedrooms has grain painted woodwork. Beautiful pine floors throughout the home. Comfort with approx. 25 acres and several superb out buildings. Original detached kitchen with two well preserved interesting cook rooms–now with an attached workshop. One room guest house from same era shows off a beautiful stone fireplace. Large red tobacco pack-house surrounded by associated tobacco barns. A Remarkable Property. Close to Kerr Lake. Additional photos can be seen at www.PaulSetliff.com; Multiple Listing #1968679.
One of Hillsborough’s most architecturally and historically distinctive homes, Heartsease is nestled on a very private acre laid out by surveyor William Churton in 1754. The oldest portion is a “mansion house”, the 20’x16’ log structure which each purchaser of a lot was required to build. Added to over the years, fine interior woodwork now conceals the original structure. Today, Heartsease is a 2800+ square foot rambling dormered residence in the Federal style ~ a rare integration of modern amenities including a charming gourmet kitchen, original heartpine floors & mortise & tenon doors, tall ceilings, 4 working fireplaces, even a jetted soaking tub in the marvelous master bedroom suite. Restored & renovated in 1988 by skilled craftsmen, Heartsease stands the test of time structurally & aesthetically. All materials, systems & structural elements are of the highest quality. New wiring & plumbing were installed & thick interior/exterior insulation was added along with 2 zones of hydro heat & air conditioning.
Heartsease early history reports that Sterling Harris held the first deed to the property. It was the home of Colonial Governor Thomas Burke (NC’s first governor); his daughter, Miss Mary W. (Polly) Burke, purchased the home & lot in 1810 and lived here until 1836. In 1837, the home was sold to the daughters of Connecticut newspaper publisher Dennis Heartt, who moved to Hillsborough, named the property Heartsease and became the influential editor of the Hillsborough Recorder which published from 1820-1869. Sometime between 1837 & 1840, Heartt added the two-story west wing and is said to have housed his apprentices in the attic rooms above the main house & east wing; one of these apprentices was William Holden, later reconstruction Governor of North Carolina. The last member of the Heartt family to live here was Miss Rebecca Wall who willed the property to her nephews & niece-Victor, Alfred & Elizabeth Bryant. Mrs. Frances Phillips purchased the property from these heirs and became the first non-family member to live in the house in 150 years.
Since purchasing in 2004, the current owner, Ms. Ruthie Ervin, has continued the tradition of fine heritage while preserving Heartsease’s remarkable legacy as a regal gem in North Carolina’s crown of elegant, rare and historic properties.
Of special note are Heartease’s beautiful and private grounds tucked away behind the stately home. “Secret” garden rooms and lovely vistas designed by Raleigh landscape architect John Harris, give the feel of large estate-living while historic downtown Hillsborough is only a quick 2-block walk away. Harris terraced the site for permanent drainage and created a series of individual garden rooms enclosed by custom crafted picket fencing and romantic gates, lush boxwood borders and hedges of evergreens. An old and very rare allee of towering boxwoods was recovered, as were the early stones of the path beneath the arched limbs. The allee is thriving as a centerpiece of the inspired landscape.
Giant specimen pecan and oak trees, characteristic of early Hillsborough gardens, flourish in this park-like setting. A pair of native dogwood trees bloom like two famous fairies every spring. A separate well for irrigation is a friend to the lucky flora that resides at Heartsease.
“Your one-acre yard is an arboretum with specimen trees that must be documented” Bartlett Tree Experts
The Oliver House is one of only 4 raised cottages in Caswell County built in 1845. It is located in the quaint town of Milton NC and in 2005 was fully restored according to the Dept of Interior and PNC protected covenants. Built for a local merchant during the time when “Cotton was king”, the Oliver House is location just a block from the Thomas Day House/Union Tavern and just 2 miles from VIR(Virginia International Raceway). Since it’s restoration, the 4 room house has been used as a guest cottage and/or private residence. The Oliver House has a large screen porch overlooking County line Creek and has all the amenities of a modern home with a lot large enough to build a sizable workshop or garage.
The historic Oliver House is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at firstname.lastname@example.org or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
This 2 story Dutch Colonial Style wooden house was built in 1918 by Otis Mendenhall, a prominent High Point Quaker and NC State Senator in 1920. The house is in excellent condition and ready to move into. The houses’ residential/commercial zoning offer multiple uses as a residence, live/work space or office. Located only 2 blocks from UNC-CH High Point Regional Hospital and three blocks from the furniture market district, the Otis Mendenhall House offers urban living at its best and most affordable.
Gatewood Avenue has 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 baths (with the potential to easily convert the 1/2 bath on the ML to a full bath), central A/C, gas forced air heat and a relatively new gas hot water heater, with the electrical panel located in a full working basement. The house has a wide front porch and a new deck with a fenced backyard. The wooden exterior is freshly covered with a high quality aluminum siding except for the front porch and entry which remain original. This portion is freshly painted with 3 coats of Benjamin Moore paint of historic colors — blue & white. The large original windows on the first and second floors have storm windows for better efficiency.
The interior has spacious rooms, hardwood floors throughout and many new updates — including new interior paint. The plaster walls are in superb condition. The first floor has 10′ ceilings and a large eat in country kitchen with pantry, large living room, a dining room, pine paneled den and a half bath. On the second floor are three spacious bedrooms with enormous closets, full bath, linen closet with built-in shelves and drawers. New carpet covers the original oak hardwood floors on the 2nd floor. Ceilings on the second floor are 8′. The house has new plumbing and bathroom fixtures including new sinks, fixtures and counter tops.
This is a wonderfully built historic home at an affordable price for its size and quality. The calm, feel good interior must be experienced to appreciate. This house is a must see! We look forward to hearing from you!!
The Allsbrook-Vanlandingham house located in the heart of Tarboro’s 45-block historic district which features homes dating from the late 18th century through the early 20th century was built around 1908 for Richard Allsbrook, a single man and attorney. This beautiful Victorian frame house, with a wrap-around Neoclassical porch accentuated by ionic columns, is located less than a block from the Town Common. Tarboro was established in 1760 and the colonial Town Common is still the centerpiece of this beautiful, southern historic town.
Victorian detailing, which features a fish scale detail, can be found in the gable front of this beautiful home. As you open the front door, a center hall greets you with an elegant dog leg stair featuring reeded detailing and a turned balustraude rising at the far end of the hall. To the left of the center hall is a gracious parlor with high ceilings and large picturesque windows. The parlor features a majolica tiled neoclassical fireplace, with a beautiful laurel wreath motif centered in the under mantel, ionic columns and traditional egg and dart motif moulding. The companion fireplace in the dining room is accentuated with a tortoiseshell majolica tile. The dining room also has lovely beadboard wainscoting. To the right of the center hall, a second parlor features a double-sided firebox, shared with the master bedroom. The attached master bath has an original clawfoot tub. Upstairs, each bedroom features a fireplace. A second story balcony overlooks Tarboro’s picturesque tree-lined Main Street. Throughout the property, the original windows let in lots of light and glass doorknobs grace each room.
Richard Allsbrook married in 1911 and he and his wife Sallie had four children before his death in 1925 at the age of 50. Mr. Allsbrook was a prominent citizen in Tarboro around the turn of the century and served as a solicitor for the Second Judicial District, Chairman of the Board of Education, and Mayor of Tarboro. His daughter, Janie Allsbrook, would follow in her father’s footsteps, becoming an educator in town. The local history room of the Edgecombe County library, located a block from the home, is named for her.
Downtown, within walking distance, from this beautiful home is a coffee shop and “On the Square, a top-rated 100 restaurant in the country, by “Open Table”. During the holiday season, as the town’s Christmas parade passes by, it may be watched on the large wrap-around porch. Tarboro has a great cultural community, with local community theater group, the Tar River Players, providing opportunities for a night out at the theater several times during a year. Edgecombe Community College hosts musical performances throughout the year, and the North Carolina Symphony does a concert on the Town Common each year. The historic Blount Bridgers House, located just a few blocks away, is home to the Hobson-Pittman Gallery and each fall holds a wonderful Art Bazaar.
The Allsbrook-Vanlandingham House is within the Tarboro National Register Historic District and the Tarboro Historic District zoning area where any significant exterior alterations will require review and approval by the local Historic District Commission.
Please visit our website at www.tarbororealty.com for additional information and pictures regarding this property.
Please click on the photos below to see a full view of the picture.
The Lloyd House is one of only a very few 18th century houses that remain in Tarboro. This very historic and architecturally significant structure was built around 1796 or slightly earlier by Joseph Ross. The house was soon deeded to Mary Lloyd, who used it as a home and boarding house to support herself and her young child. After marrying and divorcing Edmund Gregory in the early 1800’s, Mary Lloyd Gregory embarked upon an ambitious career that led her to founding a very successful hotel and tavern on Main Street, owning numerous Town properties, warehouses, a grist mill, nearby farms, and becoming a charter member of Calvary Episcopal Church. By the 1850’s, she was the wealthiest woman in Tarboro.
Her original late Georgian, early Federal house is an excellent example of an eastern North Carolina “Coastal Cottage”, with its dormer windows, end chimneys and Caribbean roof form. The heavily molded front cornice contains small, and delicately-made slanted and square dentil work. The original dormers have flush sheathing on each side, another unique feature, with newer beaded siding typical of this period covering the house itself. The porch was reconstructed when the house was moved from its original location at 211 E. Church Street near downtown, but is like many of the small stoop porches seen on other Federal houses in this area.
The interior of the house contains most of its original woodwork. Both downstairs and upstairs are beautiful original heart pine floors. The entrance hall has a simple staircase and pine newel post, and nice paneled wainscoting, containing a heavily molded top chair rail. The front parlor has the finest woodwork in the house with a handsome, early Federal mantel with reeded pilasters and a heavily molded top shelf. The wainscoting in this room is the most refined in the house and features heavily molded baseboards and delicate reeding under the chair rail.
Similar original detailing extends into the dining room just behind the stair hall, with another fine reeded Federal mantel and the use of exceptionally wide and unusual chair rails. With the removal of a wall, the dining room and kitchen are now one large open room, but would have likely been original separate shed rooms on the rear of the older house. A more modern extension of the sloped roof to the rear has allowed for a nice, larger master bedroom and bath on the first floor behind the dining room and kitchen.
Upstairs contains newer walls which have created two nice-sized bedrooms and bath, with the east bedroom also having a very special, unusually small Federal mantel and fireplace for providing heat in the original upstairs sleeping area. Beautiful heart pine floors run throughout the upstairs and into the newer upstairs bathroom, which was added unobtrusively within a shed dormer on the rear of the house. The bathroom also has a great old claw-footed bath tub and pedestal sink.
The Lloyd House is within the Tarboro National Register Historic District and the Tarboro Historic District zoning area where any significant exterior alterations will require review and approval by the local Historic District Commission.
Please visit our website at www.tarbororealty.com for additional information and pictures regarding this property.
Please click on the photos below to see a full view of the picture.
This charming historic 19th Century farm house has original architectural features such as the front door with glazed glass inserts, mantels, moldings, Chevron bead board, wood sheathing & wood flooring. The pressed tin roof, fishscale wooden shakes in gables and wrap-around porch are all lovely characteristics of the home. A screened porch located off the back side of home with an additional 7.9×12.5 covered porch is a great area to retreat to. Don’t miss the opportunity to own a piece of history!
For additional information and photos, please visit www.caryhomesnc.com.
Own a piece of Ocracoke history!!! Located on Lighthouse Road, just a stone’s throw from the Ocracoke Lighthouse. Currently being used as 2 retail spaces, a third space houses a printing business and office. This store is one of Ocracoke’s finest historic buildings. Albert Styron’s Store is on the National Register of Historic Places. The store opened in its present location in 1920, making it one of the oldest establishments on Ocracoke. Owner Albert Styron tore down his families store on Hog Island (near Cedar Island) and loaded the cypress walls into his boat. He carted Styron’s Store to Ocracoke and rebuilt the business. Here’s your chance to own a business on Ocracoke with history galore!!!
Visit www.ocracokeislandrealty.com for more information.
A Wayne Rigsbee restoration in the historic district of Louisburg. Ready to move in now. 2850 sq ft with all hardwoods, 3br, could be 4 br. 6 fireplaces, new wiring, plumbing, roof, detached garage, playhouse,custom millwork, new 16 X 24 deck, concrete drive, landscaped. For additional info and to arrange a showing, please contact Tommy Twitty CCIM at Barrett Realty.
The historic Collie-Best-Taylor House is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at email@example.com or 919-832-3652 x 221 to request a copy of these covenants.
Flyway Farms provides a rare glimpse of history and waterfowl heritage in a beautiful setting on Knotts Island in Currituck County. It is the last of the historically private owned hunting lodges in the Currituck Sound and Back Bay region (Gun Clubs & Decoys of Back Bay & Currituck Sound by Archie Johnson & Bud Coppedge, 1991). The property has wonderful sunset views over Currituck Sound.
The rustic waterfront lodge has 3 bedrooms, bunkhouse, 4.5 bathrooms, a modern kitchen, and a gun room. There is also a 3-bedroom, 2 bath wing with living room that served as the caretaker’s quarters. The wood-beamed living room has solid oak paneling, 3 inch thick wooden exterior doors, leaded glass windows, built-in bookcases, a window seat and a large brick fireplace. The dining room has oak paneling, a built-in sideboard, and brick floor. The 3 bedrooms are upstairs with views of Currituck Sound. All 3 have private tiled bathrooms. The lodge has original artwork created by the foremost waterfowl artists of the period. Two desks and two copy tables came from the offices of the New York Herald-Tribune. Original architectural plans of the house are available.
Additionally the estate property includes a striking U-shaped structure known as the “farm building” that housed servants and vehicles as well as farm animals and machinery (representing an additional 4,570 square feet). The first floor has a five-bay garage, workshops, granary and bird rooms. The second floor has 11 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a kitchen, and living spaces. Although it is wood-clad, the main structure is built of brick.
New York Tribune and New York Herald Tribune publishers Ogden Mills and Helen Rogers Reid built the original lodge and barn for retreats and waterfowl hunting in 1920. Fire destroyed the original lodge in 1958. The Reids’ son, Ogden Rogers Reid and his wife Mary Louise Reid rebuilt an exact replica of the lodge in 1959-60. The original “farm building” remains.
The Reids hosted Herbert Hoover, Winston Churchill, Dwight Eisenhower and other political figures at Flyway. Ogden Reid served as US Ambassador to Israel from 1959-61 and as a US Congressman from New York from 1963-1973.
The Reids were friends of publisher and philanthropist Joseph P. Knapp. Knapp owned the 7000 acre Mackay Island & Knapp Hunting Lodge next to Flyway. Reid and Knapp discussed waterfowl conservation by the fireplace in the living room at Flyway. Knapp, Robert Winthrop and E. H. Low went on to found what became Ducks Unlimited in 1937.
Many improvements have been made to the lodge, including new spruce clapboard, new windows, new boiler, new water heater, and a lightning suppression system. The barn has a new water heater and roof.
The lodge is at the end of a ¼ mile mature oak lined drive. The grounds include a boat basin with pier and a tennis court. Mature plantings of sequoias, azaleas, camellias, crepe myrtles and other flowering shrubs surround the house. Ornamental and fruit trees dot the property.
The lodge and farm structure are located outside of the 100-year floodplain. Elevation certificates have been prepared. The property is individually listed on the National Register and a preservation easement is pending to protect the property in perpetuity. The property includes waterfowl hunting point blinds on Faraby Island in Currituck Sound and easy access to other public and private blinds in Currituck Sound and Back Bay. It is ½ mile south of the North Carolina-Virginia line. It’s close to both the North Carolina Outer Banks and to Virginia Beach.
The Conservation Fund (www.conservationfund.org) acquired the 425 acre Flyway Farm property in 2013. Most of the property will be transferred to the US Fish and Wildlife Service to add to 8320 acre Mackay Island National Wildlife Refuge for wildlife conservation.
The excellent photos you see above come from a variety of sources: Mossy Oak Properties/NC Land and Farms, The NC Department of Cultural Resources, and MdM Historical Consultants.
Tranquility and history combined in the majestic mountains of Western NC!
Enjoy the panoramic views of the mountains from the laid back front porch of this historic log house that local tradition holds is associated with Sarah Boone, sister to famed Daniel Boone. Officials with the Old Fields Chapter of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution believe this is one of Ashe County’s oldest homes, and it is in close proximity to the quaint village of Todd, a “Hand Made in America” community. www.handmadeinamerica.org
This two story house has approximately 1300sf, and features two bedrooms and one and a half bath, two large stone fireplaces, spacious open living room combined with dining and kitchen area. Either the entire house of the original log portion of the house would make an excellent space for guest rentals, or as a bed & breakfast. The house has been seasonally rented periodically for the past 15 years.
The original log portion appears to have been a one-story single pen house with a massive fieldstone chimney on its east end. The upper half story of this section is sheathed in modern board and batten siding, as is the one story wing on the west end of the house. The wing is probably a mid to late twentieth century addition and has a large attractive river rock façade chimney. Windows are two-over-two horizontal light and four-over-two sash. Original ground floor flooring in log portion will need some significant structural reinforcement. The house is wired for 110. For an income producing purpose such as a Bed and Breakfast, the house could be eligible for the Federal 10% credits available for buildings built before 1936. The house has a relatively new well and the septic tank is in excellent working order.
The Sarah Boone-Wilcox Cabin has an interesting history. Originally, it is believed that there was a tract of land about 112 acres consisting of the current log house located on NC 194 at Laurel Knob Gap. This property was received in a grant from the State of North Carolina in 1798. This original grant was made to Samuel Wilcoxson (later shortened to Wilcox), who was the son of John Wilcoxson and Sarah Boone Wilcoxson. Sarah Boone was the sister of Daniel Boone who is reported to have frequented the cabin on many of his sojourns. Roe Wilcox and his wife Ida Vannoy, who once lived there, are buried in the old Wilcox Cemetery, which is also on a knoll directly behind the house (but not on the property for sale).
The home also features a rustic but modern 3 car detached garage with concrete floor perfect for storage and/or repair shop and wired for 220; cobblestone driveway and vintage split rail fence. There are several other ancillary and useful outbuildings including an outhouse. An attractive gold leaf ribbon sign welcomes one to the entrance of the farm. An expansive back yard lends itself to cultivation of a garden and fruit trees, and there is a small, picturesque stream on the edge of the property.
Nearby, you’ll find the Old Todd General Store, New River, Ashe County Frescoes, Blue Ridge Parkway and Jefferson State Park. Nature areas nearby abound with deer, wild turkey and bear. A short drive from downtown Boone, Jefferson or West Jefferson and is a short distance to either the Virginia or Tennessee lines. Click here to visit the town of Todd’s website, or here to learn more about the Elk Knob State Park, which is only 12.5 miles away and has a picnic area, trails (including a summit trail), and back country camping areas.
Unique 3-story inn in picturesque Mayodan! Situated in a prime downtown location near the scenic Mayo River, the Mayodan Hotel has played a prominent role in town with its origins as a modest two-story home to the Lewis family and gradually evolving into its current 26 rooms. Archival photographs, extensive history, floor plans, and a hotel feasibility study are available to assist in rehabilitation project.
Since its origins as a modest two-story house, the Mayodan Hotel has been central to the history of this picturesque River town. The house and over 300 acres was sold in 1891 by the Lewis family to the Piedmont Land and Manufacturing Company which would develop the area into a town to support its Mayo Mill operation. During this period, the property would serve as the first post office, a boarding house, and site of services for the Moravian Church until its construction. By 1912, the property was known as the “Mayodan Hotel” and had greatly expanded to include several more guest rooms, dining services, and a double front porch. The third floor was added by 1920. Owned by Washington Mills for many years, the property was sold to the Holt family in 1955 who continued to rent out rooms until the 1990s.
For many years the Mayodan Hotel has served as a hub of community activity and the site to many important local functions and visits by notable North Carolinians. Its historical use as a hotel can once again become a reality as new industry and recreational tourism in the area grows and demand for hotel rooms increases. The potential exists to transform this 3-story Victorian-era inn into a boutique hotel, bed and breakfast inn, and/or special events/catering facility. Built in several stages, the building has over 6,000 square feet and 26 rooms and 4 bathrooms. The main section has three stories with two-story wings. The building is in good structural condition and would benefit from an updated heating and air conditioning system, removal of asbestos shingles and repair of clapboard siding underneath, restoration of the 3-story porch, and re-working some of the existing rooms to accommodate additional bathrooms for overnight lodging purposes. Archival photos and floor plans are available to assist with the development of rehabilitation plans along with a hotel feasibility study demonstrating a need for an increase in local overnight lodging facilities and special events venues.
The Mayodan Hotel is within a proposed National Register Historic District on the Study List.
The Old Sunbury High School Gymnasium building is in overall very good condition. A small portion of the building is currently rented and used as a retail bakery. There is a large storage area w/garage door & other rooms used as storage. Room for an office and the original Boys & Girls locker rooms remain. New HVAC installed. Unlimited potential for this unique building. Conveniently located close to Elizabeth City NC, Suffolk and Franklin VA.
Additional details at: http://www.williamewood.com/lindalewis
The Sunbury High School Gymnasium is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at firstname.lastname@example.org or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
This late Federal / early Greek Revival brick cottage located within the Yanceyville, NC National Register Historic District has been updated for modern living including central heat /air and new plumbing and electrical. Some renovation work is still needed. Many original features of the home remain. Two new “period sensitive” outbuildings offer additional storage and a small fenced garden plot is located at the rear of the lot.
The historic Sallie Martin House is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at email@example.com or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
This elegant Colonial Revival has many desirable historical features like pocket doors, custom-made mantels and more, and now it needs to be restored to its former beautiful state. The Efird-Skidmore House is on a large lot walkable to charming downtown Norwood and close to Lake Tillery.
The town of Norwood is known as the ”Gateway to the Tillery.” The house is within a short walk to downtown Norwood and a quick drive to Norwood Beach on Lake Tillery (part of the Pee Dee River). Lake Tillery and the Rocky River both provide many opportunities for fishing and boating. The Darrell Almond Community Park and Norwood Memorial Park are nearby municipally owned parks. Other nearby popular outdoor sites are: Fork Farm and Stable, the Norwood Museum, Morrow Mountain State Park (20 minutes away) offering swimming, fishing, boating, hiking and camping, and the Uwharrie National Forest.
In addition, Norwood boasts a central location just 20 minutes to nearby Albemarle, Stanly County’s seat; 13 minutes to historic Ansonville and its museums (Sonny Beacham Car Museum, Shady Oaks Plantation, and others at Discover Anson); 30 minutes to Wadesboro the county seat of Anson County; one hour to Monroe and one and a half hours to Charlotte.
Architectural & Historical Information
Described as “one of Stanly County’s most elegant early 20th century Colonial Revival-style houses,” the Efird-Skidmore House was designed and built by Locke A. Moody ca. 1919 for prominent Norwood textile, resort and lumber magnate, Titus Efird. Moody is also noted for his designs of both the Albemarle Opera House and the Stanly County Courthouse.
While arguably the most ornate house in Norwood, the exterior and interior of this brick and masonry house has suffered extensive deterioration after an attempt at restoring the house was stalled several years ago. Yet it still commands attention with its 2 story low hipped slate roof and central hipped roof dormer, expansive wrap-around porch, side porte cochere, dentil molding, fluted Tuscan columns with Ionic capitals, nine-over-one sash windows, and magnificent front entrance with exquisite transom and sidelights of leaded and beveled glass.
The house requires an extensive rehabilitation including new wiring, plumbing, HVAC, insulation, and wood and plaster wall reconstruction. In some cases the hardwood flooring will need to be re-laid. The house is on the Study List for the National Register of Historic Places. The rich and bold Classical interior still features high ceilings, hardwood floors, many tongue-and-groove walls (from the Efird family’s lumber company), a grand closed-string staircase with ornate newel posts, original mantels custom-made for the house by the Albemarle Mantel Company, interior columns, sliding pocket doors, built-in glass panel cabinets, and transom windows above the upstairs bedroom doors.
The prominent oversized lot is part of the original Norwood heights subdivision laid out in 1911 by J.R. Edmund. With Norwood’s central location in the heart of an outdoor paradise, the property would make an outstanding residence or bed and breakfast.
Beautifully restored home on 10 acres. Original part built in 1785. Restored in 1983 with master bedroom and bath addition in 2004. Additional 17 acres can be purchased for $1,800 per acre. Home also features 3 additional bedrooms with full baths, living room with fireplace, office with fireplace, dining room with fireplace and 3 porches. The family room opens to the kitchen. Included is a 685 square foot detached studio/guest house with full bath, kitchenette, large storage closet and an oversized great room. The home is individually listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The historic Old Town Plantation is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at firstname.lastname@example.org or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
Be part of the renaissance of the Loray Mill Village! With the redevelopment of the Loray Mill, these mill houses are a prime opportunity for first-time home buyers or those looking to down-size.
This modest 1900’s bungalow style home has 3 bedrooms and 1 bath on a corner lot with plenty of room for those just starting out or empty-nesters who want to live smaller but near modern conveniences. The property requires a complete rehabilitation including carpentry and cosmetic updates, new electrical, HVAC, and plumbing along with updates to the kitchen and bath.
This mill house is a contributing structure in the Loray Mill Village National Register Historic District. The home is located 2 blocks from Garrison and Franklin Boulevards in Gastonia and within walking distance to the new park/playground constructed by the Gastonia Optimist Club. It is convenient to shopping, restaurants, I-85 and Charlotte. The Loray Mill redevelopment project (only two blocks away) will feature both residential and commercial opportunities. The Loray Mill has 100,000 square feet of commercial retail space with a targeted tenant mix consisting of a brewery, café, restaurants, fitness and spa, dry cleaners, neighborhood market and other complimentary services. In keeping with our neighborhood revitalization goals, property restrictions will include a requirement for owner occupancy.
Oakland Plantation has a long history, spanning many generations. It was the seat of the Holeman family for seven consecutive generations. As much as this is the story of a house, it is also the story of the people who lived in it and the lives they lived within and beyond its walls.
Oakland is located in quiet Timberlake but easily accessible to the nearby towns of Roxboro (9 miles north), Hillsborough (13 miles southwest), and Durham (13 miles south). Roxboro even has its own airport, Person County Airport, less than five miles from Oakland. Durham is the home of Duke University, one of the top schools in the nation, also noted for its medical center and its renowned Blue Devils basketball team. Raleigh, the state capital located 35 miles from Oakland, is the home of the NC State University Wolfpack. RDU International Airport and the Research Triangle Park are located between Raleigh and Durham. Chapel Hill, located 30 miles from Oakland, is home to the University of North Carolina and the famed Tar Heels. Being 3.5 miles from U.S. Highway 501 and 17 miles north of I-85, you can enjoy the tranquility of the country with all the perks of these local areas.
The Many Incarnations of Oakland
The Holeman family began building the current home on the property in 1784. It was completed in 1790, remodeled in 1856 and 1916. At that time, electricity and gas were run from Durham, making Oakland the first house in Person County to include the latest modern amenities. In 1995/1996, the house was meticulously restored to its original 1790 form.
Architectural Details and Historical Significance
Oakland is a “Federal” house: two story, timber frame, three bay, end gable, “T” with stuccoed stone chimneys on the exterior ends. The house was the third to be built on the property. The first was believed to be a log cabin structure. The second, built in 1730, was a miniature of the house that now stands. The second house was torn down in 1969. Some of the salvaged artifacts from the second house were incorporated into the restoration of the current home.
The land on which Oakland sits was obtained by the Holeman family from a 1669 land grant from King Charles. The family reportedly received 10,000 acres of land from that grant. Over the years, portions of that acreage were sold by various generations of the Holeman family. The remaining land, along with the house, was reported to have been one of the longest owned pieces of property by one family in the state of North Carolina before being sold in 2009.
The Plantation Years
The plantation, from its inception, was a “working” plantation. In modern terminology, it would be called self-sustaining. It featured normal dependancies including barns, stables, wheat bins, corn cribs, tobacco barns, holding barns, tool barns, ice houses and ice pits, slave cabins (later tenant houses), well houses, and weaving rooms. Also remarkable is the fact that the plantation featured a grist mill, timber mill, and rock quarry.
The plantation was blessed in its abundance of water supplies, making it the perfect place to raise horses and cows as well as pigs, sheep, goats, and numerous types of fowl. The planters raised generous crops of corn, wheat and tobacco, experimented in cotton and provided large vegetable and herb gardens for those who lived on the plantation. In essence, Oakland was a community unto itself, providing all of the basic needs for its people. Some of the original dependancies are intact and still standing.
Oakland sat vacant for about 20 years before Leigh Holeman and her husband, Tommy Gunn, undertook a total restoration of the home with the help of Todd Dickinson Restorations, whose other noted project included Ayr Mount in Hillsborough, NC. In the section on Room by Room Details, you can learn more about each of the rooms in the home, including many of the details that were lovingly maintained or brought back to life during the restoration.
The home had fallen into complete disrepair during the years it was vacant. Holes in the walls and floors made it unsafe but Leigh, Tommy, and Todd brought the home back to its original glory. Plumbing and wiring were replaced. Insulation and vapor barriers were added to walls and cellar. They took off additions and a front porch that were not true to the original Federal style. When the porch was removed, a ghost outline above the front door for an original portico matched the exact dimensions of the portico at Historic Stagville, the Georgian style home of the Bennehan family of Durham, NC which was believed to have been built in 1787.
The upper and lower porches, along with kitchen and library, were discretely added during the restoration while keeping the front view of the home in its original Federal style.
Room by Room Details
Below you can learn more about each of the rooms in the home, including many of the details of the restoration.
Fireplaces: The home boasts 6 of these, all original to the home. The Living Room, Dining Room, and Master Bedroom fireplaces have been parged (plastered) which denoted the wealth of the family. The fireplace in the upstairs sitting room has a stone hearth, with several stones brought from the second house on the property. The fireplace in the downstairs bedroom was left with its original stone front. The fireplace in the cellar was left in its original condition. This fireplace was used for cooking in the winter so warmth would go upstairs. The kitchen out back was used in warm weather.
Chimneys: The original chimney on the back of the house is now a focal point inside the kitchen, which was added during the restoration. The exterior of both of the side-flanking chimneys were reparged (replastered). It took four weeks per chimney!
Floors: The floors in the house are heart pine. They are all at least 100 years old (original under these) except the kitchen and library. All baseboards are black, as was the custom of the time. This showed less dirt when floors were mopped.
Ceilings: 10 foot ceilings downstairs. 9 foot ceilings upstairs.
Windows: The house boasts original handmade windows. After the restoration, custom storm windows were added. Windows feature custom window treatments, with all rods made from black walnut wood from the property.
Paint Colors: Paint testing was done to determine original colors of each room. Layers of paint and wallpaper were meticulously removed. Squares remain in many rooms so that testing can be done again.
Dining Room: This room has a masonry fireplace which was reparged, or stuccoed, during restoration. On each side of the fireplace are beautiful glass doors. This room also has a large, brass chandelier. The plank walls, 16-18 inches wide throughout the room, are original to the house.
Living Room: This room was used to entertain many of the guests who visited the Holeman family. Large parties were the norm of the day, with the dance floor being constructed on the front lawn. This room has one of the 6 masonry fireplaces in the home, all with custom mantles.
Downstairs Bedroom: This room could be used as a downstairs master because it has a full adjoining bathroom. It also has a closet tucked under the front stairs, which was a luxury for the day. The closet contains a hidden compartment. The interior of the closet shows the original construction details of the house, making it, as restoration expert Todd Dickinson called it, a “mini museum.” According to a member of the Holeman family, Teddy Roosevelt spent the night in this room while passing through town. Other noted visitors were said to have included George Vanderbilt, Andrew Jackson, and James Monroe.
Kitchen: During the 1995/1996 restoration, a new kitchen was added. Original flooring from the attic was used to make the custom cabinets. A built-in island provides an eating area, as well as additional storage. The bay window around the sink allows a breathtaking view of the property. Heart pine floors for this addition were salvaged from a home being torn down in Durham, in order to match the other floors already in place throughout the house. The room also has a ceiling fan and recessed lighting, with shelving for display items above the windows. The kitchen features a stone chimney that once served the fireplaces in the cellar, dining room, and upstairs bedroom. This is no longer a working chimney, but provides a focal point for the kitchen.
Front Staircase: This leads up to the sitting room, master bedroom suite, and library. The newel post is thought to be original to the house. At one point, a doorway was located at the bottom of the stairs to keep heat from rising. During the restoration, the door and half wall were removed to add to the grandeur of the living room.
Back Staircase: This leads from the back door up to the sitting room. It also has a hidden compartment under the stairs. The interior wall is made of steel to accommodate a chair lift if ever needed.
Upstairs Bedroom: This enormous bedroom suite comes complete with fireplace and large bathroom and custom closet! Once again, notice the heart pine floors and beautiful attention to painting and woodwork, as seen throughout the house. The bathroom has a double vanity, with extensive counter space. Two windows add light and charm to the space. Custom cabinets, again made from original wood floors from the attic, provide ample storage. The room also has a tub/shower combination and a separate water closet. The master closet is a dream! Custom shelves and rods provide enough space for even a pack rat. The closet contains a safe and a locking gun cabinet, both built into the wall.
Upstairs Sitting Room and Cedar Closet: This room has a large cedar-lined closet, with cedar from the property custom made into plywood in Beaufort, NC. Stairs leading to the attic are also located in this room. An exposed beam in the corner of these stairs actually runs from the cellar all the way up to the attic.
Library: This area features custom bookcases, computer stations, television cabinet and recessed lights. A door allows access to the upper level porch with beautiful view of property, including large trees and pond. The perfect place to relax and read a good book!
Upstairs Porch: The large porch off the library is the ideal spot to unwind at the end of a long day. Look out over the large lawn, which boasts massive oak, black walnut, pecan, cedar, and magnolia trees.
Attic: This is a walk-up attic with fold-open doors that operate with counterweights. Expansive floored area. It features mortise and tenon joints, wooden pegs, and wooden nails (trenails) which show the age of the house.
Driveway: The winding gravel drive takes you right past the beautiful magnolia. Large parking pad easily accommodates guests. There is a driveway sensor that plays the Westminster chimes. When this sensor was installed, others were also placed on the front and back porch steps to let you know when company has arrived!
Trees: Black walnut, Oak, Cedar, Magnolia, Pecan. The area behind the pond is more fully wooded, with at least 10-15 acres of marketable timber. Additionally, this property receives a forestry tax credit because of the number of acres of woods it maintains.
Dog Lot: The large, fenced dog lot has running water and even electricity!
Pond: This is a stocked pond, with a small creek and a natural spring feeding into it. Behind the pond, the acreage continues to horse/walking trails. These trails lead down to another creek, which provides the back boundary for the property. Trails also lead to an adjoining property, where stables provide the perfect spot to board your horse.
Outbuildings: The larger building behind the house is the original outdoor kitchen, which was used by the Holeman family during the summer to keep the main house cooler. In the winter, they used the fireplace in the cellar (which still remains). The smaller building houses the original well. The property also includes a building which was used as a wheat bin, along with several barns which were used for tobacco.
Garage: This oversized, two car garage, has plenty of additional space for mowers, golf cart, four wheelers, etc. It also has electricity and running water. It was built after the restoration and is painted to match the original outbuildings. The lumber for the garage came from the property, where a portable sawmill was brought on site.
If These Walls Could Talk: The Holeman Family of Oakland Plantation
The seven generations of the Holeman family who lived in the Oakland homeplace were of colorful character and found themselves associated with equally colorful and interesting people. Oakland was, from its beginning, renowned for its social and political activity. People were drawn to its beauty, hospitality, and multitude of engaging hosts and hostesses.
Richard and Jean Carlisle Holeman were the first of the Holemans to live in the house. They were the couple who undertook the building of the structure. Richard died in 1789, leaving Jean to complete the task. Jean Carlisle was a full blooded Scotch woman totally devoted to the Revolutionary cause. She acted as a spy for General Thomas Person and was said to “peddle her wares in Hillsborough” picking up information from the unsuspecting Red Coats. She would ride to Goshen, under the moonlight, some thirty miles from her home, to relay any information she had gathered to General Person’s camp. Richard and Jean’s home was the place of meeting for the Regulators, hence the initiation of social and political life at Oakland.
Oakland passed to the second generation, Richard and Jean’s son, Richard. In 1795, Richard married Rebecca Margaret Daniel, a granddaughter of James Daniel—one of the original settlers of Jamestown on the James River. Richard, who appears to have been an attorney, spent most of his time settling estates and improving Oakland’s racehorse stock. Horse racing was probably the favorite form of entertainment for the era and appears to have been one of the favorite pastimes for this generation of Holemans.
The third generation to inherit Oakland was James Holeman, son of Richard and Rebecca. James married Mary Dobbin VanHook in 1839, thereby incorporating the Dobbin and VanHook families into the Holeman family tree. James, an attorney, served in the North Carolina State Legislature as well as the Senate. He was well known for his candor with regard to his colleagues in the House and the Senate as he commonly referred to them as “The Lazy Boy’s Club.” James’ brother-in-law and frequent visitor to Oakland was J.C. Dobbin, who, while serving in the House, introduced and carried legislation to build and fund Dorthea Dix Hospital—the first hospital in North Carolina for the mentally challenged. J.C. Dobbin went on to serve as Secretary of Navy under President Buchanan’s time in office prior to the Civil War.
James Dobbin Holeman, son of James and Mary Dobbin Van Hook, was the fourth generation to live at Oakland. He married Emma Blow Blacknall in 1863 and, again, another interesting and prominent family joined the Holeman family tree. At the time of his marriage, James Dobbin was Captain of the North Carolina Troops, 24th Division, Company “A,” CSA. After the Civil War, he returned home to serve—like his father before him—in the North Carolina State Legislature and the North Carolina Senate. He and his wife, Emma, enjoyed the company of her family members at Oakland. Emma’s father, Richard Blacknall, was the first physician to practice in Durham County. Her brother, Richard, was the first pharmacist in Durham County. Another brother, James Russell, was the first sheriff of Durham County. Her sister, Carrie, and her sister-in-law, Josephine, built Blacknall Memorial Presbyterian Church.
Richard Blacknall Holeman, son of James Dobbin and Emma Blacknall Holeman, was the fifth generation to fall heir to Oakland. “R.B.” married Novie Leigh Horner in 1924 at the tender age of fifty. R.B. spent his youth under the watchful eyes of his many esteemed relatives learning to negotiate his way through the changing times both socially and industrially in the early twentieth century. He enjoyed the associations of his family and regularly returned the favor by entertaining them in “the country.” Many of the country’s industrialist families frequented Oakland to enjoy the famed weekend parties hosted by R.B. He was instrumental in luring Norfolk and Western Railroad to Helena (Timberlake) to help boost the economy of the community. He formed a successful corporation with George Hauser whose principle interests were in the sale of timber and land.
The sixth generation to inhabit Oakland was Richard “Dick” Blacknall Holeman, Jr. (1926) and James “Jimmie” Horner Holeman (1928), the sons of Richard and Novie Holeman. The boys grew up with a great love of the land and the plantation. Because they were reared on a self-sustaining farm, they did not suffer the losses that so many of the populace suffered during the Depression era. Thanks to R.B. Holeman, Sr. they had running water and electricity at a time when no one else in their area did. During World War II, Dick joined the Coast Guard and then went on to college. Jimmie served in the U.S. Navy. Upon returning to Oakland, Jimmie married Dorothy Rose Woody of Roxboro in 1954. They had two children, Jimmie and Barbara Leigh. Both Jimmie and Dorothy devoted their lives to farming and caring for Oakland. Jimmie was often quoted as saying, “If you take care of the land, it will take care of you.” He spent the rest of his time trying to pass on his devotion to the plantation to his children and instill in them their fortune for being so richly blessed in a wonderful heritage and a home that had witnessed the birth of a nation and sheltered the family in both war and peace. Richard, Jr. married Julia Marie Rice from Landisburg, Pennsylvania and had two children, Harriett Carlisle and Richard B. Holeman, III (“Dickie”). Richard, Jr. then moved to the city and worked in the pharmaceutical industry until he retired in 1992. Both families enjoyed their years at Oakland, preferring to spend most of their time on the screened front porch (no longer there) with their loving grandmother, Novie Leigh Horner Holeman.
The last and seventh generation to live at Oakland was Barbara Leigh Holeman, daughter of James and Dorothy Holeman. Leigh married her second husband, Thomas “Tommy” Henry Gunn, in 1992. In an effort to preserve the family’s heritage and legacy, Leigh spent most of her life reading, researching and writing about her ancestors. With the help of Tommy, Leigh restored Oakland to its original eighteenth century splendor in 1995/1996. Leigh’s brother, Jimmie, died in 2005. Leigh nor Jimmie had children, therefore Leigh was the final generation of the Holeman family to live at Oakland.
The Fulfillment of a Dream: The Burton Years at Oakland Plantation
Having been such a huge part of the Holeman family heritage, the decision to sell Oakland Plantation was not an easy one for Leigh Holeman Gunn. An absolute auction that was open to the public was held on July 25, 2009. The auction was advertised in the paper. One of the people who saw that ad was Merle Watts Burton, a Durham native.
Merle was born to Floyd Oscar Burton and Nancy Jane Morris Burton on October 17, 1926 at Watts Hospital. He was the youngest of their eight children. Merle’s father provided the sole source of income for the family through his night watchman job at Golden Belt Cotton Mill and various side jobs. His father’s pay did not cover all the needs of his family. As a result, Merle’s childhood was very different than that of the generations of Holeman children who called Oakland Plantation their home. The children, including Merle, helped with various side jobs as well. Merle helped string tobacco bags for the mill. Merle grew up in a mill home typical of the time—small and cheaply built.
In an interview with his granddaughter, Kelli Landing Crawford, Merle said, “We were poor [but] we had plenty to eat—potatoes, beans, and chicken because we raised our own chickens. We had a big garden.” His experience working in those gardens as a child instilled a lifelong passion for gardening and for land. His love of tomatoes was well known among his family and friends.
Merle’s father passed away on April 13, 1940. Floyd’s death affected the family financially due to the loss of his income from the mill. Since Merle was the youngest child, many of his siblings had already left the home and started families of their own. This left his mother without a steady income and made Merle the head of the household. That situation within the family came with a responsibility to support his mother. Merle enlisted in the Navy prior to the United States’ official entry World War II as a way to see the world and help support his mother. He sent the majority of his paychecks home to her.
Following the war, Merle met Billie Burk Munford in 1946 as she stood at the bus stop in front of the store where he worked. They married in 1947. That chance meeting formed the foundation of the relationship that was the cornerstone of the Burton family. They were married for fifty-nine years before her death on July 21, 2006. They raised three children—Linda Burton Thompson, Wayne Burton, and Tina Burton Landing.
At the time of the auction on July 25, 2009, Merle was 83 and a widower. He had spent his life up until that point working at GTE for 40 years before retiring, first as a lineman and then as a line supervisor. He also spent his time caring for his family, including his siblings, his wife’s siblings, and many of their spouses and his nieces and nephews. He also cared for his wife, Billie, who had been in poor health for many years. His upbringing contributed to his desire to live simply and buy only what he could purchase with the money he had in the bank. He never had a credit card. Merle’s dream was to one day own a farm. His sister, Lillian, and her husband, Zeb, had owned a farm. That farm was one he spoke fondly of years after their deaths and the sale of that property.
July 25 started out as a normal day for Merle. His daughter, Linda, called him as usual to check on him in the morning. He told her that he planned to drive to Roxboro to buy some corn. He didn’t take much care dressing that day, choosing instead to wear some of his normal house clothes. Merle drove towards Roxboro, perhaps with the intention of actually buying corn. A few hours later, he called Linda and let her know that he was bidding on a house at auction. What a surprise! Linda, who handled her father’s accounts, drove out to Oakland to see what her father was up to. A short time later, Merle became the owner of Oakland Plantation when his winning bid was accepted. He had not even stepped foot inside the house!
One of the joys of Merle’s life was getting to share Oakland with his family. The home was the site of Thanksgiving and Christmas celebrations, family reunions, baby showers, a fishing tournament, and a wedding. Other days were spent simply enjoying one another’s company. Merle received a golf cart from his family for his 84th birthday that he later used to explore the property. No longer did he have to drive his Cadillac to get down to the pond to fish, although that sure was a sight! He was determined to do as much as he could for as long as he could on the property that was the fulfillment of a dream he had thought unattainable. In conversations with others, he expressed pride, that from such a meager background, with hard work and frugal spending over the years, he was the proud owner of Oakland Plantation. Even though he never actually moved into the house, choosing to remain in the Durham home he had shared with his wife for over fifty year, Merle loved riding out to the house and just sitting outside in his rocker. He spent nights there with his children from time to time. As his health deteriorated, he had his children and/or caretakers drive him out to the property. Merle passed away on January 12, 2011. His family takes great comfort that “Papa Burton” spent his last years living his dream.
Houses such as Oakland are rare, especially ones that have been lovingly restored and maintained to the degree that Oakland has. The tranquil setting with the trees, pond, and trails, adds to its unique charm. It is the type of property where you can close your eyes and visualize the generations of family and the many visitors who have graced these grounds, first on horseback and then, most recently, in a golf cart! Oh my, how times have changed. You can feel the history within these walls, almost hearing the music of those long ago Holeman parties. Oakland is a property to be cherished and preserved, because very few like it exist today.
Information for this narrative was obtained from writings by Leigh Holeman Gunn and Carlisle Holeman Scott, along with interviews of Tommy Gunn, Dick Holeman Jr., and Todd Dickinson.
The Magnolia (circa 1875) sits on 174 acres of prime Johnston County land and has one of the most beautiful countryside settings in the state. The history of the home goes back to 1875 and although mostly rebuilt, fireplaces and mantels and other original fabric still exist. The setting is indescribable!
The 7851 +/- sq. ft. in the main house features 6 bedrooms and 6 full baths and 2 half baths. There is an additional guest house, pool and pool house, equestrian facilities, garages and large lake with gazebo. Price with 5.31 acres is $2,250,000. Call us for details.
This High Point Historic Home is zoned residential but has a special use permit and is currently being used as a B & B. The permit transfers with the property as does the clientele. This home has up to 8 bedrooms with 7 bathrooms and can also be used as a residence. You must schedule a visit, it is such a treat with character galore! From the character of the architecture to the character that has evolved over the years, no doubt you will love Toad and Alley Bed & Bagel!
Additional information at www.carolmilligan.com
This stately mid-antebellum period home known as Windfield has been tastefully restored and is waiting for its new owners to add their personal touches. It features a center passage, two room deep plan. There are 8 fireplaces and woodwork characteristic of Greek Revival architecture. Set back off the road with a winding driveway on 6 acres, the 2 1/2 story home has a double tiered porch and a screened rear porch with a shed roof. There is also a guest cottage made from a mid-nineteenth century Perquimans County planked log house moved to the property. There is a total of 30 acres. The house is being offered with 6 acres for $399,000, and an additional 23 acres of can be purchased at a negotiated price. There are mature flowering trees and shrubbery and a fenced herb garden. Located in rural Tyner, this property is just 12 miles from Edenton’s beautiful Historic Downtown. It is about 4 hours from DC, 2 hours from Richmond, VA, 2 1/2 hours. Raleigh, NC, 1 1/2 hours from Norfolk International Airport, which makes this a perfect weekend getaway or main residence.
More information at www.williamewood.com.
The spectacular 1859 Greek Revival home has 12 rooms 5 bedrooms, 4 and a half baths. It is situated in the most desirable part of town on 1.8 Acres. It also has 5 historic outbuildings, one was the original outdoor kitchen, and a gazebo. The home has most of its original windows and very elaborate Italianate trim throughout the living room and dining room. This 2 story home has full width covered porches in back and front of the home. Work has been started to place the home on the Historic Registry. 12 foot ceilings, marble fireplaces, and original pine flooring are just a few of the amenities in the home.
The Barracks is without question one of the state’s premiere antebellum plantation houses. Its design, size and family association place this house on a level not typically associated with North Carolina, and make it much more comparable to the great plantation houses of Virginia, Charleston and the Deep South. Its scale, exceptional detailing throughout, the large front portico with its huge Corinthian columns and its interior, central rotunda place this house in a unique category unto itself. As its nomination to the National Register of Historic Places prepared by the staff of the NC Department of Archives and History in 1970 so clearly states, “The Barracks is one of the most sumptuous and best preserved mansions of its date in North Carolina.” Local legend states that the name, “The Barracks”, comes from the use of the house during the Civil War to shelter soldiers and to serve as a Confederate hospital. This information has never been confirmed, however. The inherited Dancy land surrounding The Barracks was called “Glenburnie.”
William Smith Battle had his house completed in 1858 on a plantation inherited by his wife, Elizabeth Dancy, just outside the town limits of Tarboro along its western boundary. William S. Percival, a prominent English architect who practiced in Virginia and North Carolina was employed to design and build the grand mansion of around 9,000 square feet. Percival designed a house to fit the stature and status of one of the region’s wealthiest men and owner of Rocky Mount Mills. Battle’s wife, Elizabeth was also prominent in her own right, being a daughter of Francis L. Dancy, one of Tarboro’s wealthiest men and planters.
The house built for William and Elizabeth Battle is opulent in almost every aspect. It is a textbook Italian Villa in its overall design, combined with Greek Revival and Italianate detailing. As stated in documentation from the National Register of Historic Places, the house is built of salmon-colored brick with its main (eastern) façade dominated by a central projecting bay with a large pedimented portico supported by huge, fluted Corinthian columns. The columns support a very large and heavy entablature which is carried around the entire building. The frieze is punctuated by elaborate, paired brackets between which are circular vents with decorative iron grates.
Under the front portico is the main doorway framed by an elliptical arch of projecting brick. The space between the brick arch is divided into three parts by engaged columns, with elaborate, etched blue and red stained glass sidelights and an arched, floral-designed stained glass fanlight over the large double doors. Above the doorway is an elaborate iron balcony supported by heavy brackets with access to it provided by the floor-length double windows on the second floor. The fancy ironwork designs in this balcony are also seen on the northern façade of the house in a much larger and most impressive iron balcony with a splayed roof that is adjacent to and accessed from the interior library.
Also on the front façade and flanking the main portico is a pair of one-story loggias with coupled Corinthian columns, again with access from the inside by doorways from the interior foyer and from the double windows of the front parlor and the library. Some other significant exterior features are a unique, octagonal belvedere or cupola with its tall finial on the very top of the house, the use of paired windows with projecting brick surrounds sheltered by flat cornices and two very large, projecting bay windows on the first floor adjacent to the largest parlor and the dining room. At the rear of the house is a large, one story wing that was added soon after the house was built and prior to the Civil War to provide additional bedrooms, a kitchen and other multi-purpose rooms to accommodate the Battle’s large family. It is said locally that after a visit to the house during its construction, Mrs. Battle complained that the house was just too small for their growing family, thus precipitating the design and construction of the very handsome, “newer” addition. This “west wing” blends so well from an architectural standpoint, it is hard to realize that this portion of the house was not built at the very same time as the main structure. The back of this wing of the house has a beautiful, recessed porch that spans most of the addition and is supported by five fluted Corinthian columns, like those on the front of the mansion
The interior of the house is indeed sumptuous (as noted by the State Department of Archives and History) and has to be seen to be believed. Behind the front double doors of the house is a rectangular foyer with its original, patterned marble floors and two other exterior doorways that lead onto the columned, front loggias. Beyond the foyer is the handsome and stately circular rotunda with its four, semicircular statuary niches. The floor is an elaborately patterned parquet design of multi-colored woods. Such fancy parquet floors are also found throughout the house.
The second floor level of the rotunda has a circular gallery or railing to enclose the opening to the first floor. There are also four niches on this level as well. Above the second floor, the rotunda rises beyond a wide and heavy, circular cornice into the dome itself, which is just below the octagonal belvedere that sits on top of the roof. The bottom of the belvedere, as seen from the first floor up to the top of the dome is a stained glass, flower-patterned window with petals of lavender color and amber accents which casts amazing light throughout the rotunda. This is a stunning and beautiful sight to behold and one of the most exceptional architectural features inside the house. There is currently a massive crystal chandelier that hangs from the belvedere level down into the first floor space.
On the first floor, the south door of the rotunda leads to beautiful front parlor (Green Salon), and behind that through double pocket doors, is a much larger parlor or ballroom (Rose Salon). Both parlors have beautiful, carved marble mantels with central keystones or florets and arched fireboxes. As found throughout the house are heavy molded cornices to crown the tall ceilings of each room. The larger parlor has an impressive and large bay window with the opening supported by a pair of fluted, Corinthian columns similar to those on the exterior of the mansion. Both parlors still have their original 1850’s gas chandeliers now converted to electricity. Behind the large parlor is another parlor or sitting room (Blue Salon) with a separate bath that could allow this space to become an extra bedroom or downstairs guest room. The Blue Saloon also has direct access onto a very nice, enclosed sunroom.
The north door of the rotunda leads to a library that has access onto the elaborate cast iron balcony on the side of the house and one of the front loggias. This room has built-in, very tall bookcases with exuberant Victorian, spindled grills at the tops. The mantel in the library, which is of a natural, stained wood, appears to be a turn-of-the-century, columned replacement; whereas, other mantels throughout the house are likely original to its construction
At the rear or west end of the rotunda is the doorway to the stair hall. The stair has a large, octagonal and elaborately carved newel post, turned octagonal balusters and a broad, midway landing. From this landing there is a secondary stair hall to the first floor back hallway that likely was originally intended for use by servants. The south door in the stair hall is another point of access to the larger parlor. The north door of the stair hall leads into the rather grand and spacious dining room with its carved marble mantel and its large, columned bay window similar to the one in the larger parlor on the opposite side of the stairs. To the rear of the dining room is another rather large room that has recently served as a breakfast room or more informal, casual eating space. Behind this room is the modern kitchen.
The second floor contains four large bedrooms, all having massive double windows with very handsome, heavy wood surrounds. All of the main doors, closet doors and mantels on this level are original to the house. The two back or west bedrooms have their own separate bathrooms. The front or east bedrooms share one bathroom that is located partially within the space above the downstairs foyer. One doorway in the hallway on the second floor has a staircase leading up to a large attic.
At the rear of the house is the very large wing, mostly added just after the main house was completed. A hallway separates the rooms in the addition from the main house and provides excellent access into and out of each space. Another smaller hallway connects the back door to the media or billiard room and the kitchen. The kitchen also has a doorway that leads directly to a large brick patio and gardens on the north side of the house and provides easy access to the rear parking area.
On the south end of the rear wing is a large music salon and full bathroom. This space could easily become an excellent, modern downstairs master bedroom suite, especially when combined with the connecting and adjacent smaller sitting room, bedroom or nursery. In the center of the addition is a nicely sized room that could serve as a modern family room. This room has doorways to both hallways in this portion of the house. The kitchen is at the northern end of the wing and has been totally modernized with custom cabinets, appliances, a central island and marble countertops. There is also direct access from the kitchen to a large media or billiard room on the very back corner of the house.
The spacious lot on which The Barracks sits has been landscaped, but will need some selective clearing, cleaning, pruning and maintenance. Significant features of the grounds are a very early, circular pool and ornate and period cast iron fountain in the center of the front yard, formal walkways and plantings, statuary and urns. The back yard is an amazingly private and enclosed space for entertaining. Shrubbery, trees and planting beds are predominantly around the edges of the property, providing a large open lawn in the center of the space. A handsome, metal gazebo is a central focal point. Several walkways permeate this large space. On the north side of the house is a large brick patio with small fish pond and grilling/sitting area accessible from the kitchen and the library’s iron balcony.
The Barracks is listed individually in the National Register of Historic Places, is within both the locally-protected Tarboro Historic Zoning District and the Tarboro National Register Historic District. For income producing properties, such as a bed and breakfast inn or events center for which this property would be perfect, a 20% Federal tax credit is possible. Being within the locally-designated Tarboro Historic Zoning District will require an owner to obtain Certificates of Appropriateness from the local Historic District Commission before making substantial exterior changes or additions to the property, beyond routine maintenance and replacing “like for like” items.
Please visit our website at www.tarbororealty.com for additional information and pictures regarding this property.
The historic Barracks is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at email@example.com or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
Please click on the photos below to see a full view of the picture.
The Twitchell-Gallaway house is a stately Federal-Greek Revival style house commissioned by Madison’s Town founder Randall Duke Scales for his daughter, Elizabeth, as a wedding gift in 1834. A total renovation was completed on the home in 1995 and newly updated in 2014.
The house is a 5 bay, 3 story brick laid in Flemish bond with tall 6-over-9 double-hung windows on the front facade and a metal standing seam roof with bookend chimneys.
The first floor features a grand center hall running the depth of the house with an open staircase. It includes a large formal dining room, gourmet kitchen with new granite and new stainless steel appliances, a breakfast room with views of the garden patio, a large full bath with stand alone shower and claw foot tub, and a master bedroom currently being used as a library.
The English-basement with lots of natural light has original brick & plaster walls with exposed beams in the ceiling and includes a new gas log cast iron stove with mantel surround and brick floors. There is an antique wet bar, a full bathroom with exposed brick and an exit to the garden patio.
The second floor has 3 spacious bedrooms all with fireplaces and mantels. There are walk-up stairs to the attic, which has ample room for storage.
Special interior features include Greek Revival mantels in the library, formal dining room and master bedroom. The library mantel has Ionic columns and capitals, while the dining room has double Doric columns. Ceilings are 9 to 10 feet, floors are wooden with various widths, 6 fireplaces, original wood doors and trim and much more!
The property is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is surrounded by early 20th century architecture and augmented by tree-lined streets.
The historic Twitchell-Gallaway House is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at firstname.lastname@example.org or 919-832-3652 x 221 to request a copy of these covenants.
The Captain John W. Harper House, built in 1903, was known for years by Wilmingtonians as “The Crown Jewel of Downtown.” Architect, HPS Keller who designed buildings still standing at North Carolina State University, designed this home for Captain John Harper and his bride Ella Strupe.
Noted North Carolina historical preservationist and architect, Edwin Belk, did the architectectural design for the restoration, renovation, and additions to the Harper House for the present owners.
Having undergone extensive and exquisitely detailed renovations over the last 10 years, the home has regained its crown jewel status. This historic property is a marriage of authentic Victorian elegance, modern comfort, and livability proving that excellent design is timeless. Original stained glass windows, pocket doors, door hardware, and mantels have been lovingly restored. Several light fixtures throughout the home are antiques of the Victorian era.
Situated on a high lot that stretches from South Front Street to South Second Street, the home offers 5,300 square feet of gracious living. A majestic foyer with meticulously restored English oak wainscot features a sitting area with original curved glass window and fireplace.
Grand formal spaces are complemented by a thoughtfully designed modern kitchen. Expanded kitchen features cork flooring, soapstone counter tops, and well-designed public and private areas ideal for entertaining. Victorian era tile and subway tile backsplash, 48” Wolf gas range, Subzero refrigerator and under-counter refrigerators in island, spacious mud room, antique light fixtures and pressed “tin” ceiling are additional kitchen features. The butler’s pantry features a wet bar and glass cabinet doors repurposed from the original kitchen. A vaulted breakfast room features an Arts and Crafts style border and parquet inlay on floors which mirror the inlay found in the foyer.
A luxurious master suite on the second floor offers a fireplace, dressing room and thoroughly modern bath. An elevator serves the first and second floor. The home’s eight fireplaces, originally coal burning, have been converted to gas “coals.” The second floor has two more spacious bedrooms, bath, and a full laundry room. The third floor makes an exceptional suite for children or guests, with two bedrooms, bath, a playroom/ office and kitchenette.
Double doors open to the private courtyard and an inviting colonnade leads to a three car garage and 760 square feet guest apartment above.
Extensive wrap around porches overlook reproduction pressed concrete sidewalk. Elegantly landscaped grounds feature 100 plus year old magnolias, as well as a large variety of native plants traditional for the area.
Downtown Wilmington’s many features include: Riverwalk, water tours, fireworks on the Cape Fear River, Thalian Hall, unique shopping at the Cotton Exchange, Chandler’s Wharf, and other stores, fine dining and casual restaurants, gallery walks on Fridays, The Children’s Museum, The Railroad Museum, and the Film Festival: Cucalorus.
Living downtown offers a lifestyle that is both intimate and urban. Neighbors who were born here and neighbors who have made downtown Wilmington their home create lasting friendships. The downtown neighborhood is open and caring like a club without dues!
Sitting handsomely and solidly on the northeast corner of Front and Church Streets in the heart of Wilmington’s historic district, the McClammy house was built around 1914. Mr. McClammy was the publisher of the “Wilmington Dispatch” newspaper.
High ceilings, fine finishes such as crown molding, wood floors, coffered ceilings and mahogany woodwork are all testaments to the elegance and quality construction found at the turn of the century. Other features of the house are 3 sets of mahogany pocket doors and 5 fireplaces, 3 downstairs and 2 upstairs.
In author Tony Wrenn’s “Wilmington North Carolina: An Architectural and Historical Portrait”, he classifies the two and a half story brick home as “Neoclassical Revival with some Italian villa features.”
As you enter the front door and look around the entranceway and into the living room, you note “fine leaded glass in the upper part of the one over one first floor sash and in the transom and sidelights of the entrance. Lilies in lead, repeated, carry across the windows and into the entrance glass.”
This home would work well as a primary residence for a family, as well as for a second home “in the city.”
The grand formal spaces are complemented by an updated kitchen with an eat-in area.
The second floor features three bedrooms and two baths.
An expansive finished third floor has playroom, bed/bonus room and bath.
The rear courtyard is anchored by a heated swimming pool with a new heater and mature shrubbery.
You can enjoy the Cape Fear River breezes as you rock on your front porch and watch the horse and buggy tours go by as well as the neighborhood trolley. It is just a short walk to the Cape Fear Riverwalk, fine restaurants, a weekly seasonal Farmer’s Market, Cape Fear Community College, and Thalian Hall, to name only a few of the joys of “living downtown.”
The lot features off-street parking.
The Smithwick-Green-Clark House is one of a few surviving early nineteenth century farmhouses in Martin County. Constructed around 1800 for John Smithwick, it retains much of its original transitional Georgian-Federal character although it has undergone two periods of change.
The first changes occurred in the mid-nineteenth century when the original detached kitchen was moved and a new kitchen ell constructed on the south side of the house. However, it was the changes made during second remodeling or Colonial Revival phase, made around 1914 by owner John Mack Green, which changed the structure most. A generous wrap-around porch with Tuscan columns replaced the original front porch; doors with sophisticated elliptical panes and single pane transom replaced the original doors; large one-over-one sash windows were installed on the facade; and a third (final) kitchen ell was constructed on the rear of the house.
Replaced, but not all removed, many of these original elements, such as the nine-over-nine sash windows, can be found in the 1914 addition. The earliest portion of the house retains much of its original Georgian-Federal woodwork, including eight-raised panel doors, an original thumb latch and H-and-L hinges, four original mantles, flat-panel wainscot accented with ovolo-molded chair rails and two-part beaded baseboards, an enclosed winder stairway, and most of the door surrounds and flooring. The house features a large wrap-around porch and a smaller screened-in porch.
In addition to an old well on the site, there is now public water to the property going to the shed behind the house. Several of the older six-over-six and nine-over-nine windows on the back of the house have been repaired. Some removal of outdated cabinetry and appliances has occurred in the kitchen, and painting was begun to the older section of the house. The house still requires a complete rehabilitation, including updated electrical, plumbing and HVAC.
Built in 1912, the Stanton-Platt-Blalock House exhibits the classic multi–gabled roof form that defines the Queen Anne style of architecture. With its clean, unadorned façade and spacious, livable floor plan, this house is the epitome of understated elegance.
The interior features spacious rooms with high ceilings, original mantels, heart pine floors, and a handsome staircase with turned balustrade and paneled newel post. The house is situated at the top of a deep lot, allowing for a spacious and private back yard.
The shingled roof needs repairs, at a minimum. The house requires a complete rehabilitation, including all new mechanical systems—electrical, plumbing, and HVAC. In addition to significant carpentry and cosmetic repairs, the house needs updated kitchen and baths. It is located in the local Goldsboro Historic District.
Modernist splendor – Exquisite living on four levels with that comforting “tree house” experience as you relax among the leaves and overlook a soothing stream.
Main level Living Room, Dining Room and Kitchen are all beautifully defined – yet open for easy living and entertaining. Kitchen recently upgraded with high-end cabinetry, counters and equipment.
Five bedrooms are distributed among three levels. Anyone who desires a main level bedroom need not worry. This home was built with an elevator shaft in place (presently without an elevator) for easy transition between the master bedroom and main living/entertaining area.
This home has an amazing list of amenities/upgrades – copper roof, organic mosquito mister along back deck, central vac, several storage rooms, fire escape hatch on top level, 4 full baths with 3 jacuzzi tubs, hard piped gas grill, wired for sound inside and out, 2 HVAC systems with 3 zones (and a built in humidifer).
All that and a great location – Cameron Park. Click here for additional details and photos.
Income-producing guest house in Burlington’s Historic Glencoe Mill Village. A small house that lives large, its compact size uses every square foot to maximize comfort. Built in the early 1900s, the home was completely renovated in 2001-2002 with all-new plumbing and electrical systems, new metal roof, pine floors, bead-board ceilings & walls. Wide-open bedroom with breakfast/sitting area. Precious kitchen with efficient, small-space appliances. Bathroom has built-in cabinetry, pedestal sink, shower and stacked washer & dryer.
The Barbershop Guesthouse is a turn-key operation that is completely furnished and includes sheets, linens, towels, pots & pans. The owners already have a number of guest reservations lined up for 2014. 1 bedroom, 1 bath, 345 sq.ft, .28-acre lot, private driveway.
All historic homes in the Glencoe Mill Village are under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at email@example.com or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
Step back in time to the Valle Crucis community, North Carolina’s first rural historic district, and embrace the High Country’s rich history in this charming riverfront farmhouse, noted by the Dept of Interior as Watauga county’s oldest house, dating back to the late 1700s.
Built by Scottish settlers who owned a local general store and schoolhouse, standing through the Civil War times and Sherman’s March, known for its distillery of brandy and whiskey, and inhabited by lawmen and local politicians, the walls of this house speak of a simpler time when family, community, and the love of the outdoors still ring true to the one who can relax to listen. The picturesque grounds also include patios, porches, and a firepit for entertaining. With hardwoods in most of the living space and bedrooms, a fireplace in the formal living room and one of the dining rooms, and a wood stove in the original kitchen fireplace, the Baird House stands solidly built with cozy spaces to unwind and converse with friends. The main house comes with 4 bedrooms (one is a double room), each with their own bath and fireplace, and the Carriage house has been tastefully redone with 3 more suites.
Come and experience the Baird house and its history! 7.5 bathrooms,well water,septic system…surrounding land is in a trust which can never be developed. 15 minutes from Boone.
MLS #: R184309A
Historic Fulp-Marshall Home on 10.22 Acres – Built in 1836, the home was originally owned by a prominent Moravian family and is a one and a half story, common bond brick structure with partially projecting gable end brick chimneys. The stylish Greek Revival style sidelights decorating the front and rear doors and the two-panel, grained doors re-used in the basement give evidence of the original construction date.
The home features 10 ft ceilings, wide baseboard, plate rail, picture rail in some rooms, 3 corner fireplaces, new 8/12 windows,hardwood and ceramic tile floors. Master suite addition in 1992 on main level – includes office with skylights, bedroom with cathedral celing and 2011 updated bath. Two bedrooms on the upper level – each with remodeled full bath. New gas boiler and new heat pump for addition.
Property has potting shed, 2 story barn, fruit trees, cleared and wooded with circle drive.
Zoned Residential / Agricultural. Close to town, 25 minutes to Winston-Salem. Additional details may be found at http://www.carolinafarms.com.
The Burfoot-Toxey House c 1901 on Elizabeth City’s Main Street is a fine example of a George Franklin Barber designed home. It features many of the architectural details that make his designs so remarkable and sought after. This elegant home is featured in Thomas R. Butchko’s On the Shores of the Pasquotank published in 1989 and is on Elizabeth City’s self-guided Historic Walking Tour and has been on ECHNA’s Ghost Walk.
Built for Noah Burfoot, manager of the former Elizabeth City Hosiery Mill, this impressive Colonial Revival style home has intricate Neo-Classical Revival details such as a deep wrap-around porch with Tuscan columns, a semi-circular bay with ribbon-and-tassel garland, rare curved panes, and dentiled cornice. It has nearly 4000 square feet of living space plus a third floor storage attic and a basement for mechanicals.
As you step inside, you enter the grand center hall with high ceilings and beautiful closed stringer stairs. On both sides of the center hall there is a large front room, each with a fireplace, wood flooring and a ceiling fan.
Zoned General Business, this home has been used as a funeral parlor, law offices, interior decorating business, and most recently a beauty salon with a tea room upstairs.
The roomy second floor is suitable for the buyer who may wish to have a business on the ground floor and living quarters upstairs.
Being within walking distance of Elizabeth City’s Historic Downtown, the Arts of the Albemarle, the Museum of the Albemarle, Mariners Wharf and Waterfront Parks, Port Discover, Muddy’s, a popular coffee shop, arts galleries, and other historic properties, this property is ideal for an antiques-vintage store, restaurant, B&B, professional offices, just to name a few uses. It also can be restored back to a magnificent residence.
In 2005 the sellers made many upgrades including hvac, electrical, plumbing, and decorating, making this property ready for occupancy. There are three customer restrooms and ample parking.
Offered at $299,000, the sellers are offering owner financing to qualified buyers.
Call Joan for a showing of this exquisite property at 252 207-5626 and check out additional photos and details at MLS #73313 on the www.williamewood.com website.
The Gabriel Johnston Hotel, (c.1935) in downtown Smithfield, is the last of Smithfield’s old hotels. A late 1930s interpretation of the Federal Revival style is evident in the stone splayed keystone lintels over the windows and Flemish-bond brickwork. It has Art-Deco style shallow pilasters. From 1963-1998, the hotel served as town offices. Requires complete rehabilitation. Roof installed in 2000, interior demo completed and asbestos abated. 3.5 story building, 40+ parking spaces. The hotel is on the National Register.
Sited on a prominent corner in downtown Lumberton, this former City Hall and then Fire Station is poised for an elegant adaptive reuse! It is just a block and a half from the Lumber River and Riverwalk, and near the History Museum, the historic Carolina Civic Center, and more.
In the beautiful coastal plains of southeastern North Carolina, Lumberton is a city of about 20,000 people conveniently close to I-95. It is home to the Lumber River, and the Lumber River State Park, one hundred and fifteen miles of beautiful natural and scenic waterway. The river was designated as a National Wild and Scenic River and is part of the North Carolina Natural and Scenic River System. The Lumber River has been classified as natural, scenic and recreational. Activities to enjoy along the river include water sports like canoeing, boating, fishing, and swimming. Lumberton is only about 80 miles from Wilmington, Ocean Isle Beach and Myrtle Beach (SC); it is about 30 minutes from Fayetteville, an hour from Florence (SC) and about an hour and a half to Raleigh and Research Triangle Park.
Architectural and Historical Information
A dignified assemblage of classical elements, the former Lumberton Municipal Building (Old City Hall and Fire Station) was built in 1917 during a period of economic expansion in this important 19th century trading center.
The building is a two-story brick veneered edifice with an ornately designed Palladian front entrance on one side and two garage bay openings for firetrucks balancing out the other side providing a sense of symmetry. The double-leaf front door with fanlight is flanked by sidelights and Corinthian pilasters supporting an entablature and open pediment. An elaborate historic iron light fixture remains above the fire truck bays. Windows on the first floor along the street include single and tripartite arched openings of nine-over-one sash topped by keystones. Second floor windows are nine-over-nine sash with keystones. The first and second floors are divided by a stuccoed string course. Other exterior features include four interior chimneys, cornice modillions, a hipped slate roof crowned by a wood balustrade surrounding a classical octagonal cupola. Interior features include an attractive pressed metal ceiling in the front conference room area, staircase with balustrade, tile floors and chamfered posts separating the garage bays.
An early postcard indicates that the building was originally a more domestic-scale building five bays wide and five bays deep. The Old City Hall was expanded into its current size in the late 1940s with an addition that seamlessly maintained its stately details and proportions.
After serving as city offices, the library and fire station, there were plans to use the Old City Hall as meeting space and exhibits by the fire department. Some renovations were initiated and although new windows were installed, several of the historic windows were kept and are stored on-site. The interior is divided into large and small spaces including several bathrooms.
The Old City Hall and Fire Station is in good structural condition and can serve a variety of purposes including commercial and/or second floor loft apartments. It will require basic restoration and repair to the roof balustrade and cupola, along with interior and exterior rehabilitation as needed for its proposed use. The Old City Hall is a contributing structure in the National Register Historic District.
Previously the American Oil Co. gas station, this commercial building has two attached garage bays and would make an ideal location for a small restaurant with outdoor seating.
Only two buildings away from the newly renovated Paramount Theatre, a busy performing arts center. Also near the planned 60,000 square foot recreation center, construction set to begin in 2010. Ideally located in the core of downtown Goldsboro, it is within easy walking distance to the many amenities of the downtown area.
The lively town of Goldsboro (pop. 39,000), the seat of Wayne County, is the home of the Seymour Johnson Air Force Base. It is located in eastern North Carolina, 20 minutes from I-40 and I-95, one hour from Raleigh, and within easy access of North Carolina beaches.
Downtown Goldsboro Neighborhood Revitalization
Preservation NC has partnered with the City of Goldsboro and the Downtown Goldsboro Development Corporation to revitalize several neighborhoods in downtown Goldsboro. The neighborhoods will be transformed into a blend of residential historic structures and new homes that will include historic architectural details.
Homes range in size and consist of a variety of architectural styles including Queen Anne, Victorian, and Italianate. The unique historic district includes residential and commercial structures.
For more information or to make an appointment, please contact the Downtown Goldsboro Development Corporation.
After World War I most of the commercial buildings in Edenton were constructed of brick. However, scattered throughout the town away from the main commercial district, smaller frame storefronts were erected to serve the various neighborhoods. The George Lassiter Store is the most intact example of the three two-story buildings built on South Oakum Street in 1920 to serve that area, particularly the nearby Edenton Cotton Mill Village.
The original block was built for Lassiter and his wife, Cottie, who lived in the building until her death in 1956. It has a pedimented gable roof sheltering an engaged second-story porch with turned columns topped by a large semi-circular vent. The original grocery store features a recessed central door entrance with transom lights flanked by large display windows. The rear wing was added in 1927 and finished with a matching double-tier porch. Today the building is divided into four units – the storefront and three one-bedroom apartments each with its own porch.
The store is a contributing structure within the National Register District. The building is in good condition with city water/sewer and off-street parking. The Lassiter store offers a wide variety of uses, including live/work/rent. The Urban Village is an excellent example of a historic storefront with rental units that is in the same neighborhood as the George Lasister Store (pictured above).
The Joseph DeLeon Williams, Sr. House, known as Pembroke-on-the-Trent, is a magical site on five private acres with a sweeping lawn and moss draped trees that lead to 544 feet of river frontage. The large two-and-one-half story Colonial Revival home was built in 1906 on a rise overlooking the Trent River, and was the site of the original Pembroke house, an important Georgian-period plantation house which was the home of Abner Nash from 1772-1786. Unfortunately, that home was lost to a fire.
Nash was critically important to the development of North Carolina. He was the state’s second governor (1781-2) and represented NC in the Continental Congress from 1782 to 1786. Nashville, Tennessee was named for his brother, Gen. Francis Nash, who was killed during the Revolutionary War during the Battle of Germantown. Abner Nash’s son, Frederick, served as Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court, was a lawyer, states man and the Governor of NC in 1780-81. There is a twentieth century tomb marking the gravesite of the former NC Governor on the property.
The home features wide center halls, double parlors with pocket doors, original light fixtures, Neo-Classical mantels, and an untapped attic space. The home retains many original features, and the setting allows you to truly enjoy an unparalleled piece of North Carolina history while the Trent River flows by outside your door. The property even has the old bridge pilings for the first bridge spanning the Trent River to connect old Pembroke and Beaufort Roads.
This property would make a wonderful special events venue and/or B & B. There is a new, expansive, two-story barn, built in 2011 that is 2,800 square feet. Sited on five acres, there is lots of space for a pool, spa, restaurant and more! Updates to mechanical systems (plumbing, electrical, HVAC) are likely needed, as well as updates to the kitchen and baths.
Enjoy colorful sunsets and river breezes on the inviting wrap around porch in a peaceful setting. Here, you can experience the beauty of a country setting and are only 10 minutes from gorgeous and historic downtown New Bern by car or boat! Just up the river are the New Bern Golf & Country Club and the Eastern Carolina Yacht Club.
The 300-year old town of New Bern was the first state capitol of North Carolina after the revolution, and the birthplace of Pepsi Cola. The county seat of Craven County, New Bern is located at the confluence of the Trent and Neuse rivers. The beautiful waterfront town is steeped in history, with a lifestyle ideal for sun seekers and history buffs alike. The area offers many activities including Tryon Palace, beautiful gardens, historic homes, quaint shops, cozy restaurants and lively entertainment. Craven County is also home to the MCAS Cherry Point and the 157,000 acre Croatan National Forest, nationally recognized for its trails and recreation opportunities (information from www.visitnewbern.com). For more information, visit www.newbern-nc.org and www.cravencounty.com.
The late Georgian home built around the beginning of the nineteenth century boasts four Flemish bond chimneys with eight interior fireplaces and mantels. Beautiful interior woodwork throughout the house, six-panel doors with raised panels, wainscoting, formal central hall, original wide heart pine flooring, 9-over-1 windows, all on three acres.
The home was built for the prominent Branch family whom includes a Colonel in the Revolutionary War, a NC governor, United States Senator, and presidential cabinet member.
Visted by Marquis de Lafayette in 1825 where it is rumored he gave a speech from the second floor balcony.
One of the earliest remaining structures in Halifax county (built between 1780 & 1803) and incredibly well maintained, surrounded by mature landscaping and trees, and fully furnished. The property is individually listed on the National Register and you can see the nomination here.
One hour to Raleigh and less than two hours to Richmond.
The house is also available with furnishings for $250,000.
“John Branch, Sr. was a wealthy landowner and something of a local celebrity because of his success ferreting out Tories in Halifax County during the revolution” (from the NC Encyclopedia, found here.)
John Branch, Jr. is an important figure in the history of North Carolina and the nation. He served as a U. S. Senator, Secretary of the Navy, the 19th governor of North Carolina, and the sixth and last territorial governor of Florida. You can read more about him here.
Enfield, originally Huckleberry Swamp, is the oldest town in Halifax County. The area was settled prior to 1725; however, the town was not founded until 1740. As the North Carolina tobacco market grew, new businesses were established along with the Bank of Enfield, the oldest bank in Halifax County.
Over the years the Enfield Tobacco Market gave way to markets in Rocky Mount and other areas. Peanuts, however, soon became the leading agricultural market in Enfield. The establishment of many buying and cleaning stations for peanuts soon made Enfield the world’s largest raw peanut market.
Before the establishment of Halifax County, Enfield was the county seat of Edgecombe County. It was also the site of the district court of Edgecombe, Granville, and North Hampton Counties. Enfield remained the seat of Edgecombe court until 1758, when Halifax County was formed and the town of Halifax was established. Enfield continued as the temporary seat of the Halifax County court until arrangements could be made to provide a court building in Halifax.
According to the 2010 census, Halifax County’s population was 54,691. Its county seat is Halifax. Halifax County is part of the Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, Micropolitan Statistical Area.
This 1936 gabled tin roof house with gingerbread trim is situated on 1.1 acres of land that will be protected with a conservation easement, nestled far in the west of the NC mountains, about 2 1/2 hours from Atlanta. The house was recently used as a local food co-op and would make an excellent residence, small boutique inn or commercial space. Accompanying this charming house is a 1920 former post office, which is waiting on a renewed purpose. Both buildings will require a complete rehabilitation and additional acreage can be purchased separately.
The Cowee-West’s Mill National Register Historic District is among the richest in the nation. In the mid-18th century Cowee and the Little Tennessee River Valley was the central stage on which would determine the future of two nations. Cherokee and American. The 370 acres in this historic district contain thousands of years of history and continues to resonate in the spiritual life of the Cherokees.
Cowee is only about 2 1/2 hours to Atlanta, 2 1/2 hours to Knoxville, less than two hours to the many attractions in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, and less than 45 minutes to Cullowhee, the home of Western Carolina University, and Cherokee. Also nearby is the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad in Bryson City, NC.
The area is beautifully situated in the Nantahala National Forest, the largest of NC’s four National Forests. The Nantahala National Forest is comprised of over 500,000 acres with elevations reaching 5,800 feet. There are a wide variety of activities for visitors to enjoy, including whitewater rafting, camping, biking and horseback riding on over 600 miles of trails. Learn more about the Nantahala National Forest by clicking here.
Architectural and Historical Information
From the Land Trust for the Little Tennessee website (Preservation NC and the LTLT are partnering for the 3rd time to successfully save an important historic property and land in Western NC:
By all accounts Vonnie Leal West believed in a strong community. She was born on April 15, 1886, the oldest of eleven children. Vonnie left her home in the West’s Mill Community to become a teacher. She first studied at UNC Chapel Hill, and later she received a Master’s Degree in Education from Western Carolina College in Cullowhee.
Aunt Vonnie, as she was known, taught for 35 years in counties across the State—a lifetime spent strengthening communities. When she came home to West’s Mill she also worked to support that community by teaching, by looking for opportunities to help her neighbors, and by assisting her postmistress mother as she ran the West’s Mill Post Office. The small post office was built in the 1920s and rolled on logs to its current location when Vonnie built her house in 1936.
Perhaps it was in the same house that Vonnie’s best-known contribution to West’s Mill took place as she wrote its weekly news column for The Franklin Press. For many years she gathered the good news as well as the bad from West’s Mill and shared it so that neighbors would be bound together as a stronger community.
Earlier this year LTLT purchased her house and the old post office in the heart of the Cowee-West’s Mill Historic District, downhill from the Rickman General Store and historic Cowee School. Vonnie West died in 1976 at the age of 90, but LTLT hopes to promote her community spirit by saving the “Vonnie West House” through its third partnership with Preservation North Carolina (PNC). PNC is marketing the property to find its next owner—someone who will restore Aunt Vonnie’s house to its former prominence, preserve her legacy, and strengthen the historic community of West’s Mill. The home and post office are located a short distance (1/5 mile) from the Historic Cowee School Macon Heritage Center (more info here: www.coweeschool.org)
Learn more about LTLT here: www.ltlt.org.
The Reverend Plummer T. Hall House is a one-story, Queen Anne cottage constructed sometime between 1880 and 1893. It is in a highly sought-after neighborhood inside the beltline, and is less than 10 minutes’ walk from both Jaycee Park and Cameron Village.
The house currently straddles the property line of the adjacent lot and is very close to the sidewalk. There are also plans to eventually widen Oberlin Road. Preservation NC has an option to acquire the adjacent lot (indicated in the current lot size), and is working to address these issues with the City of Raleigh.
The City of Raleigh has budgeted a maximum of $50,000 to move the house back on its lot and, funds allowing, construct a new foundation prior to resale. In addition, a transportation right-of-way for road improvements, in line with the existing, adjoining right-of-way in front of the church next door, will be dedicated to the City. We anticipate that the house will be moved back on its lot and centered between the 812 and 814 Oberlin Rd. lots, but we welcome input from our prospective buyers!
At the time the house was built, the neighborhood was a freedmen’s village known as Oberlin. The Plummer T. Hall house is locally significant as the only remaining historic building associated with the earliest phases of development of the Oberlin Baptist Church, which burned in 1955. Like churches in most African American communities, the church was an important part of Oberlin’s social fabric, providing spiritual, social, cultural, educational, and civic opportunities for freedmen.
Offers on the property may be submitted soon. The property includes two parcels (house parcel of 0.19 acre and adjacent parcel of 0.18 acre). The house is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
In the spring of 2015, we worked with students at Meredith College to create possible design plans for the Plummer T. Hall House. You can view their impressive work here:
Cumberland County has grown to become the economic and cultural hub of an 11-county region in southeastern North Carolina. Fayetteville is the 6th largest city and the 5th largest metropolitan area in the state. It is also among the fastest-growing areas in the state and is considered the economic growth center of the Southeast. Two military installations are the backbone of the county’s economy. Fort Bragg and Pope Air Force Base pump about $4.5 billion a year into the region’s economy making it one of the best retail markets in the county. It is expected that in 2011, 6,450 government jobs will be sustained by military-related investments, bringing the total number of government-related jobs in the area to 134,872. The additional job opportunities shall cause the population to increase by over 40,000 by 2013. BRAC Community Impact Assessment study for North Carolina report that by 2013, it is projected that seven counties around the Ft. Bragg footprint will experience growth as a result of the base realignment campaign.
Property sold for $4,380,000 on 2004-09-15.
Property listed on the National Register of Historic Places on 1983-07-07.
“Creek Home Place and Store” is protected by Preservation North Carolina. It consists of a charming, historic farmhouse, several outbuildings, including a very large old store, and 22 acres of property, some cleared and some wooded. It is located near Warrenton, NC, just a few miles south of the golf course on NC Hwy 58, a good road which is not noisy or too busy. Warrenton is about an hour and 15 minutes from Raleigh, 2 hours from Richmond, VA, and about 15 miles south of the Virginia border. The original log section of the house dates back to the early 1800s. Over the years, the two room log house grew with the family and was enlarged by enclosing porches and adding rooms until today it is about 2200 square feet of comfortable, cozy living space, complete with modern amenities.
The house has been respectfully renovated with up to date wiring, plumbing, DSL, insulation, storm windows, forced air heat, and central air, but it retains its original charm and most of its original features, many of which are protected by the covenants (mantels, floors, doors, moldings and ceilings). The house sits back from the road behind a white board fence. Follow the driveway through the gate to the front porch of the house. The yard contains large oak, maple, pine, pecan and walnut trees as well as flower beds and boxwoods which are original to the house. Behind the house are four outbuildings, the privy, the milk house (now the chicken house), the old log smokehouse and the potato house which is painted dark red. (It’s actually a storage building.) The well has cold, clean water. There is a very small creek down the path through the trees behind the house.
The house has three porches, one with a swing. There are two bedrooms with closets, three if you count the room with the fireplace, and two full bathrooms, one with a claw foot tub. There are two perfect stone fireplaces, one of which was completely restored in 2011. Both have their original mantles. There is a large dining room, a very large, eat-in kitchen with a wood burning stove, and a spacious pantry which also serves as the laundry room. In the central hall is a door to the tight winder stairway which reveals the original logs and which leads to the second story above the oldest portion of the house. The second floor has been plumbed for another bathroom and could be finished with at least two additional rooms.
The 22 acres include a small creek, a pine and hardwood forest which can soon be harvested, and about 4 acres around the house which serve as lawn. Across the road sits the very large old store which is dark red with dark green trim. It opened in about 1880. It still contains the original display cabinets, counters, shelves, drawers and the remnants of the old post office and telephone switchboard. It was run by the Pridgen/Davis family who lived in Creek HomePlace, and the store goes with the house. There is still some of the merchandise in the store that was there when it closed. The original shelves and counters are there. The original, hand written sales ledgers are there. The building is about 60 feet long and about 25 feet wide and is two full stories tall. The second floor provides great storage for the old contents of the store. It has a large wood burning stove. After the store closed in the 1930s, the store was used for storage and is currently used as a hobby woodworking shop. It is sound and delightful.
Originally part of Lake O’ the Woods plantation, the Creek Homeplace was given to Burwell Davis by his parents when he returned from the Civil War. The oldest part of the house is a two story hand hewn log structure possibly dating to the late 18th century. The stone chimney stacks, floors, ceilings, mantels, and windows are original to the house. One large built-in cupboard in the dining room is full of documents, pictures, old family letters, and memorabilia that stay with the house. There is also a collection of memorabilia in the pantry that partially tells the family history and the old stories associated with the house.
As the house passed through generations of the Davis and Prigeon families, rooms were added and porches enclosed. Today, Creek Homeplace is a rambling farmhouse with features characteristic of several architectural styles. Early styles include sheathed walls and ceilings with wooden door and window surrounds while later additions include bead board wainscot and ceilings and built in cabinets. There are several original outbuildings, a milk house, an ice house, a privy, and a general store. The large store, built about 1880, sits across the road. The store functioned until 1938 as mercantile, telephone exchange, and post office.
The community of Inez, south of Warrenton, has many antique houses including Cherry Hill, known for its Sunday concerts. Lake O’ the Woods Plantation, which owned the Creek House property before the Civil War, is just around the corner. The people in the area are friendly and welcoming. The town of Warrenton, the county seat, is known for its historic buildings, art shops, and antiques stores and a community college branch.
The historic Creek Homeplace and Store is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at firstname.lastname@example.org or 919-832-3652 x 221 to request a copy of these covenants.
Overlooking the beautiful Smith River and the Spray Canal, the 1896 Spray Cotton Mill was the first of eight mills constructed by B. Frank Mebane (and the longest-operating) within the Spray Industrial Historic District, an impressive concentration of North Carolina’s textile mill architecture in Eden, NC. The mill is available for a 40% state mill tax credit, as the eligibility certification was completed prior to December 31, 2014.
The two-story brick edifice has a full basement level creating three expansive floors used for mill operations. The original structure was doubled in size around 1898 with further additions over the years (the most recent built in 1994) resulting in approximately 155,000 square feet. Other features are typical of the era’s mill architecture with heavy timber supports and wood floors on the interior, a low-pitched gable roof, heavy exposed rafters along the eaves, and a series of enclosed towers. A three-story flat-roofed office wing (approx. 10,000 sq. ft.) is enhanced by corbelled brickwork and large segmentally arched windows.
The mill was built on the site of the former Willson Aluminum Company where the process for making Calcium Carbide and Acetylene was discovered spawning a new industry for residential and industrial lighting which evolved into Union Carbide Corp. Today, the landscape around the mill consists of canals, waterfalls and a gentle slope toward the river. An impressive dike system and common access/driveway leading to additional parking is located on the river side.
The building is in good condition with the most recent roof installed in the 1990s. Spray Cotton Mill is a contributing structure in the Spray National Register Historic District.
The Town now known as Eden was created in 1967 from three separate towns—Leaksville, Spray and Draper. Located at the confluence of the Dan and Smith Rivers, the area has an important industrial heritage with an impressive collection of large mill buildings powered by the nearby rivers and canals, charming commercial centers, and an array of residential neighborhoods populate the bluffs surrounding the community. Today residents and visitors enjoy the bountiful recreational opportunities including greenway trails, camping, kayaking and canoeing, festivals celebrating its musical heritage that includes Bluegrass legend Charlie Poole, and tours. Located near the Virginia border, Eden is 30 minutes from Greensboro, 40 minutes from Winston-Salem, and two hours from Charlotte and Raleigh. For more information, visit www.exploreedennc.com, www.ci.eden.nc.us, www.ncnorthstar.com/tourism.html, and www.co.rockingham.nc.us.
Built in 1893, this two-story brick building is the oldest building in downtown Laurinburg’s historic district. First known as the Central Hotel and later Hotel Dixie, its proximity to the railroad greeted passenger train visitors arriving from Wilmington or points further inland. It served the African American community as a hotel and boarding house through the first half of the 20th century and from 1959 until 1996 was the location of popular local restaurants.
What the Old Central Hotel lacks in ornamentation it makes up for in sturdy masonry construction and a commanding view of the busy seat of Scotland County. The two-tiered wood porch shades the welcoming entry into a large open space that until recent years catered to diners (and even a pool hall or two). Large windows on the front first story let in plenty of light, while windows along the sides and second floor are six over six wood sash. The tall parapet roof rises higher in the front elevation than the sides where it gradually steps back lower into the roof line. Recessed panels between two bands of brick corbelling along the cornice line provide exterior ornament. Window openings are topped by well-executed flat arches. The entire building rests on a stuccoed masonry foundation.
The interior includes a generous space on the first floor for dining/gathering with smaller areas toward the back for kitchen/service activities and two guestrooms. Walls are primarily plaster with a few beadboard partition walls. The main dining hall has been covered with wood paneling during a later remodeling. In the back of the building beyond the wood stairway hall are two former guestrooms, entered through paneled doors with transoms above, the larger room with a fireplace and mantel. A wood staircase with simple yet sturdy newel posts and balustrade leads to the second floor with several guestrooms and a couple of bathrooms. The second floor rooms are arranged on either side of a central hall leading from two rooms in the back toward the front of the building with a door leading to the porch. Most rooms have transoms above wood-paneled doors.
The Central Hotel will require a complete rehabilitation including all new mechanical systems, repointing, paint, and cosmetic upgrades. A later side addition will probably need to be completely re-done. The Central Hotel is a contributing structure in the National Register Historic District and is positioned for a variety of creative uses including restaurant, inn, retail or office.
The lifestyle in Laurinburg is relaxed and laid back, but never boring – not with year-round outdoor recreation, a vibrant arts scene, progressive community services and close proximity to beaches, the mountains, big city attractions, and college and professional sports. Laurinburg is located on US Highway 74, a major east-west four-lane highway, US Highway 401, a major north-south four-lane highway, and minutes away from Interstate 95 which runs from Maine to Florida. Also located just 43 miles from Fayetteville and Fort Bragg, Laurinburg is conveniently located for residential or business purposes for the expansion generated by Base Realignment and Closing (BRAC) and the impending growth of Fort Bragg. The property is near St. Andrews University which is just a few miles south of town. For more information visit www.laurinburg.org and/or www.scotlandcounty.org.
Beautiful 1938 W.P.A.-constructed school building located on 4 acres in Lansing off Highway 194 in Ashe County. Constructed from the same quarry stone as the Blue Ridge Parkway, Lansing School served as both elementary and high school for the County until 1952, when the high school moved into a newly built brick structure on the grounds. The hub of activity in Ashe County for five decades, the school was built when Lansing was a logging town during the time of the Virginia Creeper Railroad. The town of Lansing is a 5-minute walk from the school and is undergoing a revitalization in the commercial district with new businesses, restaurants and organic farming operations.
The main school building which is listed on the National Historic register is 18,000 square feet with an interior cleared of walls down to the studs. The original windows and floors are still intact. The 2-story structure sits on top of a hill overlooking the American Legion ball fields, which formerly were the school fields and connected via a pedestrian tunnel that runs under Hwy. 194. There are plantings of several grape vineyard rows on a portion of the front lawn. A new roof was installed in 2006.
The second 2-story brick building is 8500 heated square feet and consists of three finished apartments (Studio, 1BR, 2BR) as well as intact classroom space that are decorated. The hallway bathrooms are operational and there is a functioning kitchen.
Building #3 is a 2000 sq. foot cinderblock building that was formerly the home of the New River Winery which manufactured local organic wine on the premises and ran a tasting room on the patio. Locals, 2nd homers and tourists were frequent visitors who enjoyed the Winery tastings and music on weekends.
Additional parts of the grounds include a well house, basketball court/playground and a small incinerator building.
Price is negotiable.
High Note House, circa 1924, in Vandemere, NC, 2 blocks from Bay River opening to Pamlico Sound. House in good condition. Beloved family weekend house has been kept updated. It is a perfect place for bicycling, scooters, Kayaking, canoes, sailing.
One story with 2bd/1.5 baths, open living-dining room connects to a screened porch with swing and to a cedar-paneled kitchen. Hardwood and carpet throughout. Metal roof, woodstove, window HVAC system, carport. Semi-furnished. Mature trees, fairy lilies, iris and daffodils. About 1000 sq. feet. City water and sewer.
Our Catalina 30 sailboat available in nearby town marina for $8500 could be included.
About 16 miles from Oriental, sailing capital of NC and 25 miles to New Bern and Tryon Palace.
Built in 1901, the Blair House is a beautifully renovated Colonial Revival building in downtown Winston-Salem. Included in the National Register of Historic Places, this downtown gem is full of character and offers a highly visible location with easy access to I-40 and the Winston-Salem CBD. Three finished floors include 7,713sf of Class-A office space with an additional 2,627sf in the lower level for workout, break area and storage. The property also includes hardwood floors, a large wrap-around porch, 25 on-site parking spaces and plenty of restaurants and landmarks within walking distance.
This charming Craftsman bungalow features two bedrooms with closets and two bathrooms, in addition to a living room, dining room, kitchen, and bonus room.
The house was constructed in 1923 – its first occupants listed as Zollie Wardell Owens and his wife Etta. Zollie was a travelling salesman at the time they lived in this home that they shared with their eldest son Ralph and his wife Estelle, and their youngest son, Roy. The couple lived in the house briefly before returning to their native western North Carolina, by 1924 the home was occupied by John and Corrine Baker.
This home is suitable for single professionals, grad students, or instructors who would enjoy the close proximity to UNCG. The new UNCG campus will be positioned adjacent to this house to the rear. The front porch was reconstructed in 2013. Restoration is needed, as well as connection of utilities and some finish work.
Glenwood is an eclectic neighborhood adjacent to UNCG that is emerging as a center for artists and creative culture in Greensboro, the third largest city in North Carolina. Ten minute walk to UNCG campus center, ten minute bike ride to Greensboro city center.
This Craftsman bungalow features two bedrooms and one full bathroom, in addition to a living room and kitchen with laundry area. This home is suitable for single professionals, grad students, or instructors who would enjoy the close proximity to UNCG. The new UNCG campus will be positioned adjacent to this house to the rear.
This home was likely built in the 1920s and 30s, but much of its original charm was removed when it was rehabbed in the 1990s. The interior presents a clean slate for recreation of period details, or the opportunity to blend a modern interior with a traditional Craftsman exterior.
Join efforts to revitalize the Glenwood neighborhood. This home will be sold “as-is” with a preservation easement to ensure that it remains a part of the Glenwood neighborhood for future generations to enjoy. Glenwood is an eclectic neighborhood adjacent to UNCG that is emerging as a center for artists and creative culture in Greensboro, the third largest city in North Carolina. Ten minute walk to UNCG campus center, ten minute bike ride to Greensboro city center.
The Hotel Hinton is a developer’s dream! With over 32,000 sf, the property is prime for rediscovering it’s former glory. Most recently used as a county office, the early 20th century details are just waiting to be revealed.
The four-story, nine-bay brick building is U-shaped with a ground level courtyard behind. The building is surrounded by handsome commercial buildings and adjacent to the National Landmark 1767 Chowan County Courthouse on East King Street in the heart of the historic district. Directly across from the Courthouse is some of the loveliest real estate in North Carolina-all overlooking Edenton Bay. The building, which was converted into 68 office spaces, is in “relatively good structural condition” per a 2007 structural engineer’s report. With the possible exception of the roof, it is solid candidate for rehabilitation without any major structural modifications. As for environmental issues, there is some asbestos present, probably two underground tanks, and most likely lead-based paint-exactly what is expected in early 20th century construction. Please note, there are several reports with more detailed information available upon request.
The views from the roof top are spectacular, overlooking the architectural treasures of the area and the waterfront just a block away, with beautiful sycamore trees lining the village green, visible from many parts of the building.
The Edenton area is in need of additional lodging options which makes this property the perfect buy. Don’t wait or hesitate! This beauty is priced to sell even with the rehabilitation work that is needed!
Located on Albemarle Sound’s Edenton Bay this charming village, established in 1712, features nearly three centuries of outstanding architecture behind tree-lined sidewalks and along waterfront vistas. Jacobean, Georgian, Federal, Greek Revival, and Victorian examples make this town a natural for its two National Historic Landmarks and numerous listings on the National Register of Historic Places. Discover more about Edenton at www.visitedenton.com.
Spacious historic Greek Revival home with Colonial Revival details with 5 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, plenty of living space and also a partial basement. Beautiful new full length front porch, original bay windows, 8 fireplaces, original wide plank hardwood floors, double hung windows and many other original features. Double lot that is approx 1 acre, also has a small outbuilding that can be used as a workshop or potting shed.
Built in 1853 for J.J. Baker, owner of Goldsboro’s first metal foundry. Local stories recall that the Baker children sat on the front wall and watched Union soldiers march into Goldsboro shortly before their home was commandeered as the headquarters for General Gordon of Sherman’s Army in 1865.
Home has some major exterior renovations completed:
- restored foundation
- standing seam metal roof
- front porch added to mimic original size and style
- exterior painted
- subfloors added in kitchen and bath
- several other major projects
Interior renovations are still needed prior to move in, including kitchen, bathrooms, and all major mechanicals (electrical, plumbing, heating/AC). Exterior work still needed includes repairing the windows and replacing several broken panes, and addressing carpentry issues, at minimum.
This home is located in downtown Goldsboro, and is part of the revitalization of downtown. Please visit http://dgdc.org/master_plan.apsx for full details on Goldsboro’s Master Plan of the Greater Downtown Goldsboro area. This home is close to many quaint shops and restaurants in the downtown area. This is a great opportunity to get a beautiful historic home at an affordable price – whether this be for a family home or investment, prices will be going up in this neighborhood as many other families and Preservation North Carolina are actively involved in restoring this great town!
The historic J.J. Baker House is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at email@example.com or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
Interior photos below were taken prior to the start of rehabilitation work.
Handsomely restored historic property in the beautiful Cooleemee Historic Mill Village features a restored 3 bedroom, 1 bath mill cottage updated with central heat & air. The historic “Cooleemee Journal” newspaper office faces the town’s main street. Built in 1903 by Erwin Mills by 1930 it became the family residence of the J.C. Sell Family, publishers of the mill town’s weekly newspaper (1906-1972). This home remained in the family until 2011 when it was purchased by the 22 year-old Cooleemee Historical Association. Historic covenants protect the Journal Office.
Located on a quiet residential street, this home is a short walk from the local doctor’s office and drugs store. The 700 square foot Journal Office is ideal for a home business, artisan workshop, art gallery or even a 1 bedroom B&B. Town willing to consider rezoning Journa Office for commercial use.
Cooleemee is an authentic community with year-round events, a library, an 80 acre nature park on the banks of the South Yadkin River, a children’s’ playground & tennis courts three blocks away as well as three heritage museums. Numerous churches and civic groups; neighbors know each other.
Town is located on the river in southern Davie County on NC Hwy 801; 28 miles SW of Winston-Salem, 5 miles S of Mocksville, 13 miles NW of Salisbury. Major project to redevelop and reuse the town’s historic cotton mill gets underway in fall of 2012. Personal tours offered by the Town available upon request through www.cooleemee.org. Will be glad to send welcome brochure & 10 min DVD.
The Emma and Simon O’Neal house, built circa 1900, is in the quaint historic village of Ocracoke on the North Carolina Outer Banks. The home is within sight of the historic 1823 Ocracoke Lighthouse and within walking distance of the Pamlico Sound, Springer’s Point Nature Preserve, and Teach’s Hole where the Pirate Blackbeard was killed in 1718.
The house is part of the Ocracoke National Register Historic District.
It is a classic Ocracoke story-and-a-jump, with two bedrooms on the second floor and one bedroom on the first floor. It was built by local fisherman Simon O’Neal for his bride about 1900 and has been little altered. The house remained in the same family until the Ocracoke Preservation Society bought it in 2009.
OPS will sell the house and lot with protective covenants. The site has cedars, pines and a rail fence.
The following is the National Register description of the house: “Story-and-a-jump with hipped front porch with turned posts, original exterior end corbelled chimney, two-over-two sash, and wood shake siding. The house has a rear shed addition, and was built for fisherman Simon O’Neal ( 1881-1937) near the time of his marriage to Emma Styron, daughter of Elijah Styron Sr. The site has cedars and pines, and a rail fence.”
The property is for sale or lease with a variety of lease/sale options available. The exterior of the property has recently been completely restored and the interior is ready for upfit to suit tenant’s needs. The structure is a two-story frame house with 703 square feet and two rooms on the 2nd floor and 2,047 square feet of 12 individual spaces, including a full kitchen and three bathrooms (one is handicap accessible) on the 1st floor. The structure is a contributing structure in the Goldsboro Historic District. The property has a private yard, English designed, surrounded by a fence with a deck and three covered porches. Seven dedicated parking spaces exist at the Mulberry Street entrance to First Citizen’s Bank, specifically for the Dortch-Weil-Bizzell House. The property is handicap accessible
The Bizzell House was built in 1851 in the I-House post-railroad design with Italianate detailing. Additions to the original structure include rearward extensions and two inside end brick chimneys.
The house is three (3) bays wide, has six-over-six windows on the second floor and contemporary double-hung windows on the first floor. The rear half of the exterior chimneys are covered by later additions to the house itself—something not seen elsewhere in Goldsboro.
According to the Architectural Inventory Goldsboro, NC book prepared by Barbara Hammond and the City of Goldsboro in 1987, the house was believed to have been moved to this site from another location in town—possibly in 1868 at the same time the once-neighboring Silas Webb House was moved by the Weil Brothers from South Slocumb Street.
The house was originally designed in a compound fashion; three units across the front on the first floor with an additional unit to the rear of the west side. The second story was three units across and one unit deep. A detached kitchen and a later servant’s quarters were located north of the dining room and later attached to the main house via an enclosed breezeway. The house is supported by masonry piers and a wooden braced frame. The exterior is of traditional horizontal wood cladding in a clapboard design. The roof design is a side-gabled, low slope of less than 30 degrees. It is undetermined as to the original roofing material. Currently it is tin in poor condition with foam sprayed on. Due to the time period of the home, it is believed that the original roofing material may have been wood shingles.
The roof-wall junction indicates a wide eave overhang, boxed with brackets. The front porch extends the full length of the original front façade. The later nursery addition to the east of the house was designed with a setback distance from the front elevation and included a porch with similar details to the original. The roof of this addition is of similar design and pitch. The interior of the original house consists of a parlor, foyer, dining room and a den on the first floor; on the entry level stairway to the second floor a bedroom flanks either side of the stair landing. The original back porch was enclosed with two to three later additions, including a bathroom to the back of the nursery, a breezeway that served to connect the detached kitchen and servant’s quarters as well as the butler’s pantry and enclosed back porch.
After being owned by William T. Dortch (1851-1871) a former senator honored with a historical marker by the department of Cultural Resources, and the Weil brothers (Solomon and Henry) from 1871 to 1887, the house was purchased by K. E. Bizzell from E. Lippman Edwards. It remained in the Bizzell family until 2003 when purchased by K. A. Thompson III. Heirs of the Bizzell Family have contributed to the recollection of the later additions to the house and the original landscape plan as well as other details.
The house is situated one block from the primary commercial street at the crossroads of Goldsboro in historic downtown. The Goldsboro Historic District was formed in 1984 due to its unique fabric of Victorian, Italianate and a variety of architectural styled structures. The District is comprised of structures ranging from the mid 1800s to 1948 and includes both commercial, industrial and residential dwellings. The Bizzell House is one of few pre-Civil War structures still remaining in Goldsboro and is located in the heart of the District. It was once located just outside the original Goldsborough city limits in 1847. The population of Goldsborough in 1860 was 985.
This house is centrally situated in the current Central Business district of the city and serves as a reminder of our original rural beginnings and is indicative of the growth pattern that occurred during the transformation of the city during the expansion of the railroad era and the later growth of our industrial days. The once neighboring Silas Webb House was razed in the mid-1990s. It was built in 1855 at the intersections of S. Slocumb and E. Elm Street and later moved around 1870 to the adjacent lot east of the Bizzell House. First Citizen’s Bank bought the vacant property north of the Bizzell House and had plans to raze it as well. However, legislation that was identified by a local preservationist made the federal banking institution follow practices to save the structure. Preservation North Carolina, a non-profit organization dedicated to saving endangered historic structures in North Carolina took action and accepted ownership of the property to protect its integrity and status. It is shortly afterwards that Mr. Thompson bought the property with an interest to restore it and bring it back to use. The structure had been vacated in the early 1990s when Mrs. Eustice Bizzell was relocated to a nursing home. Two of Mrs. Bizzell’s children are still alive and have added valuable information to this process.
Downtown is home to a large inventory of historic homes and has the widest variety of cuisine in the City from all over the globe. Some of its samplings include; Thai, Asian, Mexican, Irish and our very own North Carolina BBQ, to name just a few. The City of Goldsboro has rebuilt the Paramount Theater, a 550+ seat performing arts theater and is working with the North Carolina Department of Transportation towards a rehabilitation and reuse project of our 1909 Union Station to serve as a multi-modal transportation center. A recently completed Downtown Master Plan calls for major streetscape improvements along Center Street as well as a very aggressive plan to include more private and public development. The first block of the Center Street streetscape improvement project is expected to begin in the summer of 2011 with the 200 block of N. Center Street. All of this is located within a very walkable area in a traditional neighborhood framework.
The historic Dortch-Bizzell House is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at firstname.lastname@example.org or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
The Dibble-Baugham Building located at 218 & 228 West Main Street features both office and retail space. It includes a parking lot at the rear of the building. The retail space is currently leased, as is part of the upstairs office space. The property produces good cash flow, with an income/expense report available upon request.
The historic Baugham Building is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at email@example.com or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
The early 20th century, Neoclassical, Rocky Mount Post Office enjoys a prime location in revitalizing downtown Rocky Mount. This 18,500-SF building has 1.5 floors above grade, and one floor below grade. Its handsome limestone exterior harkens to times past, and its cast-in-place concrete frame gives it excellent structural stability. Windows and roof are secured; interior is ready for renovation. The historic Douglas Block – newly-renovated buildings including the historic Booker T Theater, is a block away; Edgecombe Community College is right across the street. Own a piece of “The Rock” in downtown Rocky Mount!
The Old Rocky Mount Post Office is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at firstname.lastname@example.org or 919-832-3652 x 221 to request a copy of these covenants.
Branch Grove is a classic “tri-partite” house, a style built for leading planters in the Roanoke River Valley/Virginia–North Carolina border. It was home to the prominent Branch family, notably Alpheus Branch, founder of Branch Bank (BB&T).
The three-part design, derived from Palladian ideals, features a pedimented central section with flanking lower wings. It has a characteristic cross-hall plan with a large, formal parlor. High quality, intact Federal-style woodwork remains throughout the house. Three of the original mantels have been secured offsite. The older, smaller house at the rear features Georgian details. Branch Grove is the perfect project for the lover of early architecture.
Branch Grove must be relocated to a suitable nearby site. Appropriate property ranging from 5 to 20 acres has been identified nearby. Enfield is convenient to Raleigh and recreational activities.
Branch Grove requires a complete rehabilitation including all new systems.
The Cullen Pippen House is really two historic homes seamed together. The older section was built about 1790 by Joseph Pippen, who served as an Ensign in the Revolutionary War. In 1810, Pippen built a new home in the Federal style and the two existed as independent houses until they were combined during a 1989 renovation.
Retaining much of the original character of the two homes, the renovation resulted in a unique architectural gem. Original materials include heart pine flooring and five fireplaces with beautifully crafted mantles. The five large exterior doors weigh approximately 250 pounds each. Particularly notable are the pine-sheathed walls of the Georgian keeping room.
The house has four bedrooms and three baths, with a laundry room installed in the hallway that connects the Georgian and Federal structures.
The 1810, or Federal, portion of the house has a living room with fireplace, dining room with fireplace, office, large hall/library and a bathroom on the first floor. The second floor has one bedroom with a fireplace, a wide hallway that includes room for a desk, and a large bathroom with a fireplace. An additional two bedrooms are on the third level.
The 1790, or Georgian, section has a keeping room with fireplace and a kitchen on the first level. A guest bedroom and bath are upstairs.
The house has a three-zone heating/air conditioning system.
The six-acre property is fenced and has two access points, one in front of the house and the other along a side road. The tree-lined front driveway has two cattleguards, eliminating the need for gates. The property also includes a pecan grove, fruit trees, a vegetable garden and pastures. There are two tobacco barns, and a garage. The property also has two deep-water wells, with one well house built in the Georgian style.
Joseph Pippen and his grandson, Cullen Pippen, the home’s namesake, are both buried in a family cemetery on the property. The first marked grave dates to 1820. The home is currently owned by the great, great, great grandson of Joseph Pippen.
The property’s rich history includes serving as a stop-over point for 2,410 Yankee prisoners in Confederate custody on April 21, 1864. The captured soldiers were given sustenance during their march from Plymouth to Tarboro for transportation to POW camps. History records that Lt. A. Cooper of the 12th New York Cavalry returned to the home in 1865 to pay his respects to Mrs. Pippen.
The historic Cullen Pippen House is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at email@example.com or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
On the National Register of Historic Places, Vinedale Plantation, an Italianate antebellum home built in 1855, was the original home of plantation owner John A. Vines. It is located on Hwy 42 approximately 30 minutes from Greenville, and 90 minutes from the coast.
The house, with original siding, is a three bay double pile structure with a low hipped standing seam roof surmounted with a cupola. A one story porch extends around the house on three sides. The wide eaves are supported on carved brackets.
On the first floor, on either side of the hallway, is a 17×19 living room and a 17×17 parlor. Behind the living room is a 17×24 dining room with double built in cabinets. Also downstairs is a lovely den with built in cabinets, a large modern eat in kitchen with a silas lucas brick floor and corian counters, a walk in laundry room, a half bath, a bedroom with a full bath, and a sun porch overlooking a beautiful brick patio.
Upstairs features 4 bedrooms including a master suite with a garden tub and separate shower in the master bath, plus a large walk in closet. Front and back stairs lead to the second floor center cross hall and a staircase that allows access to the cupola.
The entire house has original heart pine floors, 10 working fireplaces, 3.5 baths, and a whole house generator for electric backup. The interior and exterior of the home have been recently painted.
Built by Edgecombe County artisans, the current owners continued the tradition of utilizing skilled local craftsmen while totally restoring the main house as well as other buildings on the property.
The Hattie Telfair House, also built around 1855 and used as a guest house, has also been completely restored. It features a large bedroom with a fireplace, a full bath with a claw foot tub, a living room with a fireplace, and full kitchen.
Other structures on the property include an original smokehouse, a 2 car garage with a separate finished office and walk up attic, and a storage building. Additional pictures can be seen at www.VinedalePlantation.com
This stately side-hall plan home was built between 1840-41 by William Hollister, one of New Bern’s most successful merchants in the early nineteenth century. Individually listed on the National Register, the Federal-style home retains most of its historic details including seven impressive mantels, arched doorways, detailed moldings, and many beautifully carved window and door surrounds. Click here for the National Register nomination.
The first floor includes a double parlor connected by pocket doors, and then a dining room and kitchen in the wing. The second floor has two large bedrooms joined by double doors. There are two bathrooms on the second floor which will need to be redesigned. The third floor has another bedroom and a room which was used by Hollister’s daughter as an artist space. There are 11′ ceilings on the first floor and 12′ ceilings on the second floor. The home also has a dry basement. The property is located on a nice corner lot with off-street parking and several well established trees.
Although the side-hall plan of the house was a typical New Bern home, there are modern elements (for that time) that were likely introduced with Hollister’s business dealings in New York and Boston. As noted in Catherine Bishir’s book Crafting Lives, craftsman working on the house included “carpenters” and “negroes” and free artisans Hardy B. Lane Sr. as lead contractor, white carpenter Robert Hancock, black carpenter William H. Hancock, and black painter Ben Wade.
The Hollister House requires a complete rehabilitation including all new systems. The house has been rewired and ductwork installed for the HVAC on the first and second floors. Some rehab ideas include adapting the existing dining room into a contemporary kitchen, creating a mud/laundry room and small powder room in the existing kitchen, and using the south parlor as the dining room. On the second floor, rehab ideas include removing the bath on the landing of the second floor and updating the remaining existing bathroom. On the third floor, rehab ideas include adding a bathroom in the room above the existing second floor bathroom. Additionally, buyers may wish to construct a free standing garage behind the house where an earlier garage once existed.
The historic Hollister House will be sold subject to protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina.
Charming home in serene Summerfield setting!
Rare opportunity to own a piece of Summerfield history! Built in 1807, “The Tatum House” is situated on 2.79 serene acres in the heart of Summerfield. This beautiful property features a 2-stall barn, raised garden beds, fruit trees, grape vines, and a pond. 30×16 addition in 2007 along with an unfinished room plumbed for a full bath. Upstairs master suite features a walk-in closet and clawfoot tub. Must see to appreciate all of the charm and character of this property.
Beautiful, classical design home, currently a restaurant. The wrap-around porch features 2 story Corinthian columns. The balcony features double doors with diamond-patterned leaded and beveled sidelights and transom.
In good condition, the 5BR 3B home has central heat/air, slate roof, 10′ 9″ ceilings downstairs and 9′ 9″ upstairs. Heavy moldings, wainscoting, pine and oak inlaid floors, pocket doors, original mantels and fireboxes remain. The grand staircase is set to the diagonal, features a bowed front intermediate landing rising to an upper level sitting area. The Zoning is residential with a special-use permit.
Located at 514 Miller Street, Monroe, NC; the property is 6.21 acres encompassing four buildings totaling approximately 66,769 square feet of space under roof as follows:
• 1911 brick mill building: 49,120 SF
• Wood frame house, former mill office: 1,200 SF
• Cinder block building connecting mill to house: 9,324 SF
• Outlying one story cinder-block warehouse: 7,125 SF
The buildings are in very good condition. The mill has a rubber membrane roof which, though somewhat old, has been repaired and is intact, there are no leaks. The structure of the building is sound. An engineer’s structural report from the previous owner is available. Most of the original windows are in place though many have been boarded up to protect them and to protect the building from the ingress of pigeons. The floor areas are wide open. This is one of the cleanest and best maintained historic mill buildings one could hope to see. A Phase One Environmental Report and Limited Asbestos Survey revealed no causes for action and asbestos only in an outside boiler structure.We do not know the age of the frame house, but it also is in good condition. It has a relatively new roof, all the windows are intact, and it has been wrapped in vinyl siding. It served as a mill office and operations center and the inside would have to be remodeled for a new use. Dug into the bank on 2 sides, the outlying cinder block building is in good condition with a good roof.
In order to make best use of the historic mill building and the house, the connecting building and the outlying block building would likely have to be demolished to provide for parking; leaving 50,320 gross square feet available for development.
The site is less than one mile from the Monroe city center and less than 25 miles from downtown Charlotte, NC. Monroe is the county seat of Union County, the fastest growing county in North Carolina.
This charming North Carolina farm house was built in 1927 and has only had two owners since constructed. The Maddry Home was relocated and updated by the current owners in 1997 in partnership with Preservation NC. It is located on 2.68 wooded acres in the Chapel Hill school district. The main house contains approximately 1,900 sf of living space with 3 bedrooms plus a nursery, 2.5 baths, and a library. The property also contains a separate structure with an additional 768 sf of finished office and studio space (total 2,668 sf), 3 log cabins and a great tree house. The historic nature of the home has been retained, including beadboard walls, wood floors, 4 fireplaces, working double-hung windows and a wraparound porch. All structural and mechanical systems have been modernized, including foundation, well, septic, wiring, plumbing and HVAC.
The historic Maddry Homeplace is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at firstname.lastname@example.org or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
The 1939 Georgian Revival-style house, detached three car garage and apartment, and colonial “smokehouse” were designed by New York architect John A. Weaver and Richmond ,Virginia landscaper, Charles F. Gillette.
A complete renovation of the house and grounds and addition of inground swimming pool, pump house and pool pavillion using Gillette architectural designs were completed in 2002.
The main house is a two and one-half story brick laid in Flemish bond, with Anaconda copper gutters and Vermont slate roof. The ground floor features a large central hall running the depth of the house with a front and rear entrance and a graceful open string staircase with a Palladian window with stain glass. A large living room, dining room and panelled library, 2 powder rooms, gourmet chef’s kitchen with Rutt cabinetry and granite tops, breakfast room and a guest suite and bath and a spacious glass sunroom with vistas of the garden are perfect for entertaining.
The English basement with leaded glass windows has cypress paneled walls and fireplace, with sitting area with fireplace and wet bar. Adjacent is an exercise room, storage pantry and furnace/utility room. The spacious house has 5 second floor bedrooms all with marble tiled bathrooms and a third floor housekeeper’s apartment with complete kitchen and separate laundry room. All four levels are connected by a rear staircase. Special interior features include five working fireplaces (four with 18th century Federal-style mantels); quarter-sawn oak pegged floors on the main level, oak plank floors on the second level and pine plank floors on the third level; paneled wainscoting in the dining room, breakfast room, entrance hall, and living room; a grand staircase with mahogany handrail connecting the main floor and second level; a richly paneled library. Newly added features are a central vacuum system, recessed lighting throughout, murals in all bathrooms, hand painted wall treatments in the dining room and living room, wooden Venetian blinds and custom window treatments.
The property is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and won the landscape preservation award from Preservation North Carolina in 2005. Located several blocks from the downtown business district of Laurinburg, North Carolina, the house is surrounded by notable early-twentith-century houses enhanced by tree-line streets. Laurinburg is conveniently located 28 miles south of Pinehurst and 28 miles west of Lumberton and 1-95.
The E. Hervey Evans House is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at email@example.com or 919-832-3652 x 221 to request a copy of these covenants.
This handsome row of two-story, brick and stucco Colonial Revival apartments contain nine townhouses each with three bedrooms and one bath upstairs and a kitchen, dining room and living room with a corner fireplace on the main floor. Environmental report has already been completed and ready for a serious buyer to review. With the new Vollis Simpson Whirligig Park underway, a new West Entrance to Barton College, and combined with the revitalization efforts in the commercial district, the Anderson Apartments is next in line for new life!
Price is negotiable!
The stately Neoclassical Revival Taylor-Pope House was built c.1910 by Major Bayard Taylor, a leading figure in Magnolia’s bulb-producing industry. The house is actually two offset I-houses fronted by a massive classical two-story portico with gable returns and supported by paired columns. A spacious single-story porch topped by a balustrade extends across the front facade. A multi-paneled door on the second floor opens onto a balcony overlooking magnolia trees and flowering shrubs.
The spacious interior includes a large center hall, a grand staircase, early light fixtures, two parlors with attractive mantels, unusual chevron-patterned beaded wainscot, door and window surrounds. The house has four bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a kitchen located in the rear ell that features a single basin, double drain board porcelain over cast iron sink. A flour dispenser remains in one of the cabinets.
A two-story carriage house/barn with workshop space is located off the kitchen ell. The house is in good condition, but would benefit from updates to the bathrooms, kitchen and HVAC system. Short term financing is available.
Magnolia is only 45 minutes from Wilmington and North Carolina beaches and an hour from Raleigh.
The modest-sized side-hall plan Traylor-Peacock House was built in 1895 and has three bedrooms and two baths. The property includes an adjacent lot bringing the total land to 0.24 acre.
The inviting front porch expands the width of the house with original posts and sawn decorative balustrade. The multi-gabled roof features decorative shingle work. Interior features include a single-run original stairway with turned balustrade, original mantels, and wood floors.
The Traylor-Peacock House must be lifted from its foundation for repairs and likely needs sill replacement/repair as well. The house requires a complete rehabilitation including all new systems, wiring, HVAC, plumbing, roof (repairs at minimum) and new kitchen and baths. It has been confirmed that the property contains lead paint. The Traylor-Peacock House is a contributing structure in the Goldsboro historic district.
The lively town of Goldsboro (pop. 39,000), the seat of Wayne County, is the home of the Seymour Johnson Air Force Base. It is located in eastern North Carolina, 20 minutes from I-40 and I-95, one hour from Raleigh, and within easy access of North Carolina beaches
Downtown Goldsboro Neighborhood Revitalization
Preservation NC has partnered with the City of Goldsboro and the Downtown Goldsboro Development Corporation to revitalize several neighborhoods in downtown Goldsboro. The neighborhoods will be transformed into a blend of residential historic structures and new homes that will include historic architectural details.
Homes range in size from 1,100 to 6,400 square feet and consist of a variety of architectural styles including Queen Anne, Victorian, and Italianate. The unique historic district includes residential and commercial structures.
The Historic Shelby Foundation is looking for an interested buyer for this great example of a Colonial Revival duplex. The ca. 1927 Peyton McSwain House was occupied on one side by Peyton and Ethel McSwain until the 1950s. It was also occupied by Lynn E. Lentz, Vance Weaver and E.Tyree Greene. The house and garage were both recently relocated due to threat of demolition .
The house is in good shape and features hardwood floors throughoutThe original eight-over-eight window units have aluminum storm windows. The front panel door and back doors are also original as are the two brick chimneys at each gable end and the weatherboard siding. Each unit has a spacious living room, dining room and kitchen on the first floor. On the second floor there are three bedrooms and one bathroom in each unit. The front steps, side and back porches needed to be removed prior to the relocation. It had been fully occupied until then.
The property requires a complete rehabilitation including all new systems of HVAC, plumbing, and electrical. Kitchens and bath rooms are in need of updating. The house has a new brick foundation.
The garage was also constructed around the 1930s. It is a two story building with weatherboard siding. The garage has two main doors with a side entrance and second floor storage area.
The house is located two blocks from uptown Shelby’s many amenities such as shopping, dining, entertainment, tree-lined streets and parks. A small on story house next door is also available for sale and could be rehabbed as a starter home or as a quaint rental home.
Shelby is an attractive historic town of approximately 21,000 situated in the combined foothills of the Blue Ridge and South Mountains and also only an hour away from Charlotte or the Greenville Spartanburg, SC areas. Shelby’s vibrant uptown offers a variety of shops and restaurants, an active arts council, seasonal Farmers Market, the Don Gibson Theatre (a performing arts center) and a city park complex with an Olympic-size swimming pool, fully restored 1919 Herschell-Spillman Carrousel, and miniature train. Shelby is known as “The City of Pleasant Living”.
The Lentz Hotel, erected in 1853 and moved from its original site at the center of Mt. Pleasant in 1980, is the oldest commercial building still existing in Cabarrus County. The board-and-batten exterior is supported by a timber frame of Chestnut and reflects the “bracketed mode” of construction, made popular by American architect Andrew Downing Jackson (1815-1852). This “Carpenter Gothic” style includes brackets under especially wide eaves, vertical board-and-batten sheathing, and heavy lentels over the windows. The seven mantels and the staircase are of the Greek Revival tradition. The exterior siding is cypress, interior walls are pine, and the floors are made of heart pine planks. Built by W. R. Scott, the property (known as the Mt. Pleasant Hotel) was sold to John Lentz in 1863 for the sum of $1,350 in Confederate currency. The Lentz family operated the Hotel for over sixty years, spanning three generations. In 1911, an outside set of stairs was added so the upstairs rooms could be used by the female students of Mont Ameona Seminary after the school burned (it was considered unseemly for girls to walk through the downstairs rooms where men could be present).
The Lentz Hotel was the social center of Mt. Pleasant during the last quarter of the nineteenth century and the first part of the twentieth century. In fact, it was “famous for parties and social events”. Much of the Hotel’s prosperity came from the town’s dual role as a trading and educational center. The Hotel was sold outside the Lentz family in 1926, where it changed hands several times. Over the years, the Hotel served as a tenant house, with the condition of the house gradually deteriorating. Early in 1980, the building was slated to be demolished, to make room for a new building on the existing lot, which was on the town square. Mt. Pleasant Insurance Company, working with preservationists, looked at other options. The Historic Preservation Fund of North Carolina, assisted by the Daniel J. Stowe Foundation, moved the building to its current location on College Street, where it was restored to its original prominence by master craftsmen and renovators. The Lentz Hotel was individually listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.
Only twenty-five minutes from Charlotte, enjoy small-town living with big-town amenities close by. Be sure to check-out the website (www.lentzhotel.com) to see much more information and photos regarding the many features of this unique property. The Hotel was sold outside the Lentz family in 1926, where it changed hands several times. Over the years, the Hotel served as a tenant house, with the condition of the house gradually deteriorating. Early in 1980, the building was slated to be demolished, to make room for a new building on the existing lot, which was on the town square. Mt. Pleasant Insurance Company, working with preservationists, looked at other options. The Historic Preservation Fund of North Carolina, assisted by the Daniel J. Stowe Foundation, moved the building to its current location on College Street, where it was restored to its original prominence by master craftsmen and renovators. The Lentz Hotel was individually listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.
The historic Lentz Hotel is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at firstname.lastname@example.org or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
This beautifully detailed home must be moved in order to be saved. The house is magnificently intact, from the ornate original hardware to the eight mantels to the grand entry hall, there is quality craftsmanship everywhere you turn.
The house has numerous windows (27, to be exact!) and transoms over french doors, allowing abundant natural light to fill the house. The wood floors are in good condition, and the impressive staircase also features a Victorian Hall Screen.
In addition to the 4,300+ square feet in the house, there is also a 1,000 square foot front porch!
Many HOA restrictions would not permit the house to be moved within a subdivision. Move estimates received for various parcels in the Pitt County area have ranged from $45,000 (without the kitchen) to $75,000 but move prices will vary based on the mover and the parcel the structure is moved to. There are lots available nearby. If you have your own farmland in the Grimesland area or in Northeast NC, the house may be moved there also. Significant moves (outside of a 50-mile radius) would be damaging to the house and will not be considered.
Click here to see the feature page written in This Old House Magazine about the Laughinghouse-Fawcett House!
A good example of vernacular Victorian architecture, the historic Bland House was built in 1900 by J. Frank Bland. It is located in the historic Village of Rockford near the edge of the Yadkin River which affords fishing and canoeing.
The restored two-and-a-half store, L-shaped frame house has a wraparound porch on the main level with turned porch posts and balustrades with double front doors and sidelights.
The interior has Victorian moldings, five-panel doors, beautiful staircases and 6 fireplaces. The first floor consists of a large entrance hall, front and back parlors, dining room, kitchen and full bath.
The second floor has a large hallway, three bedrooms, one large full bathroom and a finished staircase to a large, windowed attic which has a bedroom and a large walk-in cedar closet.
A finished staircase with turned balustrade leads to a daylight basement with eat-in kitchenette, laundry room with fireplace, bonus room with original rock wall and L-shaped porch with turned posts. A large, two-story floored barn (16′ x 32′) sits at the rear of the property.
The J. F. Bland House is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at email@example.com or 919-832-3652 x 221 to request a copy of these covenants.
Come see this historical treasure! Ingleside is a phenomonal estate that has a very rich history, built in 1817. Historic mansion designed by Henry Latrobe, who designed the U.S. Capital building, with elegant antebellum Federal architecture. Complete with pool, cabana, tennis courts, chicken barns, ponds,old smokehouse, two barns and potting shed. Additional acreage also available for purchase. Please note that square footage (6,010) is approximate.
Renovated Kitchen with attention paid to every detail. 13’ceilings!
Just 25 min to Charlotte!
Built in 1878, the Lewis-Hoover House is an impressive home with Italianate details and an inviting front porch featuring Tuscan columns. The house is important in the neighborhood as it housed notable Thomasville residents. Set back from the road, the home is screened from its neighbors by shrubbery and trees and sits on a large lot that could be subdivided if desired.
With its five bedrooms and two baths, the spacious home offers a flexible floor plan. The house had two brick chimneys within each gable end, a rare feature in the area, which need to be rebuilt. The paired eave brackets and porch distinguish the house from those around it.
The house requires a complete rehabilitation including all new systems, along with structural and roof repairs. The bamboo in the back yard would benefit from selective thinning.
The Lewis-Hoover House is only a block from downtown Thomasville’s many amenities including shopping, dining, and recreational activities. It is ideally located just 20 minutes from High Point and Winston-Salem, and approximately 45 minutes from Greensboro. The Lewis-Hoover House is a contributing structure in the Salem Street National Register Historic District.
To learn more about Thomasville and its well-known ties to the furniture industry, please visit www.thomasvilletourism.com.
The Hicks-Broom House is a late 19th century home with 4 bedrooms and 2 baths. A center hall plan with a metal-clad roof, the house is situated on a deep spacious lot. The inviting front porch expands the width of the house and has original posts and sawn decorative balustrade.
The interior of the house has some original features including wood floors. The house requires a complete rehabilitation including all new systems, wiring, HVAC, plumbing and kitchen and baths. The house is located in the Goldsboro historic district.
The lively town of Goldsboro (pop. 39,000), the seat of Wayne County, is the home of the Seymour Johnson Air Force Base. It is located in eastern North Carolina, 20 minutes from I-40 and I-95, one hour from Raleigh, and within easy access of North Carolina beaches.
Downtown Goldsboro Neighborhood Revitalization
Preservation NC has partnered with the City of Goldsboro and the Downtown Goldsboro Development Corporation to revitalize several neighborhoods in downtown Goldsboro. The neighborhoods will be transformed into a blend of residential historic structures and new homes that will include historic architectural details.
Homes range in size from 1,100 to 6,400 square feet and consist of a variety of architectural styles including Queen Anne, Victorian, and Italianate. The unique historic district includes residential and commercial structures.
Built in 1902, the Grantham-Baker House is an attractive Victorian home with an inviting wraparound front porch.
Interior details include a side-hall floor plan with a handsome interior stair, original mantels, paneled doors with transoms, wood floors, and two clawfoot tubs.
The house is located at the top of the deep parcel leaving a very spacious backyard, a fairly rare commodity for a downtown property.
The house will require a complete rehabilitation including all new electrical, HVAC, and plumbing systems, along with a new kitchen and baths. The roof and left front corner of the house sustained damage from a tree toppled during Hurricane Irene. It is located in the Goldsboro Historic District.
The rehabilitation of the adjacent property has been completed.
The lively town of Goldsboro (pop. 39,000), the seat of Wayne County, is the home of the Seymour Johnson Air Force Base. It is located in eastern North Carolina, 20 minutes from I-40 and I-95, one hour from Raleigh, and within easy access of North Carolina beaches.
Downtown Goldsboro Neighborhood Revitalization
Homes range in size from 1,100 to 6,400 square feet and consist of a variety of architectural styles including Queen Anne, Victorian, and Italianate. The unique historic district includes residential and commercial structures.
2-story main house 2389 sq. ft. includes living room, kitchen with walk-in pantry, separate dining room, 3 bedrooms, office/den, 2 bathrooms and a sun porch/mudroom.
Hay barn 720 sq.ft. year old hay barn currently serving as part of the antique shop could be made into a studio or guesthouse.
Well house 9′ x 15′ (135 sq.ft.) currently being used as a garden/storage shed could be used as a guesthouse or small retail shop.
Large 100+ year-old magnolia trees, giant holly trees, willow oaks, walnut, white oak, gum, hackberry, dogwood and mimosa on property.
Newly planted fruit trees include 4 types of fig trees.
Vegetable garden in rear of house.
RENOVATIONS COMPLETED IN 2008:
New electrical wiring throughout. New plumbing throughout. New galvanized metal roof and gutters on main house and well house. New paint on house exterior and all interior walls. New paint and sealing on exterior windows. New crown moldings in formal living room and dining room. New water well installed at a depth of 360 ft. Insulation in 85% of house. Re-pointed chimneys with custom chimney caps (3). Rinnai LP gas tankless hot water heater. Propane gas stove. Wood burning stove in dining room. New septic installed for 3 bedroom house in 2009. Barn updated with stairway, door, windows, lights, ceiling fans.
The house’s main living room (17′ x 24′) has two open fireplaces with matching period mantles on each end.
Living room, kitchen, bathrooms, upstairs hallway have recessed lighting.
Kitchen has black and crystal blue granite island with double porcelain Koehler sinks, custom white cabinets with stainless fixtures, stainless open shelving, stainless energy-efficient refrigerator, stainless pot rack with overhead “industrial” stainless lights and butcher clock countertops.
- Black and white enamel 4-burner 1920s vintage Roper LP gas cook stove.
- Original yellow pine paneling and new dry wall combination throughout.
- 2 upstairs bedrooms in front of house that connect with chimneys that have fireplaces. A third master bedroom has an insert for a woodstove.
- Another room downstairs may be used as a bedroom, study or office space.
- Large bedroom closets with cubbies in all 3 bedrooms.
- Upstairs bathroom has a cast iron slipper claw foot bathtub/sprayer combination and linen closet.
- Downstairs bathroom has a cast iron claw foot tub and shower combination.
- Early 1900s 2-story wooden stairway with landing between downstairs/upstairs.
- Sun porch/mudroom currently used for a washer/dryer area.
- Original 2.5″ oak hardwood flooring throughout.
- Outdoor flagstone patio connects kitchen with well house.
- Beveled glass French doors lead out from kitchen to outdoor patio.
- Pocket windows in front bedrooms, back bedroom, upstairs hallway and downstairs bathroom.
- All original divided glass windows with exception of 3 new windows installed during restoration in 2008.
- Period lighting and ceiling fans throughout house.
- All appliances – stainless refrigerator, dish washer, washer and dryer will accompany sale of house.
- New owners will have option to purchase furnishings in house.
- Purchase of on-site antiques retail business also optional.
AND OTHER …
- The Freeman-Boggs-Woody House is a designated Alamance County Landmark.
- Property is located directly across from B. Everett Jordan Elementary School.
- Low county taxes are deferred an additional 50% due to historic landmark designation.
- No insecticidal spraying has been done on property.
- Termite traps are installed around perimeter of house with yearly contract.
- One-year home warranty offered to buyer(s).
- House has great energy and a wonderful feeling of airiness – it’s a happy house!
- Super community, beautiful local people, great location as a country home or retail business – or both!
The Freeman-Boggs-Woody House (aka, Roxy Farms Antiques) was featured on the front cover of the February, 2012, issue of Alamance Magazine. The house has appeared in numerous other publications as well. great place for a mini-farm, a bed & breakfast, weddings and events or a retail business such as a tea room, restaurant or antique shop!
It’s a short walk from Roxy Farms to other established businesses in growing, historic Saxapahaw that include the Rivermill Village, Saxapahaw General Store, The Eddy Pub, Haw River Ballroom, Cup 22 Coffee Shop, Flying Beagle Books, Rivermill Massage and Yoga Studio, Haw River Canoe & Kayak Co., Saxapahaw Mercantile Store, Victory Calls Riding Stables, River Landing Inn B&B and Benjamin Vineyards & Winery.
Sue Dayton purchased the Greek Revival-style 2,628 sq. ft. house on 3.8 acres in early 2008 and restored it to its current condition. Later that same year she opened Roxy Farms Antiques, an antiques retail shop, located in the front room of the house. Due to the efforts of Sue’s partner, David Mickey, the house received its designation as a county historic landmark in May of 2013. The house is also listed on Airbnb as Roxy Farms Antiques & Historic Guesthouse with 2 bedrooms available as rentals for visitors on a nightly basis.
The property on which the house was built was originally owned by the partnership of John Newlin and Sons. John Newlin built the Saxapahaw Cotton Factory in 1848. We believe the house may have been built by Newlin’s son, James, in the 1840s. The 2,628 sq. ft. house is a 2-story Greek Revival style house located in the heart of Saxapahaw, NC, situated on 3.8 acres surrounded by woodlands. Also referred to as ‘The House on The Hill,” it sits back from the road atop a hill with a massive willow oak tree in the center of a circular driveway. The house is named on behalf of its past owners – Richard Freeman, Charlie Boggs and Frank Woody – all who played a major role in the house’s celebrated history! A number of families have lived in the house throughout the years. Many of its former residents were physicians in the community. Richard Freeman was a farmer who lived in the house before his death in 1860. He married Sarah Foust, who owned the 42 slaves who built the mill race at the Saxapahaw Cotton Factory. In her will Sarah left the slaves not to her husband, Richard, but to John Newlin on the grounds that he set them free. Sarah’s death in 1839 spawned a contentious battle over her will and the fate of the slaves that went all the way to the North Carolina Supreme Court. Sarah’s wishes were finally realized when in 1849 the court ruled in John Newlin’s favor allowing Sarah’s slaves to be taken to Ohio where they were set free. Other physicians who lived in the house included Richard Freeman’s son, Dr. Franklin Freeman, his son Dr. Richard A. Freeman, Dr. G.K. Foust and Dr. Alfred Neese.
In the early 1900s, Charlie Boggs owned the house. Charlie was a local farmer and entrepreneur who farmed the land surrounding the house from which he sold produce to the mill workers at the Saxapahaw Cotton Factory. He owned a small market (CF Boggs Grocery & General Merchandise Store) that he built in front of the house along with a bicycle repair shop. The house at this time was truly the center of the community. According to the local old timers who still remember him, Charlie was a happy-go-lucky character whose whistling could be heard from one of the village to the other; he was always quick to lend a hand (or a small loan until pay day) to those in need. Former Saxapahaw postmaster Frank Woody built the addition on the house in the early 1930s. Frank was a master carpenter and tore down the cook house which was separate from the house and used the wood in building onto the main house. The stairwell in the house was salvaged from a bank in Burlington. Ruth Woody, Frank’s only living daughter, shared with us that the wooden walls that we uncovered in the dining room were once a part of the cookhouse. Frank Woody was famous for his “pocket windows” which he installed in the two upstairs’ bedrooms, upstairs’ hallway and back bedroom.
This turn-of-the-century Colonial Revival home is on a double lot just two blocks from the city’s main square.
The stately all-brick residence has six bedrooms, a sleeping porch, four full baths, and five fireplaces. In addition to 4,700 square feet of heated living space, the home has a full attic and basement that bring the total interior size to more than 10,000 square feet.
Interior details include hardwood floors throughout, beautiful stained original moldings and trim, pocket doors in the front formal rooms and transom lights on doors on the second floor.
The house was built for Dr. and Mrs. Henry Fletcher Long on property adjacent to the hospital founded by Dr. Long. The house was completed in 1914. Because the family’s first home was destroyed by fire, the Longs insisted that this house be “fireproof,” with features including 12-inch solid brick exterior walls, a slate and metal roof, 8-inch thick interior walls that were covered in concrete before plaster was applied. An independent appraiser has calculated that it would cost $4,299,076 to duplicate the house today. (Replacement cost insurance is surprisingly affordable at $1,726/year however.)
Also on the property is a 22′ x 34′ three-car garage that was first built as a carriage house. Another 14′ x 28′ building on the site dates from the late 1800s and was used as an ironing house for the hospital laundry. Other buildings on the property include a 12′ x 14′ smokehouse, and an 18′ x 24′ single-car garage.
An expansive courtyard at the back of the home is said to have been paved with the bricks from the foundation of the original family home, which burned.
In 1959, the Longs’ youngest son, Dr. Robert Long, DDS, bought a portion of the property and operated a dental practice there. That 1,500-square-foot building remains. After the death of his mother, Robert Long purchased the residence from the estate and lived there with his family until his passing in October 2004.
These properties are held by the Dr. Robert Long Trust and are being offered for sale as a single unit.
The Long House Property is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at firstname.lastname@example.org or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
Crabtree Heights is a small, thriving neighborhood with a very convenient location and high WalkScore. The subdivision, developed in the 1950s and 1960s, features brick Ranch houses with large yards on four gently curving streets. The Crabtree Jones house sits proudly atop a hill at the end of quiet Hillmer Drive. Its 0.46 acre tract seems larger because the woods flanking the north and east of the house are permanent natural buffers, 100’ wide to the north and 75’ wide to the east. There are no HOA fees, and the house enjoys a 50% annual property tax reduction due to its status as a Local Landmark.
Despite its private setting and historic character, the Crabtree Jones House comes with all the conveniences of modern, Midtown living. Kroger, Harris Teeter, and Trader Joe’s are all within a two mile radius. Nearby North Hills (~ 2 mi.) boasts over 40 restaurants, including Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse, Firebirds, and Vivace, as well as more casual dining options such as Zoe’s Kitchen, Five Guys, and Moe’s Southwest Grill; nearly 100 retail stores, including J.C. Penny, Target, REI, Ethan Allen, and Anthropologie; a movie theatre and a 4-star hotel. Crabtree Heights is also in close proximity (< 1 mi.) to dozens of restaurants and shops, including a CostCo (0.5 mi), along Six Forks and Wake Forest Roads. Duke-Raleigh hospital (0.9 mi) and downtown Raleigh (4.1 mi) are just a stone’s throw away, and the neighborhood is districted to some of Raleigh’s most prestigious magnet schools: J.Y. Joyner elementary, Daniels middle, and Broughton High.
Architectural and Historic Information
Nathaniel Jones (1758-1828) is thought to have built the house near Crabtree Creek on a knoll containing a great deal of granite. He was active in Wake County politics and served in the North Carolina General Assembly. He was known as “Crabtree Jones” to differentiate him from another man in the region also named Nathaniel Jones.
His son Kimbrough (1783-1866) was also active in Wake County politics and served in the General Assembly. Married three times, he had eleven children, two of whom died as children in a buggy accident. During the Civil War, Col. Harry Burgwyn trained troops on the grounds of the plantation. Kimbrough, Jr., (1841-1915) married a woman thirty years younger than him, and he was the last Jones buried in the cemetery.
The house continued to be occupied by members of the Jones family until 1973, when the property was sold for development.
This handsome early Federal plantation house is tri-partite in form, consisting of a two-story main block, five bays wide, flanked by original one-story wings. The house appears to have been enlarged twice to the rear with two-story extensions – one shortly after the original construction and the other in the mid-19th century. The original house and first addition are covered with molded weatherboards, and the door and window frames are molded, as are the sills. The central entrance consists of a single door with six raised panels, beneath a four-light transom. The windows contain nine-over-nine sash. The front and rear of the main block features a handsome molded cornice adorned with undercut modillions, and pattern boards occur at the ends. At either end of the main block is a substantial Flemish-bond chimney with a molded cap.
Evidence indicates that the house originally had no porch. Pilasters flanking the central entrance may be vestiges of the first porch, probably dating from around 1830, the same time as the rear addition. Documentary photos show an ornate sawnwork porch, probably built after the Civil War, when the house was badly damaged.
The interior follows a hall-and-parlor plan and features fine detailing. Inside one finds a flat-paneled wainscot with rounded Georgian-style moldings; the simple molded chair rail also serves as window sills. The doors, which have the same type of moldings, have robust raised panels and are hung with HL hinges. The baseboard in the main room retains extremely well-executed marbleizing. Mantels in the two main first-floor rooms are large and of three-part Federal design, with a variety of applied moldings. The frieze of the mantel in the main room features well-preserved paintings, perhaps from the mid-19th century: the center tablet depicts a symmetrical arrangement of cornucopias and fruit and grain, while the flanking panels feature detailed landscape scenes. The original main block contains four other mantels, each different.
The stair is a bit of a mystery. No clear evidence has been found about the location of an earlier stair in the main block, but the stair hall itself appears to be a very early addition to the original block. The stair hall in the extension has sheathed walls and a low sheathed ceiling.
The substantial mid-19th century addition features typical Greek Revival-style details with its doors, mantels and other trim. A small addition appears to have been built in the 20th century to the north side of the house to accommodate bathrooms. That addition could be expanded to provide additional space for modern needs. For many years, preservationists have known that the day would come when the Crabtree Jones House would require action.
Correspondence from the Raleigh Historic Sites Commission reflected deep concerns back in 1968 because the property was zoned for commercial development. Signs on the property actively advertised its availability. In 1969 the house was locally designated on a one-acre undivided parcel. The house was placed on the National Register in 1973, making it one of the state’s earliest listings. Early preservation books from the 1970s noted the house’s tenuous status. A 1976 book noted that the vacant house had been recently vandalized, and a young architecture student was occupying the house to prevent further damage. That architect and his wife have continued to be the guardian angels of the house.
Dating back to the Bicentennial, the Junior League of Raleigh, the North Carolina Community Foundation, and Preservation NC each tried to acquire the property on site for nonprofit use, but nothing ever worked out. The Crabtree Jones House found itself situated in the midst of highway development.
Once an old stage road, Wake Forest Road is now a six-lane commercial strip, and the house stood less than one fifth of a mile from an exit ramp for Interstate 440. Within 100 feet of the Jones property are motels, shopping centers, fitness center, bank data processing facility, and single-family residences.
In March 2012 the inevitable finally happened. An application was filed for the demolition of the Crabtree Jones House. The 14.65 acres of land around the house was placed under contract to be developed into 243 apartment units. With support from an anonymous donor PNC acquired an option on an adjacent parcel, and the developer has generously agreed to fund the cost of moving the house to the new site and preparing it for resale.
The move took place in early February 2014. The house was moved in one piece, as you can see from the time-lapse video below. The new site for the house is about 700 feet from its original site.
Crabtree Heights is a small, thriving neighborhood with a very convenient location and high WalkScore. The subdivision, developed in the 1950s and 1960s, features brick Ranch houses with large yards on four gently curving streets. The area, like the Crabtree Jones House site, is much higher in elevation than the both Wake Forest Road and Six Forks Road. The subdivision land was part of the Crabtree Jones Plantation. The Jones family cemetery is a half-block away on an undeveloped parcel on Hillmer Drive, which dead ends at the woods surrounding the Crabtree Jones House.
The last house parcel before the dead end, 3108 Hillmer Drive, is the new site. The new parcel is 0.46 acre in size, but it will seem larger because the woods flanking the north and east of the house will permanently remain as natural buffers, 100′ wide to the north and 75′ wide to the east. Thus, the parcel will be permanently screened from Wake Forest Road and its commercial development, as well as from the new development to the north, with 0.7 acre of adjacent buffer.
Like the original Crabtree Jones House location, the parcel is at an elevation substantially higher than Wake Forest Road and higher also than neighboring houses in the development. Its location at the deadend will minimize the sense of being in a twentieth-century subdivision. You may see the garage from the previous property that was there in some photos. The garage is there to simply offer a workspace protected from the elements while the Crabtree Jones House is being restored and does not need to stay after work is complete.
The house will retain its National Register status on its new site as well as its designation as a Raleigh Historic Landmark, the latter of which reduces property taxes by 50%. PNC is looking for a purchaser to buy, restore and live in this remarkable house, keeping it in its original residential use. We estimate the total renovation cost to be between $400,000-$500,000. It’s ready to move into the 21st century, as the Crabtree Jones House has its own twitter account – follow the house at: @CrabtreeJonesHs!
Click here to view the NCSU architectural details, floor plans and elevation drawings for the Crabtree Jones House from NCSU
In the spring of 2014, Preservation NC collaborated with students at Meredith College and UNC Greensboro to work on possible plans for the Crabtree Jones House. Please take a moment to look over their downloadable plans below.
Preservation NC and the Raleigh Historic Development Commission had a full archaeology report done on the original site of the Crabtree Jones House, prior to the move in February 2014. Click below to download each part of the report.
We’d like to extend a special thank you to members of the Capital City Camera Club, who provided several of the outstanding photos that you see below!
The Benbow House is an impressive example of a regional Quaker style dwelling. The house has exceptionally fine woodwork throughout, including Federal and Georgian style mantels (7), beautiful doors, with original hardware and fine wood graining, a built-in cabinet in the dining area and an enclosed staircase. It has heart pine floors, and has been updated extensively. Its ambitious, decorative design is individualistic and unorthodox, combining Georgian, Federal and Greek Revival elements inside and out.
This exceptional two story home has Flemish bond brickwork with a one and one-half story kitchen wing, built in 1815. The Main house was completed between 1823 and 1824, by Charles Benbow, a Quaker, who was associated with the early development of the textile industry in N.C. as well as having a significant role in the establishment of two local educational institutes, what is now Oak Ridge Military Academy and Guilford College.
The house sits on almost four acres of beautifully landscaped property in the heart of Oak Ridge, NC, a progressive town with a village-like atmosphere. Oak Ridge is only 20 minutes from Winston-Salem, Greensboro and High Point; it is only 15 minutes from PTI airport and the area offers everything from fine dining to all medical services, daily amenities like grocery stores and banks, while still preserving the “small town” charm of the past! The Benbow House is in the Northwest school district, considered one of the finest in the state. There are several outbuildings on the property, a barn, tool shed and brick milk house with attached sun room. The current owners are retiring and willing to negotiate.
The historic Charles Benbow House is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at email@example.com or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
Conveniently located, the Bryan-Stanton-Holmes House is an attractive Victorian cottage with well-preserved architectural details.
Built in 1901 by Bela Bryan who occupied the house until 1936, the house was owned by the Stanton family until 1963, and then by the Holmes family until 2006. Its long history of owner occupancy was then altered when it became a rental property. The house underwent unfavorable changes at that time but many of the architectural elements are still in good condition.
A typical 1901 Victorian home, the woodwork is characteristic of the period. The wood floors and three Victorian mantels are in fairly good condition, and the large four-over-four windows flood the home with light.
Located on North Virginia Street in Goldsboro’s Historic District, the Bryan-Stanton-Holmes House is one of six properties adjacent to one another within the neighborhood plan. The property is also less than two blocks from the historic Union Station which is in the process of being restored in a NCDOT project set to re-establish it as a transportation hub, providing rail service to Raleigh and the coast.
The exterior of the house has been significantly modified. The new owners will want to remove the brick facing and restore the original Victorian style porch. The Bryan-Stanton-Holmes House probably originally resembled the Nettie B. Taylor House and could be returned to that Victorian cottage style. The roof needs to be replaced, and rebuilt in one location at the back of the house. Having been vacant for several years, the new owners will need to update the mechanical systems—including electrical, plumbing, and HVAC—as well as create a modern kitchen and baths. There is termite damage in the house.
Downtown Goldsboro Neighborhood Revitalization
Be the next owner of this unique Lustron House, Westchester Deluxe floor plan, and take a trip back to 1949! House, in unaltered condition, was model home for Beverly Hills Company, and is the only one known in all of Asheville. House is move-in ready, one-level living, private, wooded back yard! Roof, exterior and interior walls porcelain-enameled steel–a Lustron feature. Radiant ceiling heat, and lovely garden. Original built-ins, part of the Lustron design. New frig conveys with the house. House is within walking distance to municipal golf course, designed by renowned landscape designer Donald Ross.
House is set in an established neighborhood on the east side of beautiful Asheville, North Carolina, just minutes from downtown. Zoned RS-4, but most lots in the neighborhood are large single-family lots, with most housing dating from the 1940s and 1950s. The property will be listed this year in the National Register of Historic Places, and could be eligible as a local landmark if future owners desire.
More detailed information can be found at the website: http://www.lustronhome.info/
Built in the mid- to late-18th century near the North River Straits, the Bell-Pigott House offers light-filled spaces and extraordinary water views through its many windows. The nearly three-quarter acre lot on Dick’s Creek features mature trees, coastal breezes, and close proximity to the water, where a dock could be constructed. Retains several early features, including ballast stone foundation, “Straits brick” chimney, original plaster walls, and some original woodwork.
Several additions were made over time, including enclosure of front and rear porches in the 1950s. Large attic could be remodeled for additional space. Requires full rehabilitation.
The historic Bell-Pigott House is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at firstname.lastname@example.org or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
The Annie Bryan House was built around 1907 and sits within a beautiful block of Victorian cottages. This block is one of the most intact and pleasing streetscapes in the entire Tarboro Historic District with its row of charming, one story late-19th- and early-20-century homes with their gingerbread porches and fancy front gables. The Annie Bryan House is towards the center of the block, and has a very unique and original spindled front porch, with chamfered posts, an elaborate front gable bargeboard and unique German siding.
Research on this property indicates that Misters Lichtenstein and Zander, two locally prominent Jewish merchants, purchased almost this entire block in 1898 at public auction. It is thought that they were also early land developers and actually built several of the Victorian cottages within the block to sell to potential clients. The house at 1305 No.Main Street was constructed in 1907 and was sold to Luther and Annie Bryan in 1908 as the first homeowners.
The Bryan House is a particularly fine, L-shaped cottage with a new, steep, hipped metal roof and gable ends. It has very pleasing finishing details, including the more unusual German siding and other strong Victorian features, such as an etched and frosted glass-paneled front door and handsome gable detailing. The house is also considerably larger than it appears from the street, taking up most of the small, urban lot on which it sits. For what is classified stylistically as a Victorian cottage, the Bryan House has over 2200 sq. ft. of living space, with three large bedrooms, two full baths, a full and separate formal dining room and a very spacious front parlor. A more modern, but Victorian-styled addition on the rear of the structure also accommodates a very large family room, and has nicely incorporated a former back porch area into a sun room opening onto a large back deck.
Upon entering the house through the handsome, original Victorian front door with its large glass center panel surrounded by smaller, alternating panes of etched and frosted glass, is the large front parlor or living room. As with almost every major room in the house, except the kitchen, there is a handsome Victorian fireplace and mantel as a central focal point. To the right of the mantel are built-in bookcases and to the left of the mantel is a French door that leads to the dining room and kitchen beyond. The mantel in this room has fluted pilasters on each side and a shelf supported by fluted brackets. Large, front double windows and a side window provide great lighting in this space. A full bath is also accessible directly from the living room through a doorway to the left of the French dining room door. The floors throughout the house are the original dark oak.
To the left of the parlor is the first bedroom. Being at the front of the house, and depending on the needs of the new owner, this room could also serve as a great study, den or home office. It has an impressive mantel on the interior wall with double brackets and partially fluted pilasters. The side, exterior wall is quite unique with its pair of closets with their old, iron box locks on either side of a central window. Under the window is a cozy window seat. A second bedroom, directly behind this room, can be accessed from both the front parlor and the front bedroom, with a doorway to the right of the front bedroom mantel. This second bedroom also has a nice Victorian mantel, identical to the one in the front parlor, and a closet to the right of the mantel. Both of these bedrooms also have chair rails and wainscoting painted a solid color to accent the walls above.
The second bedroom has access to a full, Jack-and-Jill bathroom with tub. Behind the bath is the third bedroom. This bedroom has a mantel with turned wood posts on each side, small brackets supporting the shelf and a handsome, raised-relief foliated medallion in the center of the lintel. A closet is to the left of the mantel. It should be noted that most of the bedroom closets appear to be original to the house, with period Victorian, four or five-paneled doors and cast iron box locks. There is a doorway from a small back hall space that also provides another point of direct access to this third bedroom.
From this back hall, one can enter the sunroom and large addition at the rear of the house or enter the kitchen on the east side of the house. A sizeable laundry room, pantry and storage space is also accessible here. (This laundry room and the full bathroom that is accessible from the front parlor were at one time a central hallway for the Bryan House, but were converted into more modern and necessary bath and laundry uses at some point in the past.)
The rear sunroom has an exterior doorway to a large outside deck and the back yard area. The two exterior walls of this space are taken up with windows, providing excellent lighting here and in the adjacent family room. The back family room is entered through a large, boxed-in opening from the sunroom. This addition was executed exceptionally well in style and is particularly spacious and comfortable. The room has a tall, built-in bookcase to the left of a period Victorian fireplace and mantel, and on the rear wall is a sizeable bay window with its inviting window seat. Both the sunroom and family room have chair rails and paneled wainscoting.
The kitchen is in good condition and very functional, and the layout is very workable. A new owner, however, may desire to update some finishes and features, such as countertops and cabinet fronts at some point in the future. The kitchen has good access, not only from the back of the house through the sunroom and back hall, but also directly into the dining room. The dining room is a large room that will allow for the placement of traditional formal dining room furniture. In addition to its Victorian mantel, this room also has crown molding at the ceiling with a border of dentil work.
Although the yard for the Annie Bryan House is small, it has nice existing plantings. With a little extra effort, however, the outside spaces could be made into very handsome and easily maintained, landscaped urban spaces with private sitting areas and specialty plantings and garden features.
The Annie Bryan House is within the Tarboro National Register Historic District and the Tarboro Historic District zoning area where any significant exterior alterations will require review and approval by the local Historic District Commission.
Please click on the photos below to see a full view of the picture.
Be a part of the Loray Village renaissance! This quaint one story, two-pile side gable mill house built around 1920 is a contributing structure in the Loray Mill Village National Register Historic District.
With just over 1100 square feet, this house features an easy, flowing floor plan with 2 bedrooms and 1 bath, a comfortable living room, and spacious kitchen. It is ideally located within the mill village and close to major shopping, downtown Gastonia, and is an easy commute to Charlotte, too. The modest yard provides a pleasant, but low maintenance outdoor space. Original pine floors are mostly extant throughout the house but currently covered by carpet – and could be restored beautifully! Two long-covered interior fireplaces could be reactivated for gas logs. Interior paneling could be removed to reveal the original character of the house. A nice gale front center entry porch offers a restful place for read on the quiet cul de sac, and the roof is only 10 years old. The house is and has been owner-occupied for many years.
This property is in the Loray National Register Historic District, which is poised for a massive shift in its revitalization efforts. It is convenient to shopping, restaurants, I-85 and Charlotte. The Loray Mill redevelopment project will feature both residential and commercial opportunities. The Loray Mill has 100,000 square feet of commercial retail space with a targeted tenant mix consisting of a brewery, café, restaurants, fitness and spa, dry cleaners, neighborhood market and other complimentary services. In keeping with our neighborhood revitalization goals, property restrictions will include a requirement for owner occupancy.
One of kind Old Salem Restored property on double lot that extends to Church Street. Built in 1830 and restored in the 1960’s by Old Salem Inc., this unique property features hand painted murals, 5 fireplaces, Viking Range in kitchen, wonderful open porch overlooking back yard, full basement with bath and 2 finished rooms plus large unfinished area for storage. Each bedroom has a bath, antique hardware and beautiful pine floors. Under Old Salem Deed and Covenants. Possible 50% County Tax Rebate.
Historic Glencoe Village Millhouse…This lovingly restored and rennovated home reflects the true character of the 1880’s while embracing all of the conveniences of today. Featuring original and reclaimed heartpine flooring, beaded board, clapboard walls, wideplank doors, aged patina walls, rocking chair porches, exposed beams, 3 fireplaces and more…
Fantastic cooks kitchen with granite countertops, centr island with country sink, stainless appliances, gas range, wall oven, 2 drawer dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. Huge gathering and dining room with triple french doors out to the screened porch…Perfect for all of your entertaining, intimate dinners or an afternoon nap.
Private master suite with clawfoot tub, vintage vanities, cozy fireplace and warm heartpine floors…a wonderful retreat.
Beautiful grounds surround the home with mature landscaping…featuring herbs, perennials and ornamentals. There’s even an “outhouse” turned garden shed! The partial basement is perfect for crafts or a workshop and the patio is a great place to relax in the heat of the day.
Come out to Glencoe Village and tour this special home, wander down the streets, visit the shops and museum, explore the walking trails along the Haw River or kayak along it’s banks.
This is a great place to call home…make it yours today!
All historic homes in the Glencoe Mill Village are under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at email@example.com or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.
One last lot is available for new infill construction in historic Glencoe Mill Village. Decades ago, three historic village homes were burned for fire practice leaving three vacant lots on the upper side of Hodges Street. Help complete the streetscape with this final lot available for infill. The infill house next door was selected as Country Living magazine’s house of the year in 2002.
Located in Glencoe Mill Village, described by the National Park Service as “a nationally significant site representative of the Southern textile mill village and its role in the industrialization of the American South.”
Preservation NC purchased the derelict mill village, 32 vacant houses in varying conditions of decay and a complex of mill buildings along the river, in 1997. Since then, Glencoe has been transformed into a vibrant community of restored historic properties in a picturesque riverfront setting.
Parts of the property have been returned to parkland, and the mill complex is now undergoing a full renovation. It’s an exciting time to be in Glencoe, and this is the last chance to build a new dreamhouse there.
The Thornton-Hunter House is in imminent danger of being lost forever. If the property is not sold by November 2014, it will be demolished.
The house is thought to be the oldest structure in Yanceyville (built c.1810). Underneath the vinyl siding is some beautiful beaded wood clapboards—a testament to how early and fine this house is. The house is filled with excellent woodwork along with some charming board-and-batten doors, five-panel doors and early hardware. The loft is amazing (the stairs are nearly ladder-like), but worth the climb! Underneath a lot of early wallpaper is hand-planed wood sheathing, which was often used in secondary rooms as an alternative to plaster. Two large rooms covered in fabulous beadboard were added in the 1920s giving a lot of room for modern living. There is even a 1920s garage built when the family bought their first Model T.
The oldest part of the house is a Federal period cottage with a high pitched gable roof, boxed eaves, and nine-over-nine windows with graceful sills. Much of the original interior ornate woodwork remains in the principal parlor that exhibits lavish details more typically found in larger homes, including a tall pierced dentil cornice and an elaborate two-tiered corner fireplace mantel with pierced dentil moldings, incised ornament and a short overmantel flanked by urns. Other details in the house include wainscoting and chair rails, and hand-planed six-panel doors.
The rear chamber, now a kitchen, contains similar flat-panel wainscot, chair rail and a hand planed six panel door with early hardware. The two rooms are separated by an enclosed winding stair leading to two loft rooms divided by a wood partition wall. The newer section of the house was added by the Hunter family in the 1920s and features tall spacious rooms covered in tongue-in-groove beadboard. The rear porch was enclosed later for a mudroom, bathroom and utility room.
The property was originally occupied by Dr. Robert Thornton as a home and office, and later used as an office for attorney Samuel P Hill. It has been used as a residence since being purchased by Tom Hunter.
The Thornton-Hunter House is a contributing structure in the Yanceyville NR Historic District. It is habitable, but would benefit from updates to the kitchen, bath and mechanical systems. Removal of the vinyl siding will once again reveal the original beaded clapboard siding as part of the rehabilitation. This property is located directly across the street from “Dongola” the home of Jeremiah Graves and one lot over from a recent restoration of the “Martin-Herndon House/Sally Martin House.”
Click here to read about the house on the Caswell County Historical Association’s blog.
Situated among the rolling hills of the northern Piedmont, Caswell County is only 45 minutes from Greensboro and an hour from Chapel Hill and the Research Triangle Park. The county seat since 1792, Yanceyville’s National Register Historic District encompasses a magnificent antebellum courthouse, courthouse town square, and numerous antebellum houses and buildings. The Caswell County Civic Center provides excellent live entertainment, and recreational opportunities include the Caswell County Sports Complex , Caswell Pines Golf Course and beautiful Hyco Lake , which offers boating, fishing and water sports.
The Hastings-McKinnie House is an impressive late Federal-style house built in 1845 by industrialist Wiley Hastings who laid out the town on his land in the 1850s. Though simple in form, this one and half story frame house features sophisticated decorative elements including scallop-edged molding along the boxed cornice, a three-pane transom over the entrance door with a heavy molded entablature that is repeated over the nine-over-nine sash windows, and a standing seam metal roof installed over original wood shingles.
The interior features a center hall plan with traditional Federal woodwork including paneled wainscoting composed of horizontal sheathing below an elaborate chair rail. Handsome three-paneled parlor doors with molded surrounds and corner blocks lead into elegant parlors each with a corner fireplace. The mantel in the principal parlor is the finest among them with pronounced molded shelf supported by delicate pilasters. The most unusual feature is the center hall winding staircase. Once open to the back of the house, the rear of the stair landing was enclosed in 1947 renovation. The top floor consists of two rooms with knee walls, entered through a batten door and a vertical two-panel door.
The house was moved a few feet forward in 1945 and has replacement chimneys and porch. The rear ell was removed and a rear porch enclosed for a kitchen and bathroom. The property includes a two story barn/garage (c. 1945). The house is in good condition and would benefit from cosmetic updates and repairs, and upgrades to the kitchen, bathroom and mechanical system. The house is individually listed in the National Register.
Princeton is located in eastern Johnston County, North Carolina halfway between the Town of Smithfield and the City of Goldsboro along US Highway 70. The Town of Princeton was laid out in the 1850s along the North Carolina railroad and incorporated in 1861 first as Boon Hill and later changed to Princeton in 1863 after Princeton, New Jersey. Located approximately 45 minutes from Raleigh, Princeton is a flourishing community with an estimated population of 1,200.
Thought to have been built in 1807, The Fountain is a two-story frame house with a full attic. The house was expanded between 1865-70 with a kitchen and dining room ell. Alterations made during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries have given the home Federal, Greek Revival and Queen Anne interior and exterior features.
The Fountain was home to five generations of the prominent Davenport-Jones family. Currently with four bedrooms and two baths, the site includes a brick well house/dairy built sometime between 1865-70. The original basement kitchen is one of only a few such nineteenth century kitchens surviving in western North Carolina.
The Fountain has suffered deterioration over the years but many significant repairs and updates have been made and the house is livable. The home has well water, a septic system, radiator hot water system, and central air conditioning. The property is individually listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The house is in a rural setting and the backyard leads to a stream, but it is also in close proximity to schools, shopping and other amenities.
Click here for an article from The North Carolina booklet: great events in North Carolina history, which provides information about The Fountain and its builder.
Lenoir is a North Carolina Main Street community located on the Highway 321 corridor midway between Charlotte and Boone. Rich in natural beauty, it also has a strong tradition in visual and performing arts. It is less than thirty minutes from Blowing Rock and the Blue Ridge Parkway and a nearby state historic site, Fort Defiance, which was an important Revolutionary War site. Google recently opened a site in Lenoir, creating over 200 jobs. To learn more about the area, visit www.explorecaldwell.com or www.caldwellcountync.org.
A truly unique 4 bedroom/4 bath home offering period woodwork, leaded glass windows and transoms, wrap-around Doric porch, 10′ ceilings with crown molding, a grand staircase with paneled wainscot, beautiful hardwood flooring, gated elevator, 4 fireplaces (2 coal ones in bedrooms with tile facade and beautiful wood mantels), plus character at every turn.
The home was recently renovated with a new master bathroom, Carriage House garage doors, heat pump, alarm system in both home and Carriage House — fresh paint inside & out, plus many more updates. Enjoy the Carriage House’s open loft area above the 30’x20′ workshop, tinker in the basement work rooms, or stroll the wonderful grounds… a grand place to call home!
Your home is within walking distance to inviting downtown Mount Airy (better known as Mayberry) with nearby greenways or cultural activities, 10 minutes to the Blue Ridge Parkway in Virginia for memorable mountain views, close to numerous wineries for touring of tasting 40 minutes to historic Winston-Salem, 1 hour to the Greensboro airport or 2 hours to Charlotte…all an easy commute from this friendly home town!
The historic R.R. Galloway House is under protective covenants held by Preservation North Carolina. Please contact Dawn Williams at firstname.lastname@example.org or 919-832-3652 x221 to request a copy of these covenants.