Chowan’s colonial history runs deep

In 1668, four precincts were formed out of the County of Albemarle, the first governmental unit of what would become North Carolina. These four precincts (now counties) – Currituck, Pasquotank, Perquimans and Chowan – were later subdivided further, into what is now the northeastern North Carolina. Chowan County is one of at least sixteen counties that will participate in the 350th Anniversary Celebration of the founding of North Carolina’s Albemarle region in 2018. The North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources has established a 350th Anniversary Committee with it operations based at the Museum of the Albemarle in Elizabeth City.

Read full story…

(Daily Advance, 4/3/2017)