Shelby, KM, Cherryville recognized by Main Street Center

The National Main Street Center, a subsidiary of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, has cited 44 North Carolina communities for economic vitality and fidelity in following the best-practice standards for historic preservation and community revitalization championed by the center. Eleven new communities joined the ranks of accredited North Carolina communities.

Each year, the National Main Street Center and its partners issue accreditation to Main Street programs across the country.

The eleven communities newly appearing in this year’s list are: Shelby, Cherryville, Hendersonville, Lexington, Lincolnton, Rocky Mount, Rutherfordton, Sanford, Sylva, Waxhaw and Williamston.

Read full story…

(Shelby Star, 6/23/2016)